FIFA World Cup 2022 Finals: Football gods played their cards and a GOAT’s dream fulfilled


I haven’t watched a lot of World Cup finals, but I must say, this has been the most exhilarating so far for me.  Started watching when France was already two goals down and honestly, I was disappointed. I didn’t think any of them would have it easy hitting a ball at the back of the net. 

I went online and I was greeted with people’s unamused comments about Messi being gifted another penalty – as if some powers that be were doing their bid to help him lift the trophy. I sighed in resignation, wishing that Messi’s biggest game would not be tagged with such conspiracy theories. The general sentiment was, he deserved to win this on merit, and I couldn’t agree more. 

But boy oh boy, I guess, the party was only getting started.

I heard a commentator say as the game resumed for the second half that the trophy was Argentina’s for the taking. I thought he was jumping the gun as anything could happen in football. I’ve watched enough matches to know never to give up hope before the final whistle. Anything can happen in two minutes and that’s what happened – France drawing in two minutes!

I wonder how Messi must have felt at the moment – the anxiety that he could lose the chance to hold the trophy; his last chance for that matter. But the football gods were not done playing their cards. And it was obvious that Kylian Mbappé was the one chosen to threaten his dream.   

When the score line progressed from 3 – 2 to 3 – 3 in extra time, I was amused at it all, it was as if the gods were having fun at someone’s expense. But penalties are never fun.

After both Messi and Mbappé had scored their penalty kicks, I breathed a little easier fearing that a miss from either of them could demoralize the rest of their team members. Someway somehow, for the two French guys who followed, I had the gut feeling their hit would not end at the back of the net; especially the last one. His countenance didn’t inspire confidence at all, that he could deliver, and (un)fortunately, he proved me right.

As a (forever) Ronaldo fan, I must say congratulations to Messi for emerging as champion. At least one of them had to lift the trophy in their professional lifetime. As much as I was dreaming of a final between the two GOATS, I guess it will forever remain as it started: a dream.

To say I was impressed by France’s resilience is an understatement; how I wish some teams could learn that instead of giving up when they miss a shot or concede a goal. To Mbappé, better luck next time – to score a hat trick, win the Golden boot and yet still lose the match and the trophy must hurt really bad. But hey, age is on his side. If he manages to survive the next four years on the pitch without a lot of injuries, he would still be in great form to compete at this same fervent level.

If there’s one lesson that football keeps reminding me, it’s never over until it’s over!

© Josephine Amoako 2022

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Mellie says:

    Beautiful read, my heart is sore for France and yep I learnt that beautiful lesson too its not over until its over. The unpredictability…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah…France fought well..but lesson well learned. Thanks for reading, Mellie.

      Like

  2. tcndangana says:

    It was an exciting match to watch. It kept us on our toes

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kaycee says:

    Very beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  4. henners1970 says:

    The match turned into a great World Cup final 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.