TV Series Tag #89: Ozark


I know it has been a long while since I last shared my TV show favorites. Our next stop is at Ozark, a city in Missouri in the US. Ozark is an American crime drama TV show created by Bill Dubuque and Mark Williams for Netflix. The show was produced by MRC Television and Aggregate Films.  

Personally, crime shows are usually great, and Ozark is no exception. In dirty business, no one comes out clean no matter how much you try to convince yourself otherwise.

  1. Where would you rank it among your favorite shows?

Definitely in my top 70. I’d admit I struggled to start watching as I had attempted watching it a couple of times last year or so but never got past the first five minutes. But when I finally decided to watch it, I realized it was far from boring. Got me glued right from the first episode.

2. From 1-10, how obsessed are you?

I’d say 7. The characters are uniquely interesting which makes you want to follow their journey knowing that it is very likely it will end tragically. 

3. How did you discover the show?

I don’t actually remember…pretty sure I heard of it online.

4. What was your initial thought of the show and did it change after watching it?

I thought it would be like Breaking Bad but I noticed it focused more on the money laundering part of the value chain and not the drugs in particular.

5. Why do you like the show?

The suspense is kept at a decent level and since there are not any ‘good guys’ in the show, you sort of root for everyone and no one. There is no break, things only escalate which makes for a good drama. 

6. Who are your favorite characters?

Marty Byrde – I admire his cool, collected, and composed nature even amid heated moments. And I liked that he had a soft spot for Ruth and always looked out for her, even if she didn’t always appreciate it.

Wendy Byrde – Fierce and ruthless. She allowed her emotions take over in most situations and acted rashly; especially how she handled her son Jonah’s decision to work with Darlene and Ruth in season 4.

Helen Pierce – Definitely a ‘no-nonsense’ woman. She liked to tie all loose ends immediately when she spotted them. 

Darlene Snell – crazy. Sometimes acted before thinking things through. Dangerous on all fronts.

Jacob Snell – I liked his personality as well. His relationship with Darlene sort of mirrored Marty and Wendy’s. Thought he was ruthless but that paled significantly in comparison to his wife.

Ruth Langmore – I loved her accent. Foul-mouthed and was loyal to Marty to a large extent. It seemed she and Marty had some mutual respect and understanding for each other which I liked. 

Jonah Byrde – He was bold to stand up to his mother about he thought was wrong about what she was doing or approaching things.

7. Least favorite characters?

Roy Petty – His methods of doing ‘investigative’ work were not good at all. Didn’t feel bad about his ending. 

Ben Davis – He was a wreck when he went off his meds. A tragic character, that one. 

Elizondro – He was too rash. 

8. Who is your crush on the show?

None.

9. If you were to be a character, who would you choose?

That’s a difficult ask.

10. Which of the characters would you like to meet?

Wendy, Ruth, Marty, Darlene.

11. If you could meet any of the actors, who would it be?

Laura Linney and Julia Garner.

12. What lesson(s) have you learned from the show?

You can’t keep being a good guy if all the people you do business with are bad. There’s never an out; you only get in deeper. 

Have you watched Ozark? What did you think of the show? Kindly share and thanks for reading.

© Josephine Amoako 2023

2 Comments Add yours

  1. A classic… 👌

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.