Would You Rather #23: Be your own Boss or work for someone else?


image

Some people love what they do; others are just going through the motions. Some work in particular jobs because they cannot see themselves functioning and excelling anywhere else; others would fit almost anywhere as long as it pays the bills and puts food on the table. Some people are visionaries, others are experts, team players and there are the ones who just go wherever the wind blows.

To be called ‘boss’ must feel important; one gets to call the shots, set goals for his business and pays people to make it happen. He takes the financial risks and his workers till the soil. The boss wins corporate awards and earns international recognition whiles his employees get paid and at best get promoted. It’s just how the world is.

Everyone is unique. Not everyone is born to start his own business. Our personalities, environments and life situations mold us to see the world differently. It doesn’t necessarily make someone better than the other or more accomplished than the other. Because everyone needs someone. Every visionary needs a consultant, a team player and a host of others to help bring his dream alive and keep it that way.

Bosses are not told what time to report to work. Because their obligation is not restricted to the nine to five routine. As long as they are awake, they are working to make sure they take their business to another level. Working for someone else means selling your potential and skills to fulfil someone else’s dream. But working for someone has its perks. You get to learn the success traits of your boss and apply them whenever you decide to break away and become your own boss as well.

image
They say the best people work for someone else. Is that true? 😯

I admire people who are their own bosses. You hear their stories and you get inspired that you can make it regardless of your background. I also respect people who work for others as well. No one deny the existence of some pretty terrible bosses out there. For working tirelessly for someone, taking every challenge thrown at you as an opportunity to redefine yourself and use it as a stepping stone to your own planned platform takes focus and discipline.

As much as I would like to be my own boss, set my own goals and see them through myself; I don’t mind being accountable to someone else about my progress. Knowing that I have to answer to someone would make me put in my best effort every time and not make excuses for the things that need to be done. The goal to prove to a third party that I am the right person for the job would constantly keep me on my toes.

What about you? Would you rather run your own business or you prefer to work under someone’s authority? I appreciate your contributions on the questions so far. You make the interaction very interesting. Thank you!

Josephine Amoako © 2016

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Rose says:

    Be my own boss! I love what I do. However, I would love to have an opportunity to do something with more flexibility and no one to “check in with”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Rose. Appreciate it☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rose says:

        My pleasure.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. gislyreal says:

    Be my own boss and it still means i have to work with others, cuz we are a team either ways

    Liked by 1 person

  3. piratepatty says:

    My own boss. Although I could feel comfortable working with a team.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree with you👍

      Like

  4. Being your own boss comes with a great deal of experience and expertise; hence, I’d rather learn now as an apprentice and transition to boss gradually with time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very true. That’s the best way to go. Thanks for passing by, Kwame ☺

      Like

  5. Ufuomaee says:

    I suspect everyone would choose to be their own boss if it were possible. I don’t know if I can work for someone anymore…not nine to five anyway. It would have to be freelance or part-time, because my life is not built around my independence… So, no, I’m not keen on answering to anyone else (except God of course!).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ufuomaee says:

      I meant my life is now built around my independence 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. joseyphina says:

      Sure, God remains the Big Boss! Yeah, freelance sounds doable too. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Seb Dani says:

    It’s nice being your own boss. No-one to give you orders.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, it is. Thanks for reading, Seb. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Work for someone else for now because as a writer I still want to develop other technical skills.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      True, true… Very important 👍

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.