TV Series Tag #13: Playful Kiss


Yep, we are going to South Korea this time! Any K-drama lover out there would agree that Playful Kiss is one of the best series ever! Getting to watch Korean as well as Filipino TV dramas made me appreciate different perspectives about love and life.

It tells the sweet cute story of two teens, Baek Seung-jo who is a smart and prim and proper boy and Oh Ha-ni, a clumsy and not so bright girl. Oh Ha-ni crushes heavily on Baek who at first acts as uninterested. But as fate would have it, they were meant to be.

This show as well as several K-Drama series I’ve seen shows how submissive the ladies become in pleasing the men they fall for. It changed my perspective on certain things.

  1. Where does the show rank on your favorites’ list?

Top 20.

  1. From 1-10, how obsessed are you?

I’ll rate myself a 10! I think I’ve watched it twice or thrice already and if I get the chance, I’ll do so all over again!

  1. How did you discover the show?

I wanted something to watch and I googled the best Korean series and it popped up. Thank you, Google!

  1. What was your initial thought of the show and did it change after watching it?

It was different from the usual drama series I’ve watched from the American side. The suspense is built steadily and keeps you wanting more at the end of each episode. The way they approach dating and relationships is quite different from the Western side. It was like discovering life on the other side of the planet.

  1. Why do you like the show?

It’s funny and so cute! Before you’d get to see the first kiss, the series is almost over unlike the American ones where the first kiss and hookup happens within the first five episodes. No bad language, no indecent exposure just pure entertainment.

  1. Who is your favorite character in the show?

Oh Ha-ni! She’s cute and adorable. She makes falling in love feel so pure and innocent!

  1. Least favorite character in the show?

Don’t have one.

  1. How would you kill off your favorite character?

I don’t know…I can’t.

  1. Who is your crush on the show?

Baek Seung-jo lol. He is sweet in his own unique way. Very caring and has a big heart. But the way Korean guys pull their ladies for a kiss, not…not…not.

  1. If you were to be a character, who would you choose?

Oh Ha-ni. She is a humble character who believes in love and wishes to be the best that she can be for herself and the one she loves.

  1. Favorite moment

Difficult to choose. Every time they spent together was memorable. Whether Baek was shouting at Oh or giving her a piggy back ride, they were cute.

  1. Do you follow the cast on Twitter?

No.

  1. Which of the characters would you like to meet?

Both Baek and Oh Ha-ni.

  1. If you could meet any of the actors, who would it be?

Oh Ha-ni (Jung So-min).

  1. What lesson(s) have you learnt from the show?

Love is a beautiful thing. When you love, love wholeheartedly and you will receive it back in same measure. You don’t have to be physical with each other to express your love. Companionship, support and presence is enough to convey one’s feelings.

I’m feeling so nostalgic right now! I need me some Baek and Oh Ha-ni moment to laugh my head off! If you’ve watched it, what was your favorite moment? If you haven’t and you love watching romantic dramas, Playful Kiss is definitely a must-watch.

© Josephine Amoako 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter. Thanks!***

38 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve never even heard of it. I guess I don’t watch a lot of romantic shows, now that I think about it. What others do you like to watch?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Several others… I’ve even written about them on the blog, One Tree Hill, Gang Related etc

      Like

  2. sylviachika says:

    Hi Josephine. I sent you a message on Instagram. Kindly check it. I will like to chat with you.

    Like

  3. Mandy says:

    Ha! Finally, something I can relate with. I love Korean drama so much and I laughed at the part where you talked about how Korean guys pull their ladies for a kiss. I’ve always had a problem with that. 😂 But for real though, Korean dramas are so decent. I’m watching Boys Over Flowers again. This is my fourth time. 😂😂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Ei really? I’ve not really come around to watch it

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mandy says:

        Hehe. I really enjoy that show. I’m being tempted to make a post on it like this one.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Oh then please do. Maybe it will inspire some of us to watch it

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Mandy says:

        I can’t believe you haven’t watched it. It’s really really really good.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Boys over flowers was my second Korean series ever, I think I watched it five years ago.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Oh my god, just finished the series yesterday and im in love with it too. Have you watched The heirs and City Hunter? If not please do im sure you will love them.
    From,
    A dedicated fan of Korean Drama

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh good to know! No, I haven’t watched it. Will keep it in mind. Thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Have seen both, very interesting. Am also a big fan

      Liked by 2 people

    3. My love from another star, secret garden, empress ki, night watchman, goddess of fire, marriage without dating, cheondomdong Alice (not sure of d spelling), personal taste, you are beautiful, heartstrings, moon embracing the sun, scarlet heart, 2 weeks, healer, Mary stayed out all night, protect the boss, Kang chi (Gumiho), descendants of the sun, my princess, goong. That’s all I can remember for now.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank you so much. I have seen personal taste out of these but others are going to be added to my watch list. 😁

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Please watch see all especially my love from another star, secret garden, kang chi, you are beautiful. I forgot to include love rain

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Alright. Will Do

        Liked by 2 people

  5. I am a big fan of K-drama, I watched this series 3 or 4 years ago and is till one of my favourite. I love the fact that Korean dramas are conservative. Have a lot of K-drama to suggest for you if you are interested, am an addict, lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Please do suggest. As many as you can tell me 😁

      Liked by 1 person

    2. joseyphina says:

      Oh please do! 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Wilhelmina Gyamfi-Koranteng says:

    I am an ardent fan of Korean drama series any day…Pinocchio is also one good one! u can try watching it too…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Sounds familiar. Will check it out. Thanks, Mina! Have a splendid day.

      Like

  7. kittudoe says:

    I have been watching them almost 7-8 yrs.I have watched it To version too that’s more beautiful.Well favourite kdrama actors r JCW n GY.If u want to watch thriller plus romance plz try Healer n Remember

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for the recommendations. Will check them out. 👍

      Like

  8. kittudoe says:

    MLAS seems sci fi but it’s not it’s kinda disappoint us in story department but if u want to enjoy cute romance..Do try this.U will end up shipping them n it will take 1_2 yrs to come out the zone.And Empress Ki is must watch drama

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for the info

      Like

  9. kittudoe says:

    My favourite moments was when they were sitting on bench she woke up n thought that he could have kissed her n touched her lips

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, that was cute😅

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Elorm Yankah says:

    Everyone seems to love these Korean shows! I think I’m the only one left who hasn’t watched any lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Ei Elorm! You’re missing papa! Lol. You should try this one. I’m sure you’ll love it

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Elorm Yankah says:

        One of my best friends also watches it. Maybe I’ll try it out one day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Most definitely!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Elorm Yankah says:

        One of my best friends also watches it. Maybe I’ll try it one day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  11. This is something I would definitely be interested in. I am a huge fan of Korean drama. As you have stated its clean, fun and entertaining in a modest/decent way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      It is! You will love it!

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

