From panic to peace: don’t forget to breathe


Water. I love to drink it. Lots of it. Love it for showers as well. No matter how late it is, I must have it before hitting the bed. I find it therapeutic, just like washing dishes.  I find it satisfying to see a dirty dish changing into a clean one. I appreciate the cleansing power of water.

However, that’s about how far I can take it with water. Not a big fan of immersion. Knowing myself, I tried practicing what my baptism would be like by dipping my head in a bucket of water. That didn’t help much because I still felt like I was drowning when I was immersed in the water during the baptism. I came out panting like I was being waterboarded.  Those seconds felt like hours!

Fast forward, I found myself at a beach on a calm day and that was one of the soothing moments in my life. Standing on the shores, watching the tides rush and die around my feet spoke to me on many levels. I remember even writing a post on it (Beach Therapy). As much as I was enjoying it, I don’t know if I lost myself in the moment and before I realized it, I was surrounded by water. The tides did not die at my feet like before but extended behind me. And for some seconds, I panicked. I honestly thought it was going to push me into the sea. I remember screaming like my life depended on it, only to earn laughter from the friends I had come with.

Fast forward again, I had a beach date with my friend/sister one Saturday and when we were leaving, she tried to get me to walk close to the water on the shore and again, I didn’t disappoint; I screamed like a little girl. Not proud of myself, noting that the beach was quite busy with lots of people around.

What’s the point of this? I was just pondering on how some situations in life that you usually face calmly sometimes begin to feel a little overwhelming for you and for a moment, there is this fear that it is going to take you down.

It reminds me of the popular story of Peter in the Bible almost drowning when he let fear set in after setting out to walk on the water to meet Jesus.

Going back to my first beach panic story, I had to still myself for the water to recede before I could move as my friends made no effort to come get me. It was up to me to ‘survive’ the moment or not.

Thankfully, we don’t have to do this thing called life on our own. Thanks for the gift of Christ to be the anchor for our souls as we try to find our way in this journey of life. This post is just a gentle reminder to you and myself that when situations feel overwhelming and overbearing, just call on God to give you His peace and direction and surely, He will come through, in His time, for His glory.

Regardless of what you may be going through or feeling at the moment, don’t forget to breathe! God’s got you!

© 2023 Josephine Amoako

One Comment Add yours

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.