Would You Rather #77: Be Ignorant and Happy or Be Knowledgeable and Never Content? 


Ignorance is bliss, they say. What you don’t know doesn’t hurt you. Some people prefer not to know that the bed of roses they think they lie in have some thorns. I’ve heard some ladies say they don’t care if their men cheat as long as they don’t find out. Others would like to know even if it is unpleasant. It’s in the knowing of the whole picture that makes happiness absolute.

Being blissfully ignorant is like being in a bubble-all safe and comfortable until it is pricked into deflation or a burst. Both are unpleasant although the former takes a gradual fall-you feel your world crumbling down or have your world explode suddenly. The truth no matter how deep is buried, finds a way to the surface; it might take months, years, decades but it will surely show up.

Being knowledgeable has its perks but not being content is a miserable place to be at. Acquiring lots of knowledge is supposed to help better our lives and not embitter them. But with knowledge comes solutions to our problems. Knowledge is only useful when applied to deliver results.

What’s there to be happy about being ignorant? I guess it would be being content with the little you know and hope there’s nothing new to disrupt the feeling. Does one ever get satisfied with acquiring knowledge? I doubt it. The more you find out, the more you realize there is to know. But would I subject myself to knowing when it only renders me unsatisfied?

I love to discover new information. It makes me feel alive. It excites me to share it with others. I hate not to know something I’m asked especially when it’s expected of me to know it. I’m not the type to be blissful about ignorance. Tell me something I don’t know and keep my mind busy. There’s nothing like I don’t need to know about this. Every bit of information is golden. You may never know when you need it.

I guess I’d go with being knowledgeable and as for not being fully content, I don’t plan to be since there’s always more to discover about the world. But when it comes to life circumstances, sometimes, blissful ignorance is good for the heart lol.
Josephine Amoako © 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter here.  Thanks! ***

18 Comments Add yours

  1. I would not want to be ignorant at all. It’s no joy in being that way. Knowledge is a beautiful thing. Even if I find out something that will hurt my feelings I’m glad I found out so I can learn from it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Des. Have a lovely week.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. fictionspawn says:

    Good post. To tell you the truth, I find “happiness” overrated. People values *everything* according to how happy one will become. A lot of things I would not exchanche for happiness, one of them being knowledge, as you mention. Also, there is a gene connected with depression, and in theory it can be removed. The same gene is connected to creativity. If I have that gene, I would not remove it. My creativity is more important to me than empty happiness. And the third thing I’d like to mention is ethics. Ethics does not make me happier, I think, but ut gives more value to my life, and connects me with the other beings in this world, makes me somehow… bigger, or more, or. . I’m not sure how to put it, really, but, yes, more important than happines based on ignorant egoism. Thanks.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts. Have a great day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jo Smith says:

    I’m too inquisitive to be ignorant! I always somehow learn something everyday (like watching youtube videos) and I just would not be satisfied, as you said.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Jo!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Naana says:

    Ignorance would lead you into trouble all the time if you dont want to learn anything new considering the fact that new things keep coming up. Great piece

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s true. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Naana.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Kaycee says:

    Knowledge is power dear. Ignorance is never an option

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree. Thanks for sharing your thoughts

      Like

  6. Honestly, I feel that having knowledge is the way to go. I really like feeling the extremes. The more pain I know, the better the good things are. And being ignorant, is that really a place to be happy? its the emotion, and the feelings that really make life worth living. I also hate being blindsided. I have always been told, all things come out in the wash, so I would choose to know now rather than later.

    Great post. I love things that make you think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I agree with you, I hate to be blindsided too.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great topic! I think it is easier to be ignorant. It is, however, our duty to learn and better society. Especially with the internet, we have no excuse about not having access to knowledge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s very true. Thanks for joining in with your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Dangerspouse says:

    My job requires me to be, if not knowledgeable, then at least aware of a vast numbers of things going on in the world every day. I’ve never been more frightened, disgusted, despairing, angry, hopeless, jaded, and cynical in my life. I would love to swap places with a blissfully ignorant dullard for a while. A looooooong while.

    I’d also love a beer. Which I suppose will have to do in the interim….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… It is well. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dangerspouse says:

        Thank you – I really enjoyed your writing 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Knowledge is bliss.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

