Would You Rather #83: Forget Who You Were or Who Everyone Else Was? 


Imagine yourself waking up one fine morning with no idea of who you are-all memory of self wiped out and seeing so many faces claiming to be related to you in one way or the other. Who is telling you the truth and who isn’t? Are they in your good books or not? Are you really who they say you are or are they fabricating stories to make you feel better about yourself?
As scary as the thought of it might be, that of not remembering who anyone else is must be equally overwhelming. But come to think of it, one’s memory of himself isn’t just about him alone. It encompasses every person who has had a significant influence on us and every experience we have had with others. So how can one forget who he is and not the people around him?

In the same vein, how can one forget who everyone else is and not himself? We are who we are because of where we are and who are with. You are someone’s child, spouse, parent, friend, employer/employee, competitor, neighbor, client…you are someone’s something. How can you know who you are by yourself with no ties to anyone else? I don’t know how that’s possible.

What am I saying? I sincerely do not know. Is the question wrong in itself? Maybe. Can I give a right answer to a probable wrong question?  Let’s see.

Forgetting who I am is like being given a clean slate; having my refresh button pressed and reset mode activated. I get to see myself in someone else’s eyes. I get defined by a third party’s descriptions. I become what others say I am because that’s all I know. Or I get to discover myself all over again by myself. Does my personality change? How will I know unless someone tells me?

On the other hand, forgetting everyone around me gives me a fresh opportunity to know people. Some people are not as good or bad as we think they are. Some first impressions were falsely perceived but this would be a second chance to correct that. However, people could take advantage of the situation and portray themselves differently to be in our good graces. Is that a good thing? Maybe, depending on how well you can manipulate that to your advantage.

I don’t want to forget who I am or maybe I should say, who I think I am; self-discovery is a working progress for me. People only know a side or some sides of me but never the full picture. I need to know who I am for myself, for my own sanity.

As for forgetting everyone else, well, I tend to forget people who fade off in my life after a while so it wouldn’t be such a shocker. I just have to start knowing them all over again. That’s life.

What about you? Who would you rather forget and why? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2017

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Jo Smith says:

    I feel like forgetting who I am is more unsettling than forgetting who other people were. I agree with you – it wouldn’t be such a shocker than forgetting who I am.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Jo. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeni G.J says:

    I would like to choose the second option. I know that won’t be the choice of many people but I differ here. It would take a hell lot of time for me understand others than understand my own self. In a course of time, I really would find who I’m and also because I don’t remember anything about me, I would so badly search for it and ending up making a better person.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice thoughts, Jeni. Thanks for sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your arguments for this question totally match mine.
    We take years to be who we are. Our values, experiences, emotions make us into who we are. If that erases, our blueprint for behaving with others is gone.

    Knowing yourself is the first step to knowing others. So yes, i will choose to forget others and remember myself.

    Like

  4. niifakye says:

    Who everyone was will do for me..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts

      Like

  5. Debs says:

    I love how you create a balance between both and I love the concluding part. Forgetting myself, no I don’t want to experience it as it has shaped me into who I have become today. But then, the people we have met in life as well helped shaped us. The Journey, the encounter, the mistakes, the friction and the realization.

    So maybe I’d prefer to forget these people. Forget who they were and what they ever did to me…while I enjoy a fresh journey of knowing them again…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s a nice thought, Debs.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lakerfiona says:

    One of my greatest fears has been the thought of waking up to amnesia or anything close…
    I have lived too much of my life to restart now or so I think
    So no I wouldn’t want either
    If there is room for sitting on the fence that is 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I understand it’s a scary thing. And may God never let that happen to us🙏

      Liked by 2 people

  7. jeffreybotah says:

    If it came down to it, I would prefer to forget everyone else rather than myself. I feel like it’s important for me to know who I am and if I forgot myself and remembered everyone else, I wouldn’t know what to do in a situation where I was alone.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

