#WinterABC24: No Stress, Just Stories – Embracing Contemporary African Novels


Can I just say how much I’m loving contemporary African novels? As much as I appreciate the godfathers and mothers of African literature with their heavy themes and big words, I must say it does feel refreshing to read relatable stories in contemporary times from Africans (mostly living in the diaspora).

I recently finished the novel ‘Everything Is Not Enough’ by Lola Akinmade Akerstrom and I really enjoyed the read. The plot, the characters, the language…just the type of novel to sip your tea or juice over. No stress, just literary pleasure.

Having read novels from writers like Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Chika Unigwe, Boakyewaa Glover, Oyinkan Braithwaite, Ayobami Adebayo, and Chigozie Obioma among others has rekindled my interest in African fiction. It is comforting to know that you don’t have to sacrifice your Africanness in writing contemporary stories, neither do you have to sacrifice contemporary settings in writing African stories. 

The stories written in the past decade have shown how African storytelling has evolved and the power it carries in generating needed conversations in society.

If you have a favorite contemporary African writer that is not mentioned in the list above, kindly share their names and let’s spread the news of their great works. 

What are your thoughts on contemporary African stories? Which ones are your favorites? Kindly do share!

© 2024 Josephine Amoako 

Follow Joseyphina’s World channel on WhatsApp here.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. conniedia says:

    I read everything is not enough and thoroughly enjoyed it.
    I find that most i have read through finish to end i can barely put them down.
    Iam enjoying contemporary african literature like never before.
    Favorites ahhhhh am still grappling with names hehehe but most are nigerians

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, that’s a good book. Started reading In Every Mirror She’s Black and realised it’s a prequel to that novel but I’m somehow struggling to finish it…I wished I had read it in the right order…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. conniedia says:

    I realised it was a sequel late tooo…ahhh sad just.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading. Have some thoughts? Drop them below and let's chat!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.