Would You Rather #82: Wake up with a different face but same gender or different gender but same face?


I chose this question because I found it thought-provoking. It brings up some questions I don’t have ready answers to. Have I ever imagined how life would turn out if I wore another face? Probably. How about if I carried different genitalia? I don’t think so. I guess I haven’t found the time; I’ve been busy trying to figure out what living as a woman means since I was born.

We are prone to misunderstand the reasons behind people’s actions because we don’t know how it feels like to be them. Some people are unbelievably mean or distrustful or fearful and we try to ‘impose’ our prescriptions of normalcy on them without first trying to understand the underlying cause.  This is not to justify the negative attitudes people put up sometimes, but it’s wiser to know all sides of a story before making a pronouncement.

I have developed certain perspectives and expectations of situations and people because of what I’ve experienced so far. I’ve been both favored and disrespected because I’m a woman and I’ve taken each happening in good stride. Would life be relatively easier or harder if I were a boy? I can’t tell.

I wonder if we get treated the way we do because of the faces we wear or the attitude we portray. If I were to wear another face but still behaved like me, would the story be any different? I may not have the prettiest face in the world but I’m comfortable with what I have. By God’s grace, I’ve been able to handle life’s challenges looking the way I am. Some lessons I had to learn the hard way but it wouldn’t be a story worth telling if there weren’t any bad breaks, right?

I’m tempted to choose same face with different gender. I’m sometimes biased towards how women feel in varying situations because I can relate to that. Women are made to think that it’s a man’s world and as such, men are born privileged. It may be true to an extent but they do have their own headaches too. I may never fully appreciate it until I step into their shoes.

Men are expected to be strong and in control of themselves at all times. Even in emotionally intense moments, my people will say, ‘men don’t cry.’ To be regarded as a man isn’t barely looking like one but proving your worth as being proactive, responsible, deserving of chances and full of potential. I would like to know how it feels like to be controlled by what you see instead of what you hear; to be excused from performing certain house chores just because.

I think I’d choose the latter not because I’m unsatisfied with who I am as a woman but for an opportunity to find out for myself what it feels like not to be one. As for wearing another woman’s face, I’ve dealt enough with mine so I think I’ll pass.

What about you? Which one would you rather wake up to and why? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter. Thanks!***

21 Comments Add yours

  1. agshap says:

    Different face; same gender….as a woman who gave birth to five children I would definitely miss that part of life. Loved being pregnant….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. howtoaddict says:

      Loved your comment AGSHAP ;). Congrats on being awesome mom of five children!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Esther says:

    Different face, same gender was the first thing that came to my head. Being a man too wouldn’t be bad, though I enjoy being a lady. When I ask must girls what gender they would like to come in-in another life, the most answer I get is to be a guy, have the experience of playing girls… And all that BS. Anyways, to answer, I’ll like to come as a woman with another face. I like my face pretty much. I’ve been seeing it for a long time. Would be hard not to be contented with it. It would be fun to come in a prettier face (of course beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but oh well), and see how I’m treated.

    Lovely post once again Joseyphina. I enjoy your “Would you Rather posts”.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Interesting reasons your friends gave, lol. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Esther.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I would rather stay the same because I believe gender isn’t about which genitalia a person has. No new face either. I’ve been treated like a male and a female my whole life. I react to what I see and hear. I know what it feels like to be saught after my males and females too. I’m both genders already and in my family, males do the same chores as women.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for adding your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jesusandgreentea says:

    Different face, same gender… I’m a mom and would love the possibility of having another child in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s a nice thought. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, C.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. evanyambu says:

    hehehe this is so confusing reminds me of the book black ass where a man black woke up white but his ass remained black lol…i think i would like to be a boy for a second so i would go with the different gender, same face

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, I’ve read the book and I loved it!

      Like

  6. everydaystrangeblog says:

    Same face, different gender. I love menswear anyways. And I think my brain would explode if I looked in the mirror and saw a stranger,

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol….. I know, right?

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’d choose neither. I’m good. Every bit of this comes with its own burden, I think the one I already carry is fit for my mental capabilities. So, I’ll say, let me wake up with a deepened understanding and no changes, physically. Only mental.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Great! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Josh.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for feeding our minds with your writing 😊

        Like

      2. joseyphina says:

        And thanks for taking time to read them.

        Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Paul.

      Like

  8. layvi444 says:

    I would probably go with same gender, different face. Obviously I would love to keep mu face if that ok with everyone, but for the spirit of trivia, I believe i will be able to start a lot of thing s over again just to see where those different directions in liked might take me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hmmm… Interesting point of view. Thanks for sharing. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.