TV Series Tag #17: The 100


The 100 tells the story of 100 young people who were sent down to earth from space as a test to see if the earth is habitable again after some nuclear apocalypse took place years ago. However, they realized that some people actually survived it and saw the ‘Sky’ people as threats. The 100 people must fight to earn their place on earth, make alliances with the various Grounders and fight to defend their territories and their lives.

  1. Where does the show rank on your favorites’ list?

Top 30.

  1. From 1-10, how obsessed are you?

Maybe a 4.

  1. How did you discover the show?

Either on Facebook or YouTube. Saw the trailer and I decided to check it out.

  1. What was your initial thought of the show and did it change after watching it?

I was intrigued by the plot of having 100 young people sent down to a supposedly empty earth as ‘punishment’ and a test to see the earth is yet habitable again. It was an eye-opener seeing teens suddenly grow up to take charge of their own affairs to survive.

  1. Why do you like the show?

I loved season 1 in particular seeing how they managed to set themselves under one leadership, find out who one can trust and have alliances with…it was great. Seeing how circumstances and choices change people in unbelievable ways was interesting to me.

  1. Who are your favorite characters in the show?

I like Bellamy, Octavia, Raven, Monty and sometimes Clarke. I liked Finn as well till he was killed off. It’s just that, as the story progresses, I’m beginning to like Clarke less and less. I understand she’s normally put in impossible situations but I’m afraid the tough decisions she is forced to make is slowly killing her humanity especially in season 4. Deliberately exposing someone to radiation just to test a theory so she and her people can survive Praimfaya (sounds like prime fire) as well as closing down the bunker so her people will be the only ones to survive was heartless.

  1. Least favorite character in the show?

Jaha…even when it seems he’s on the good side, I can’t help but have the feeling that he has his own ulterior motives to whatever he’s suggesting to the group. And after what he did to force people to take the chip to get to the City of Light, I trust him even less.

  1. Favorite villain

The villains come and go with the seasons and they have all done fairly well to me.

  1. How would you kill off your favorite character?

Clarke? Hmmm…perhaps die in trying to save her people…again.

  1. Who is your crush on the show?

I liked Finn! I was so sad when he had to be killed and by who? Clarke!

  1. If you were to be a character, who would you choose?

I’d go for Raven.

  1. Favorite season

Seasons 1-3, I found very interesting. Season 4 isn’t so bad but it’s taking too much effort for me to watch it.

  1. Do you follow the cast and show on Twitter and Facebook?

I follow the show on Facebook.

  1. Which of the characters would you like to meet?

Marcus, Raven, Octavia, Bellamy and Clark

  1. If you could meet any of the actors, who would it be?

The actors who played the characters mentioned.

  1. What lesson(s) have you learnt from the show?

Being a leader especially in hard times is no joke. You make decisions you never imagined you would ever make. The rules of engagement change when you are in survival mode. We don’t really know people for who they really are until you get to see them in different situations. No matter the storms that come your way, don’t lose yourself. You may find your way back when you lose track but when you lose a sense of who you are, finding your way back could be nearly impossible.

Do you watch the 100 show? What do you think of the characters and the sub plots? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2017

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Beaton says:

    I never much cared for Clarke I have always felt that she was a privileged goody two shoes with delusions of grandeur from the moment they The 100 arrive she is one of the only kids who was not a convict and then she somehow is the only one capable to make decisions keeps secrets slowly becoming the dictatorship everyone was against aboard the ship in space when they used to “float” you for insubordination…. but I apprciated how she became the way that she become it starts with good intention and with each decision you need to back up…. I found it perfectly when whats his name who become the new “ruler” after Jaha’s failed experiment to turn everyone into mind controlled zombies without free will declares that no leader set out to imprison and execute his people but one decision at a time he becomes the way he ends up……

    My favourite character is Octavia and the way she totally absorbed the grounders culture becoming one of them speaking their lingo……
    I love Raven she clever
    jasper jasper jasper what to do with jasper I dont know but his antics give me life alongside Monty

    I used to hate Jaha but hey he is very charismatic and has sleeky smooth diplomacy oiling his way into your consciousness hahahahaha I dont trust him but I GOT mad respeck……..
    I wanted to add a few other things about that praimfaya stuff but I dont want to do spoilers hahaha oooh but my last favourite moment is when Octavia arrives to the conclave and announces “I am here for the war”

    obviously I am a big fan yes?
    ~B

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yes you are, B! 🙌 so glad to know we watch the same shows! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Beaton says:

        great minds 😉
        ~B

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        I know, right? ☺😊

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Elorm Yankah says:

      I love Octavia too! She has this “badass grounder” vibe about her that I love. Was heartbroken for her when Lincoln died.
      But I can’t stand Jasper! I liked him in the beginning but after he got depressed I got tired of him. It’s like he wanted to stay depressed and messed up so he kept pushing Monty away. He basically stayed that way for two seasons 😦

      Liked by 2 people

      1. joseyphina says:

        Yeah, hated that they killed Lincoln off and Finn too! As for Jasper, I couldn’t wait for glimpse to die… So depressing

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Elorm Yankah says:

        As for Finn’s death I’m still not over it. I was wishing they kept him instead of jasper lol. But I guess they had to kill him off because they wanted Clark to have a new love interest (Lexa) 🙄

        Liked by 1 person

      3. joseyphina says:

        Which for me didn’t add much to the story

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Elorm Yankah says:

        Yeah. They obviously did it because these days just about all the shows need to include such storylines

        Liked by 1 person

      5. joseyphina says:

        Yeah, I realize that

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Elorm Yankah says:

        For fear of being branded as homophobic

        Liked by 1 person

  2. kingkwesi says:

    Raven is my all time favorite, I started losing interest in Clarke as she kept on making very wrong decisions. All the same I think the 100 show is a great one. It shows that no matter who you are, you have survival instincts, you just might not know it until you find yourself in a situation where you have to survive. For the grounders as well as the mount weather folks, they still learnt to survive. No matter how tough the situation could be, some way somewhat survival is possible.

    Octavia I think is brave and an awesome character, I love his brother Bellamy. He is a true definition of loyalty. He is a born follower and very loyal at it. I think every leader needs a follower like that.

    All in all I think the show is a great one and I look forward to each new season

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Kwesi 😊

      Like

  3. Elorm Yankah says:

    I agree with you on almost everything! I also liked Clarke less and less with each season and Jaha honestly gives me the creeps lol. I think the show had a good storyline but I think they should have ended it at season 4. It should just end with the radiation/praimfaya

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I thought do too but let’s see where the story goes…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Elorm Yankah says:

    Oh and I love Raven too ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

