Would You Rather #15: Read an awesome Book or watch a good movie?


image

Books and movies are an introvert’s best friends. They suck you into their world of fantasy and make you escape your reality for a while. And if you love tales as much as I do, then you’d cook up sequels in your head even after you’re done reading or watching  the movie so you could stay in the fantasy world a little longer. I’ve even dreamt about being in the story a couple of times; anything to continue the story.

image
Good times! 🙂

I love reading; it’s as essential to my well-being just as eating right is. If there’s one thing that I have a high tolerance level for, it’s for books. No matter how boring or difficult it is to read, I’d go against my usual instincts to drop it for something else and read to the end. Why, because I believe every author has a point to make; it’s just that some take longer to put it across than others. I remember reading a book called Thunderstruck or something like that; the first half was…should I say a test of my patience but the second half was amazing! I’m so glad I didn’t give up on the book at the beginning or I would have missed the ecstasy I felt at the latter part.

image
Must be an intense movie! 😉

I enjoy movies too; the on-screen chemistry among the cast, how well they bring the story to life and make me feel their passion and pain in my bones, put smiles on my face and tears to my eyes. Movies spare us the trouble of having to imagine how the scene of a story would look like although some movie adaptations do not do justice to the books at all.

I must say, I enjoyed the Harry Potter books more than the movies; the movies were great but they didn’t excite me as much the books did. I’d say same of the Legend of the Seeker series. I enjoyed reading the Sword of Truth books more. I am yet to read the Song of Fire and Ice series to ascertain they would be better than the Game of Thrones TV franchise.

image
Who wouldn't want a good laugh? 😂

As much as I am crazy about movies and its production, I’d choose a book any day. I get to create how the characters look and carry themselves about. I put my mind to work in imagining how the world looks like according to the words of the book. It’s a delightful experience beyond words; one I wouldn’t trade for any movie, no matter how great it is. Yep, that’s how intense and passionate I am as a bibliophile.

image
(c) Google Images.

That’s just me; but what about you? Would you skip reading a book to watch a movie because you love visuals more or would you read and create a movie in your mind? Please do tell!

Josephine Amoako © 2016

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Ufuomaee says:

    Because of laziness and busyness, I prefer movies! If the movie is that fantastic, then I might seek out the book. But if it’s just ok, I won’t even bother with the book. It doesn’t help that I’m a slow reader either 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Ufiomaee! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  2. piratepatty says:

    Reading a good book. Even if I watch a movie I’m reading a book at the same time. I can’t sit still for a movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Good to find another book lover! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  3. it depends… i guess on what genre the movie or book is… generally, i prefer books, but if it’s the right kind of movie then maybe…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts😃

      Like

  4. SyedaFR says:

    I prefer reading all the time. Movies are for those times when I really can’t be reading. Specially if I am with my husband or children.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Good to know! Thanks for sharing, Syeda😃

      Liked by 1 person

      1. SyedaFR says:

        I love learning from and sharing with… you! Stay happy and blessed! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Thanks and you too! Have a great weekend! 😃

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Jorcil says:

    Books over movies for me. At times its very difficult to capture the whole book into a 2hr movie or series. And with books your mind gets stimulated by the creation and picturing of scenarios and how the characters look and behave.
    Like you said the HP movies come no where close to the effects the books had.
    Normally when I see the movie first reading the book becomes difficult as I may know the story line already losing the element of suspense so I always prefer the BOOKS then I’m excited to see it later on screen to see how far my imaginations were from what the directors seek to get across.
    So yeah books…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Totally agree with you…. Books first then the movies👍

      Liked by 1 person

  6. gislyreal says:

    Hahaha. I never mount the courage to finish books especially fictions but oh mai, a movies are my muse. I get so lost that anyone near me gets mad cuz i,m always so drained and in them

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Movie lover, huh? Good to know! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  7. awesome book no doubt even though that needs time and a great movie on the other hand is only 2 hours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Cheers to that! ✋

      Liked by 1 person

  8. AtimMercy says:

    Read a good book!. Movies, however awesome, get to end so fast…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? Books make the journey seem longer and more suspense-filled than movies.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. hiphopandrnbri says:

    I prefer the books for Harry Potter. The movies usually leave out major things and it irks me lol I only watch the movies because I’m a big fan. I do like that the movies are made just so you can “see” what you read but nothing is beating the books imo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Totally agree with you. Thanks for sharing your thoughts 👍

      Like

  10. ellieslittleadventure says:

    I Love reading books and if I find a good book I much prefer it to a movie but I am a little impatient when it comes to books. If I connect to a book right away I usually want to know the ending now rather than wait to finish a 300 page book so it takes all of the self control in the world for me not to google how the book ends. The same goes with TV shows. If I am watching an old TV show and it’s a murder mystery I will probably google who was the killer before I got to the end of the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for passing by, Ellie. Appreciate your thoughts. 😃

      Like

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.