#WinterABC23: ‘How far?’ A note to my future self


Hi there!

I received your note a couple of years ago and I must say it was timely because I needed that assurance that whatever I was going through at the time was worth it. 

Here I was, wishing I could receive another one and I thought to myself, why not write to you instead? I hope you will find it cute and amusing when you get to read it in some time to come. 

So, how’s it going? Have we arrived yet? Perhaps you have been able to figure out where we are headed. For everyone’s sake, I really hope you have. 

Are you writing for a studio or a production house? I know it doesn’t matter whether it’s a big or small screen, as long as it is a screen, right? Maybe the chances of that happening would be higher if I started doing something about it now, right? We’ve got to help each other after all. 

Are you happy? After all is said and done, it all boils down to how fulfilled and at peace you feel. It’s important for me to know. Because I believe you deserve that in boundless capacity. 

I know that as life advances, things get real and the time to dream gets smaller and smaller. But I do hope that life doesn’t squeeze out the time and desire to dream and create. For us, writing is therapy and a moment to write down what God is telling us from within. I can’t wait to know what you are writing about now. I know it will be way better than what I am doing now.

I’m at peace with myself now and it is my prayer that it is even more so at your end as well. God knows how long it has taken to get me here and so I’m guarding it like a precious egg. I’m not letting anyone or anything steal this away from me. It’s something I’m thankful for each day.

I pray for you each day and night that you will be all that you were destined to be and that you will have no regrets. I pray that you will keep holding tight to God so that at the end, we can say we have run the race, fought the good fight, and been called good and faithful stewards of the gift we received to serve God and people.

I wish you well, I wish you the very best in life and so you know, I’m proud of you wherever you are right now. Keep the flame alive, ayt?

Much love,

Jo in 2023

© 2023 Josephine Amoako  

4 Comments Add yours

  1. With love Jo
    Thank you so much. Everything you’ve said in this letter – Copy and taste to my future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks dearie

      Like

  2. Wonani says:

    I love these so much!! I wrote one that I will be reading in 6 years. So this made me try to remember what I wrote! 😂

    I hope you share the answers when the time comes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh I see! Good to know. Yeah, I hope I remember to do so!

      Like

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.