Swapping Places Chapter 26


Read Chapter 25 here.

*

The newlyweds set off for Peduase Valley Resort at Aburi for the honeymoon. Doreen was relieved; Delphine was glad. She couldn’t wait to hear about how well it went with them together.

Daphne reeled in delight when they entered their suite.

“Wow…I love what they have done with the place,” Kobby said, taking in the view.

“Me too! I’ve a feeling my sister had a hand in this. I can smell it!”
“That’s nice of her.” He turned her around and held her waist. He leaned his forehead against hers.

“Are you ready for this?”
She nodded, smiling shyly.

“I want to hear you say it.”
“Yes, I am ready. Are you?”
“I am. I’m really looking forward to spending the rest of my life, Daphne.”
“So am I. My prayer is that you won’t ever regret marrying me.”

“That’s mine too.” They kissed.

“Want to go into the shower first or should I? Or better yet, why not save water and shower together?” Kobby asked with a mischievous smirk. She hit his chest playfully.

“Tomorrow, hubby. You go in first.”
“Yeah?”
“Uh huh, I have to make an entrance, remember? You have to be ready for that,” she said with a wink.

“Oh I can’t wait!” He kissed her on the cheek and entered the bathroom. Daphne chuckled and took out her phone. She fell on the bed and called Del’s number.

“Hey…”
“Is something wrong?”
“No, why?”
“Why then would you call me on your wedding night?”

“I wanted to say thank you for my honeymoon suite. It looks lovely.”
“Oh you like it, huh? How do you know it was me?”
“I wouldn’t be your sister if I didn’t know. It was really sweet, thank you.”

“You’re welcome. Enjoy your night and on a normal day, I’d say be a good girl but tonight, be naughty.” They both laughed.

“Yes ma’am.”

“Talk to you soon, hun.”
“Yeah, my regards to mum and dad. Bye.” She glanced at the phone with a smile as she ended the call. Kobby came out not too long after, wrapped in a towel.

“You done?”
“Yeah, baby.” He stretched himself above her, leaning on his hands on the bed. He kissed her.

“Are you ready for some Kobby action?” Daphne giggled when he tickled her.

“More than you think. Help me up.” He stood and pulled her to him. She turned and pushed him onto the bed. She placed her hands on her hips.

“Are you sure you can handle this?”

“Oh is that a challenge?” He licked his lips as she gave him a three sixty view.

“You like?”
“I love.”
“Help me out of the dress, please,” she asked and faced with her backside. He zipped down the second gown she was worn during the wedding dinner. She stepped out of her heels. She bit on her nail when she felt the cool air brush against her skin. He kissed the bare skin along her backbone. She gently took her his hands away.

“Don’t get ahead of yourself, hubby.”
“Don’t be a tease, wifey.”
“Oh you didn’t know? Tease is my middle name.” They both chuckled. She kissed him on the nose. He groaned.

“I’ll be right back.”

“Don’t keep me waiting.”
“I’ll try.” She entered the bathroom.

*

Delphine and her mum took it upon themselves to stock Daphne’s refrigerator with food as their way of ‘setting her up’ for marriage. They chatted heartily imagining how Daphne would play the good wife as they cooked.

“Kakra.”
“Hmm.”
“So when am I seeing your man?”
“Which man?”
“The one you’re seeing. I know you’re seeing someone.”
“Nah, not anymore. We broke up.”
“Oh why?”

“He was acting silly.”
“Just that? Men sometimes act silly but you must know how manage them. I can’t believe you let him go because of that!”

“Why are you getting yourself so worked up over this? You never met the guy.”
“I know but…your sister is gone and now…”
“Now I’ve to find someone sooner or later, I get it. We’re still in the celebratory mood, mum. Don’t ruin it for me.”
“Fine, I’ll hold off for now. But you’re not getting any younger, Kakra. The time for dating for fun is over. Go for the ones who have their heads screwed on properly.”
“They are getting harder to find.”
“That’s what they also say about women but great ladies like you are still around so there’s hope.”
“I hear you, mum. I think the stew is cooked,” Del said, switching off the gas. Doreen was about to say something when Del’s phone rang. Delphine quickly picked it up. She gestured to her mother that she would be back. Thank God for the call, she thought as she said ‘hello.’

“Hey beautiful.” Delphine scowled as she took the phone away from her ear to glance at the caller ID. She rolled her eyes and placed it back on her ear.

“What do you want?”
“You came to mind and I wanted to check in.”
“I don’t need a babysitter, Seth.”
“I know…can we move on and be friends?”
“No. I don’t dig up what I’ve buried. Please don’t call me again.”
“But you handle my account, remember? You can’t cut me off.”
“I’ll hand your account over to someone else.”
“No, you shouldn’t. I don’t want that.”
“I don’t care what you want.”
“I believe your boss wouldn’t be happy to hear his marketing executive say this about a client. If you drop me, then I’d have to withdraw my funds from the bank, which I think…”
“I get it. I can’t believe you’re playing the blackmail card. So, how may I be of help to you, sir?”

“Okay, don’t go all formal on me now.”
“Do you have any inquiry to make concerning your account or not?” She asked impatiently, almost shouting.

“No, I…” Delphine ended the call. “What a bee of a man. Ah!”

 

Delphine was setting the table when she heard a car pull up. She stared out of the window to get a look.

“Heya!” She came out of the kitchen.
“Hey, you are back!”

“Yeah, did you miss me?” The sisters hugged. They kissed each other on the cheek.

“You look well…you’re glowing! What did you do? And where’s your husband?”

“He was on the phone…” The door opened and Kobby entered. He smiled at them.

“Welcome back.”
“Thank you.”
“Where are they?”
“Chatting in bed and requesting room service every twenty minutes. That’s what my life has been reduced to. I thought you guys were returning tomorrow,” Del said.

“Yeah, Kobby got called up to do something. We also have to give our bed a housewarming treat, right hubby?” Daphne asked with a wink. Kobby smiled shyly.

“Let me go and greet our old lovers,” Daphne said and started walking towards her parents’ bedroom. Kobby smiled at Delphine as he started walking towards her. When Daphne closed the door behind her, he pulled Del into a hug. He closed his eyes as if to savor her warmth.

“Hey,” she said softly, brushing his back lightly with her palms.

“Hey.” He pulled out of the hug with a satisfied look.

“Ready to be married?”
“Yeah, I think so. How have you been?”

“Good. I guess you would be joining us for dinner.” The door opened and Daphne and Doreen came out.

“My son-in-law, welcome!” Doreen greeted with a smile.

“Thank you, mum. Hope you are doing well.”
“By God’s grace. Supper is ready. Hope you two will join us.”
“It would be our pleasure, mum.”
“Mum said you two had cooked for me. Is that true? That’s so sweet of you!” Daphne went to hug Delphine and gave her loud sloppy kisses.

“Kobby please sit down whiles the sisters set the table.”
“Oh I’m almost done,” Delphine said and turned towards the kitchen. Daphne followed her.

“What are you doing?”

“Posting photos on IG.”

“How is that contributing to the supper?”
“You’re the one taking care of it. Mum just said the two of us for formality.”
“Yeah right.”
George came out of the bedroom and engaged Kobby in a conversation whiles Doreen went to check the table. She called the men when everything was set. They all sat and held hands for grace. George said grace and they began eating. When they were done, Delphine started to clear the table. Doreen was showing Daphne something on her phone.

Del placed the plates in the sink. When she turned, Kobby was coming in with the glasses. She took them from him.

“You shouldn’t have; I was coming back for them.”
“I know; I wanted to.”

“Thank you. Is that all?”

“I think so. I’ll go and check.” Del began washing the dishes. Kobby came in with a glass and placed it in the sink. He opened the tap and picked one of the washed plates.

“Kobby no, I’ll do it. Please.”
“But I want to.”
“I know but I don’t want my mum…”
“She won’t say anything. I’m married now. I’m out of bounds. There’s nothing to worry about,” he said, showing her his ring. She sighed and continued washing the plates and he started rinsing them. When Kobby noticed she had put on a straight face, he bumped her shoulder with his. When she looked at him, he grinned.  She shook her head and looked away. When he did it again, she couldn’t help chuckling.

“Stop it.”
“Then smile. What’s with the straight face?”

Daphne walked in.

“There you are…I was wondering where my husband was. Oh, you do dishes? That’s great! I know my manicures would last me a long time,” Daphne said. Kobby looked at Delphine who gave him a thin smile.

“Welcome to the family.”

(c) Josephine Amoako 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter. Thanks!***

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

21 Comments Add yours

  1. kaykaytee says:

    I still get very uneasy when I find Kobby and Del together. I just hope my fear is unfounded. 😍😍😍

    Liked by 3 people

  2. ☺☺☺drama free chapter

    Liked by 1 person

      1. joseyphina says:

        No, it hasn’t ended yet.

        Like

  3. SikaBosuoMokuor says:

    😂😂😂😂😂 ‘you do dishes’ paa

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha 😂😂😂

      Like

      1. SikaBosuoMokuor says:

        Asɛm bɛba

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Hmmm… Fingers crossed

        Liked by 1 person

  4. niifakye says:

    I’m scared of what may happen between Del and Kobby… I hate to foresee the future. Well done Josey anyway, keep the good work up. Looking forward to the Epi 27.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m anxious too. Thanks for reading, Nii.

      Like

  5. Juicy… You never disappoint!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, sweetie! 😘

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lochan says:

    I am still sure Kobby is upto something.. Del and Kobby in one room spells danger… What next?

    Like

  7. fortunate23 says:

    I’m ready for Chapter 27. 👏

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ganaijachic says:

    Okay so i told myself to be patient but I cant!!! Chapter 27 already please!!!
    Lol … Good job Miss Joseyphina.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I hear you, dear😄

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

