Swapping Places Chapter 1


(c) Getty Images.

Read the Prologue here

                                   *

Twenty years later, the Coleman twins touched down at the Kotoka International Airport after spending the last five years in the United Kingdom. They looked more beautiful, matured and ready to conquer whatever life had planned to throw at them.

Both ladies stared out of the window of the car they sat in, each dreaming of the life ahead of them. Whiles Delphine imagined herself married to a loving responsible man and raising a family, Daphne thought of using her charm of smooth skin, pretty face and tantalizing accent to continue her party life back home.

When the car pulled back on their parents’ compound, the sisters sighed and looked at each other. Daphne took her sister’s hand in hers and squeezed it.

“Welcome home, sis.”

“Are my baby girls home?!” Their mother exclaimed as they got out of the car.

“Mummy!”

“My darling girls are home!” They both hugged her. She had grown older and a bit heavier.

“It’s so good to see you back.”

“It’s good to be back. Is dad home?”

“No, he stepped out. He’ll be in any moment from now. Let’s go inside.” Doreen instructed the driver to take out their luggage and bring them inside. She took them to their rooms and both girls gasped in surprise at how new their rooms looked. Their sweet mother had taken the pains to redecorate their rooms.

“You like it, huh?”

“Oh mum, I love it! Thank you,” Delphine said, hugging her.

“That’s very sweet of you, mum. You’re the best,” Daphne said. She smiled proudly. She was glad they appreciated her effort.

“Why don’t you take a shower and change your clothes? Dinner is almost ready and your dad will be in soon.”

“Yes mum.”

“And welcome back home.”

                                 *

Memories came rushing back as Delphine stood in front of her dressing mirror, undressing. The countless times she and Daphne had fooled others swapping places such that, she found herself confused about who she really was at a point in time. Who was she without her twin? Who was her twin without her? Or were they one and the same; only split into two bodies?

Their parents had tried separating them so they both would discover themselves without each other’s influence but their efforts proved futile. It was either one twin fell gravely ill or showed inability to cope alone. Though they lived different lives when they lived in the UK, they kept coming back to each other-like an invisible cord drawing them together. They had each other’s back; they had no other choice.

Maybe now that they were adults with different career paths, they would live their individual lives without having to string the other along. She sighed at the thought. A part of her wished it to be true, another knew it was only wishful thinking. She must have been born a twin for a reason. 

She was putting on some clothes after her shower when Daphne entered her room, chatting on the phone. She plopped herself on the bed as she laughed heartily.

“Yeah I know. Forgive your sister. Now that I’m back, I’ll surely make it up to you, all right? Yeah, she’s here with me. You know we follow ourselves wherever.” Delphine glanced at her. Daphne winked at her.

“Yeah, that sounds fine to me. Talk to you soon, dear. Bye.”

“That was Tasha. I’ll be meeting up with her tomorrow after lunch. Care to join?”

“Um…nah, I’ll pass. Send her my regards though.”

“Why don’t you want to come with me? Tasha is our girl, come on!”

“You know Tasha is more of your girl than she can ever be with me.”

“Does it matter? We just got back, Del! Don’t you want to breathe in the air from the city?”

“Come on Daphne, we talked about this before leaving the UK. We promised that we’d find our own way when we touched down. Live separate lives, remember?” Daphne rolled her eyes.

“And do we have to start right away? Why not give us a week to settle down first?”

“If we don’t start now, we never will. And it’s about time we did so, sis.”

“You’re trying to cut me out of your life, huh?” Daphne said, pouting.

“Of course not, Daph. I’ll always carry you along wherever I go. But we need to do this.”

Daphne nodded. They heard their mother call out their names.

“Yes mum!” They both responded.

“Dinner is ready. Come on out.”

“Okay, mummy.”

                                   *

Whiles Miss Daphne Happy-Go-Lucky went off to catch up with her sidekick from school, Delphine decided to plan her life for the next five years. Thankfully, their father had called in some favors to get them employed in a reputable bank. She would do her best to rise up the ranks at the bank, find Mr. Right and get married and then raise a family. It looked simple but she knew it wasn’t going to be easy. But she was determined to make it work.
Tasha raised her cocktail glass and made a toast to Daphne’s return home. They sipped. Daphne sighed when the breeze caressed her face and left her more relaxed.

“So how’s Delphine? Why didn’t she come with you?”

“You know her…going all goody-two-shoes on me. She’s taking the time to plan her life.”

“Are you sure she’s your twin? You two are like night and day!” Tasha remarked and they both laughed.

“She takes life too seriously it intimidates me sometimes. But she does keep me on my toes. I wouldn’t ask for anyone else to be my twin.” Tasha agreed with a nod. 

“So were you two still playing your swapping games in the UK?”

“Nah; we agreed not to. I wanted to sometimes but Delphine wouldn’t budge. Always reciting the ‘we promised mum we would stop’ anthem.”

“That’s good. It is risky, Daphne.”

“Come on, it’s fun. Now that we’re back, who knows? We can continue where we left off,” she said with a wink.

Tasha excused herself to use the bathroom. Daphne went on her Twitter homepage to read funny tweets while waiting for her when she heard a voice behind her. She turned.

“Hi. Do you mind if I join you?”

“Not at all. I’d appreciate the company till my friend returns.” He sat down and offered his hand.

“I’m Kobby.”

“Daphne.” They shook hands. He had an impressively firm grip. He took a look at her left hand.

“No ring so is it safe to say you’re not taken?”

“Whoa…straight shooter, huh?”

“Yep. Life is short and all we have is now. You only live once, right?”

“Yeah,” Daphne said, not able to hide her smile.

“I love your smile; it’s charming. I don’t normally do this but I’m tempted to make an exception. May I have your number? I promise not to harass you.” Daphne chuckled.

“Well, I don’t normally do that but I’m tempted to make an exception as well.” They smiled at each other. He took out his phone and she gave him her number. She bit her lower lip as she watched him type the digits. He called the number. Her phone rang. He cancelled the call, a satisfied look on his face.

“Just wanted to be sure I have the right number.”

“Bad experience previously?” She teased. He chuckled.

“We’ll talk about it later.” Tasha returned. Kobby got up from his seat.

“It was a pleasure meeting you, Daphne.” They shook hands again.

“The pleasure is all mine, Kobby.”

“Expect my call soon,” he said with a wink. He acknowledged Tasha with a nod and walked away.

“Wow,” Tasha said.

“I know, right? He’s hot,” Daphne said, turning to look at him.

“I just leave you for five minutes and you’ve already gotten someone to notice you? I’ve been here for God knows how long and so far nada, and you just touched down from UK and you’re already on your way to be hooked up? Whatever you’re on, I need a prescription now.” Daphne chuckled.

“You know I’ve always been a head-turner, Tash. But don’t worry, you’ll soon find someone. As long as I’m in town, your single days are over.”

“I do hope so. Let’s toast to that.” They raised their glasses and they clinked.

                                  *
Delphine was watching the dishes in the kitchen when Daphne returned home.

“Del! I’m home!”

“I’m in the kitchen!” Daphne entered.

“Wow…we’ve been home for how many hours now and you’re already taking over the kitchen? Mum will be so relieved.”

“How did it go? How’s Tash?” Delphine asked, ignoring her remark.

“It went well and Tasha is good. She asked of you. She said I should pull you along on our next hangout and I promised her I would. You’re not going to make me break my promise, are you?”

“Since you made a promise, I can’t let you break it but next time, please make no such promises.”

“Yay! That’s why I love you! You’re so sweet!” Daphne said as she hugged her and gave her a loud kiss on the cheek.

“And guess what, I met a fine guy today.” Delphine’s eyes widened.

“Already?”

“Uh huh and he has a cute name too: Kobby. I can’t wait to chat with him!”

“Good for you. You find even when you’re not searching.”

“Don’t worry; I’m willing to share.” Delphine glanced at her twin and saw her mischievous grin.

“No, thank you.”

“Come on, sharing is caring, remember? And being the generous twin that I am, I’m willing to share him…for now. It would be fun.”

“Nope. Learnt my lesson the last time,” Del said, wiping the plates with a napkin.

“Who, that Boakye guy back in high school? We both know it wasn’t going anywhere. We were young and didn’t know better. We are grown up now.”

“Let me know when you get a photo of him so I can avoid him as much as possible. Don’t want any awkward clashes,” Delphine said, as she put the napkin down and walked out of the kitchen.

Daphne smiled. She knew what to do to draw her sister in. She felt excited already. This was going to be fun.

(c) Josephine Amoako 2016 

34 Comments Add yours

  1. Mandy says:

    Not a bad start at all. I’m excited 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yayy! I’m glad 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Selorm. ☺

      Like

  2. vhuvu says:

    🙈🙈🙈🙈 can I also be a twin so that I can play some.. Lol.. I loved it.. Awesomeness. Can’t wait to see what happens next 🙌🏾

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh yeah? Sounds like fun, I know. Thanks for reading, sweetheart 😘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. vhuvu says:

        😘😘😘😘😘

        Liked by 1 person

      2. vhuvu says:

        Thank you for the story.. We await for more

        Liked by 1 person

      3. joseyphina says:

        Same here ooo… Can’t wait for Salome and Plumber 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. kage2015 says:

    So I can’t wait to read more, keep it coming.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice! Thanks for reading. I will. 👍

      Like

  4. zaram says:

    Hmmm…I can’t wait. This prologue is intriguing. Nice one Josephine

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Zaram ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. zaram says:

        Uwlc…anytime

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Lindsay AFM says:

    This is great! You are a very talented writer!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Lindsay. I’m glad you enjoyed it 😊

      Like

  6. Beckhar says:

    Interesting stuff… staying glued!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Beckhar 😊

      Like

  7. niifakye says:

    do u have specific times, days you post?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      For this series? Not really

      Liked by 1 person

      1. niifakye says:

        Okay. Notification will do then.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. mimispassion says:

    I’m so not loving Daphne right now. She’s just too much of trouble.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh…she can be trouble but she means well😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. mimispassion says:

        Does she??😏😏

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Nova says:

    This is definitely going somewhere!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Kaycee says:

    Wonderful work

    Like

  11. sawndei says:

    Nice line from Kobby…Life is short and all we have is now. …NEXT

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.