#WinterABC23: This flame is not going out!


I was called something I am not. And it hurt to the bone. No matter how hard I try to push it away from my conscious mind, the louder I hear the voice and the sharper it sounds.

It hurts on another level when you do something with good, pure intention only for it to be interpreted as trying to create trouble. I can’t help asking myself, “Why would I want to do that?”

As a writer, I’m very sensitive about words and how their usage can mess you up especially when it catches you unawares. It was surely a rude awakening to the realization that we have no control over how one chooses to read between the lines of what we are doing or saying. We can only be alert to these nuances and adjust accordingly.

Keep the flame alive
Photo by Dhivakaran S on Pexels.com

I’m thankful for the still small voice that assures me that I am who God says I am and any other label contrary does not apply. And as much as my natural self wants to hold on to this hurt, the same voice is telling me to let go so I don’t lose the peace He has given me. I know   He’s right because the only one who’s going to suffer from the emotional holdup would be me and that wouldn’t change anything at the end of the day. 

Heaven knows what it has taken and how long it has taken for me to get here so I shouldn’t give it up because I was told something hurtful and untrue. As for this flame, I will not let hurt and resentment quench it. It shall keep burning and shining bright.

© 2023 Josephine Amoako  

8 Comments Add yours

  1. 🥂 Here’s to making lemonade out of all the lemons thrown at us

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonani says:

    Yesss yes yes! It will not be quenched! Also, very true. Being a writer makes you very particular about words. A blessing and a curse. 🥲🙌🏾

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s true. Thanks for reading, Wonani

      Like

  3. mwebazalorna says:

    Being a writer! Oh let me camp at that and first think on it for a minute! Thank you for the piece.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for passing by 😊

      Like

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.