Why I love Easter


Blessed is he who believes in the name of the Lord!

Time indeed flies. I remember wishing friends Happy New Year as vividly as if it were only yesterday. And like fast-forwarding a DVD, we are in the month when Christians all over the world remember and appreciate the death and resurrection of the Lord Jesus Christ. For others, it is a long weekend to have fun and spend time with friends and family. For both the spiritual and not-so-much, it is one of the most anticipated seasons of the year because of the personal relevance attached to it.

Personally, I call Easter the season of love because it reminds me of the greatest sacrifices ever made in the name of love. Anyone who hasn’t tasted the sweetness of God’s love has no other choice but to compromise on certain values to be able to receive some fraction of affection from someone else. Such people resort to holding back a piece of them so that when things go south (which at most times do), they would have something to prove that they could still move on without them.

But love is about putting all your cards on the table; holding nothing back. And our God demonstrated that perfectly when He gave us His only begotten and beloved Son to die in our place so we would live. And it is said that love is sacrificial because it involves risking it all with no guarantee. Jesus was scorned by the ones He came to save but that didn’t deter Him from accomplishing what He had to do. And that selfless kind of love is still touching lives and healing nations today.

Love is patient and kind. Patience is tested in hard times and under harsh conditions. Love stands firm even when the recipient abuses and scorns it. Kindness is extended to those who have had their lives starved of care and affection and have been scorched by the cruelties of this life. Mind you, such people because of their inexperience of love do not open up to love that easily. They are doubtful and distrusting of anyone trying to show them a little care thinking that it is just another ploy to take advantage of them. So this love being kind to those in need is also patient with them to warm up to it.

And this is the kind of love that I am reminded of at this time of year. Even when I was too stubborn to admit that I needed help, Love stood waiting for me. Whenever I strayed, Love came running after me. Whenever I doubted Him, Love reminded me of His ultimate sacrifice for me.
I love Easter because it is my personal therapeutic moment to reminisce on how far I’ve come by His grace and appreciate where He’s taking me.

Thank you Lord for dying for me and taking my baggage of sin away. And thank you for rising again to give me hope that indeed you’ve conquered all. And thank you for going up to prepare a place for me. And finally, thank you for leaving your Spirit with me to complete this journey called life.

Josephine Amoako (c) 2015.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Gyslaine L. says:

    Happy Easter Joseyphina 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Many happy returns, Gys! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very nice site. I feel the love and warmth that radiates from here. God bless you my sister. Debra

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you. God bless you, Debra. 🙂

      Like

  3. ❤️❤️Happy Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Same to you, Sheryl!

      Like

  4. It all comes down to the greatest love ever shown💗💗

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.