Would You Rather #89: Be bald and fit Or overweight and


Gone are the days when bald meant old and wobbly; on today’s streets and screens, we see young men who have chosen to go bald and still look young and attractive. The youthful look is not based on how much hair you have on your head but more on how fit you appear.

I come from a society where weight is associated with ‘good living’. You see a chubby child and the first thing that comes to mind is, ‘He/she must come from an affluent home.’ Most middle-aged men holding certain positions are seen with pot bellies – ‘Oh, he must be paid very well!’

Women may not suffer from baldness although some women are unfortunate to have less hair than the average person. I remember back in school, such girls would be teased for their hair not growing whiles the others patted their overgrown hair with pride. But thanks to hair extensions and wig caps, women don’t have to worry about that anymore. As long as you can wear them and look like you actually own the hair, you’re good to go.

For me, being overweight is not an attractive look to walk about with. I know that for some, it’s genetic and no matter what eating regimen and exercise routine they are on, they may not be able to achieve the average slim body. But for many others, it’s due to poor lifestyle choices. I believe the first thing people notice about someone for the first time is their body before taking note of the hair.

Not having much hair is no longer seen as a disadvantage; the beauty and cosmetics industry has done well to take care of that. Being overweight comes with its own problems both healthwise and in matters of self-esteem.

For guys, bald is the new haircut. As long as the sideburns are well trimmed and the goatee well kept, you have no worries about someone mistaking you for an old man.

Being fit isn’t just about looking a certain way but living healthy. Do everything in moderation and take care of your body to keep looking young and strong.

As much as I don’t want to go bald, I’ll choose fitness over having so much hair and being overweight.

What about you? Which look would you rather go for and why? Kindly share your thoughts and thanks for reading.

© Josephine Amoako 2017

9 Comments Add yours

  1. rothpoetry says:

    I’m already fat and bald! So, I guess all I have left to do is get fit!!
    Dwight

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… Wish you all the best with that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll take bald and fit. (But I’m probably shallow enough to waste good money on a wig.)

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Kaycee says:

    Lol I hate being bald. I rather be fit. Great write up. I wonder how you get your inspiration…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      It’s God ooo 👐 thanks for reading, Kaycee

      Like

  4. Kaycee says:

    Lol you’re welcome

    Liked by 1 person

  5. gadaboutfam says:

    Bald and fit. I’d feel better each day and my hair just gets in the way anyway!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I know, right? 😁

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

