Would You Rather #76: Have Your Thoughts Above Your Head For All To See Or Your Actions Live Streamed For Anyone To See? 


Would you change your pattern of thought if it was announced that your private thoughts would be made public henceforth? Would you think twice about each action you take if you found out every outburst or hidden habit was being watched across the world? I guess you would.

I must confess, I have entertained some unhealthy thoughts about people and situations probably because of how unfairly I thought I was treated at the time. I’m sure I indulged in that because I knew my thoughts were unknown to anyone else. How could I face the people I respect knowing that they I thought this way about that thing? Totally embarrassing.

Our thoughts may not define us; our actions do. But our actions are most often influenced by our thoughts. But some of us are smart enough not to translate all our thoughts into actions. We may give our sweetest smile to people but only God knows the thoughts behind them. You and I are both guilty of that for sure, countless times.

Thinking ‘appropriately’ because our thoughts appear as holograms on our heads and so having to portray ourselves as ‘nice’ could lead us to be hypocrites. But with time, it could help us to harbor good thoughts about people regardless of what we may have heard about them or what they may have done to us. It takes conscious effort to think positively. But in the end, it is good for our own health and sanity, don’t you think?

If only we could see what people do live in action! Backstabbers and double-crossing fellows would be extinct! Everyone’s conscience would be very much alive and blissful ignorance would have no place. The world would indeed a different place to live in.

As a creative person, God knows I come up with ‘interesting’ scenarios in my head on a daily basis. I’d love to keep them to myself and share the filtered results. But for actions, I don’t think I would mind too much if others saw them. It would be a challenge to live God’s way every day. That said, it is equally great an opportunity to monitor our thoughts to ensure we only entertain thoughts that please God.

What do you think? Would you rather have to yourself and for public consumption? Why is that? Kindly share your thoughts.

Question source: conversationstartersworld.com

© Josephine Amoako 2017

15 Comments Add yours

  1. jpimbo says:

    I need my thoughts to be mine. That security in privacy is great for me. neither could I allow everyone to see my actions. That is just too exposed and would leave open the door to too much criticism. There is enough of that al ready being scrutinized as a Christian. I’m definitely not perfect in word, thought and deed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Definitely. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. verojanuary says:

    Nice food for thought. I think until we attain perfection, our thoughts and actions remain as is – private lol. But in light of this timely reminder, we need to work on ourselves, to be pure in thought & deed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Well said, Vero. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nemo says:

    Very true and practical indeed. Keep writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Nemo says:

        You are welcome Joseyphina 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Jo Smith says:

    Before I read this post (I just read the title) I thought that I would rather want security than the whole world to know my private thoughts. But after reading, as you said, it can in the long run change us all as people. Many times the nicest people in the world can to amazing actions, but they can go unnoticed. Perhaps only the actions of hardworking and nice people can be portrayed so others can learn from an example.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very true, Jo. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Naa Shormeh Nortey says:

    Hi.pls when will u be post d nxt episode of swapping places

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very soon. This week definitely. Sorry for the long delay. Been pretty busy.

      Like

  6. zaram says:

    My actions live streamed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I see! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Zaram ☺

      Like

  7. Bhekimpilo Ncube says:

    gosh! my thoughts would not be so good! considering that i take solitary walks to engage in monologue so that my thoughts aren’t released in the wrong conversations. i guess my curated actions would rather go on Netflix of real life LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… I like that! Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

