Blogmas Challenge ’18 #22: Story heard


Every day tells a story. Some stories are uplifting to the soul, others are entertaining and some others downright heartbreaking. Whenever I feel bored and uninspired, I find myself looking for stories to be amazed and shocked about.

And for every story I’ve heard, either fictitious or true, I’ve realized that nothing is too far-fetched for anyone to do. The least unassuming people have managed to pull off some unthinkable acts whereas the least trustworthy kind have actually gone out of their way to do some surprisingly good deeds.

I’ve recently been watching documentaries of Female killers and True Crime on YouTube and just when I thought I have seen and heard it all, then the next story just upsets my shock absorbers to another level.

Stories of women killing their sisters so they could have the husbands, mothers killing their babies so they could be with younger lovers, wives killing their husbands so they could be with younger lovers, fathers killing daughters because they were dating non-Muslim blacks, women killing their babies and husbands for money, husbands killing wives for money…it’s unfathomable how wicked and insensitive some people can be. I don’t know if they hit their heads on stone as babies which caused irreversible damage to their brains or what, but people do have issues!

In most of these stories, the lessons I pick up are:

  • People can take extreme measures to have access to something that doesn’t belong to them;
  • And the love of money is indeed the root of all evil.

Jealousy and greed are very powerful sentiments which can drive the average person to do abominable things. Be careful when you find yourself bottling up with these emotions. They would change you into a monster that you would never recognize as a side of you.

Which stories have you read or heard this year which has left a lasting impression on you? Kindly share and thanks for reading.

© Josephine Amoako 2018

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Some of these stories you have read or heard aren’t news to me. I heard and saw a lot of it when I was growing up. In my neighbourhood we know of a lady who killed her husband just so she could have all the properties. Nothing amazes me anymore…..anyone is capable of doing the unthinkable once it’s towards something they want and like you said it’s bottled up jealousy and greed that brings about all of these.

    I hear and read about these stories everyday but there’s always a new lesson to add up to what I have already learnt.

    1. Always be content with what you have now and work genuinely towards the greater thing you want. 2. Don’t wish to be someone you don’t know about, especially when you don’t know what they do for a living. There are many wolves in sheep skin lately.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your lessons.

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.