Would You Rather #81: Give Up Brushing Your Hair or Brushing Your Teeth For The Rest Of Your Life?


This is a weird question, I know. I wonder why one would be made to choose between the two. I can’t see myself not doing either for obvious reasons but l’ll indulge myself a bit.

Can I manage not brushing my hair for the rest of my life? Most probably. If you braid your hair frequently, you’d only need it for the stray hairs but you can use your hand if a brush is not available. Life can go on perfectly without a brush, I think.

On the other hand, I can’t see myself going on teeth-brushing strike for even one day. For those who manage to eat breakfast before brushing their teeth, I wonder how they do it. I make sure to have my mouth freshened up before I say a word after I wake up. And living in a society where most delicacies are really spiced up such that anyone who comes close gets an idea of what you just ate, I doubt how I can survive giving up my toothbrush and paste.

So perhaps the question can be rephrased this way; would you rather look unkempt or have bad breath? Because the whole idea of giving up on brushing your hair is looking scruffy everywhere you go; just as the latter implies having to live with bad breath. Does it make you reconsider your first answer or not?

First impressions count; someone would see you looking unkempt and immediately forms a perception about you even if he/she didn’t give you a chance to clear the air by speaking directly to him/her. Some people have missed out on many great opportunities due to their appearance which is unfortunate. But you can’t blame people-appearance goes a long way to determine if you’re responsible. If you can’t take care of yourself enough to appear presentable, how can one trust you to be responsible with anything else? Some people might be considerate enough to excuse your unkempt look on one occasion but not as your constant appearance.

Bad breath is terribly awkward for the one suffering it as well as the people with whom one comes into contact. It can cast you into isolation at social events and sentence you into a permanent topic for gossip and mockery. No one wants that.

In light of this, I’d rather give up on brushing my hair knowing that I can still appear neat (the question didn’t say combing as well, right? Talk of loophole). So, I think I can manage it. If it is a question of either looking unkempt or having bad breath, hmm…that’s a tough one. I can’t choose as they are both damaging to your image. Can you choose between them?

Tell me what you think. Always a pleasure to read your thoughts and interact with you. Thanks for reading.

© Josephine Amoako 2017

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Bad breath not only comes from not brushing teeth. It can happen from not eating, eating, not flossing and/or be connected to underlying health/dental issues.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s true too. Thanks for adding that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hair. The teeth are more important to overall health. Plus I like food I have to chew.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. missjake says:

    Definitely the hair…
    Besides, if all fails, I’ll just cut it all and still slay😎

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Debs says:

    My hair is natural, hence I hardly even brush it, lest it breaks…But my teeth, you don’t even wanna know all the daily ritual I perform on it everyday…hehehehe

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Jo Smith says:

    Pretty stuck on this one, but probably the hair because I don’t want to have teeth problems – especially at the dentist!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hehe… I know, right? 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sparkyjen says:

    Darn! I can’t choose, or rather I won’t chose. Both hold my respect, so I give them an equal amount of importance. My hair is typically in place. My teeth are flossed and brushed. I use mouth wash. Still, I’m never quite certain about my breath. The dentist doesn’t flinch, and only a few people put their hand to their nose when talking to me. Huh?! Are they “itching” to flee? Or is it a reflex ” just in case ” action? Oh dear!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol…. I agree, they are both important

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Beaton says:

    Thats easy!!!!!! I have long since given up my rights to owning a hair brush or comb…. I wake up and my run my fingers through my hair and I am ready to face whatever the day will throw at me
    ~B

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hehe…. #hairgoals! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

