Would You Rather #85: Have It All or Know It All? 


Wouldn’t it be great to know AND have it all? What is the point of knowing everything and yet having nothing to show for it? And how unstable it would be to have it all and have no idea on how they came about, how to maintain them or even multiply them? Either seems to be incomplete without the other. 
Many of those who are ‘ruling’ in various capacities are not the necessarily the smartest brains in their fields. They are just great at gathering the great minds and managing them to produce their optimal best to their benefit. In sum, they have it all because of the know-it-alls. Is that exploitative? Not necessarily. The know-it-all persons have every resource at their disposal to put their knowledge to practical use, push themselves and achieve results. That is fulfilment in itself. The thing is, those who have it all and those who know it all need each other. That’s how it works.

Knowledge is power. With knowledge in your pocket with wisdom on how to apply it, no obstacle is insurmountable and no place inaccessible. Though he may not have a penny on him, what he knows is priceless. However, one who owns it all but has no knowledge is a ticking bomb waiting to happen. He could lose it all out of ignorance in a blink of an eye. 

That is why I believe it is not enough to just have it all. As much as you are expanding and employing experts to further broaden your territory, it is important for you to have at least basic knowledge of every aspect of your venture. This way, you don’t get blindsided by anything. One might think he owns the employee with the knowledge because he pays him but the know-it-all has the power to kill the business and even take over if he ever begins to harbor malicious intentions. 

The same way, apart from amassing knowledge, one should aspire to show fruits of it as well. If one has no ambitions of having something for himself, he would end up being the puppets of others as long as he renders himself useful. And when he has outlasted his usefulness, he will be tossed aside and be replaced with fresh blood. You certainly don’t want to end up like that.

As an avid reader, I love to discover knowledge in the least expected ways. The more I find out, the more I get to appreciate the world I find myself in. As for having it all, it’s the plan in the long run. Whether I get there or not, I hope that I would have had more than enough to know I’ve lived a full life with no regrets. I’d choose to know it all.

What about you? What would you choose and why? Kindly share your thoughts and thanks for reading.

© Josephine Amoako 2017

11 Comments Add yours

  1. SDC says:

    I always love these questions and answer almost right away, sometimes after I read though, I think ….🤔 lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… Thanks for reading ☺

      Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That would be great, wouldn’t it?

      Like

  2. gracelarbi says:

    me I want to know all oooo …cos wisdom begats wealth!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Beaton says:

    hmmmm I want to have it all…… and the only way I can have it all is if I truly knew what was worth having, and how to get and keep it… so I guess I want to know it all my curiosity runs deep, like still waters
    ~B

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hmmm…. Poetic. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, B😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Frankie says:

    I’d rather know it all because with knowing with all, gives me an idea of the opportunities available to have it all. it’s that simple ☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Frankie. ☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

