The Good News About Unsettling Situations In Life


How unsettling it is to suddenly have your world shaken up by the unexpected;

With something unthinkable showing up at your door like a surprise guest

When it feels so overwhelming that for a moment, you believe it’s just a dream

But no matter how hard you blink or pinch yourself, you find yourself facing the same reality

One you keep hoping that it should change into a dream within another dream

But as the seconds tick away and the hours pass by

You have no choice but to accept that a storm has hit the ship.


When dark clouds gather and heavy winds blow, you know you have to prepare for rain

When you have a headache and feel weak, you know you may be coming down with something

But when the whole narrative changes during the quiet hours with no heads up

You just can’t be surprised enough; how, when, where and why did it happen?!

But the more questions you ask, the less answers you get

As the questions beget more questions;

So you spare yourself the pain and imagine yourself living with the new tide

 

It might not be easy but it will get better, I tell myself 

Everything happens for a reason; some things are wake up calls, sometimes quite rude

Only appreciated in hindsight, never as it happens

That what I once saw as unsettling was actually a repositioning

To see life from another perspective and realign my thoughts

 

To hope for a trouble-free life is a fantasy

Even perfect plans turn out imperfect as they are being carried out

But I’m thankful that I have a God who is in control even when all things seem to be out of it 

Who can turn my mistakes into miracles in His own time;

Reminding me that the plans He has for me are beyond my wildest imagination

That He has good intentions concerning me, to bring me a future and a hope

 

So I will take the good with the bad

And believe it will turn out for the best

After all, some spices on their own don’t taste great

But put them together in the right proportions

And you have yourself a tasty meal

 

I’ll ride out this unsettling moment

Until the storm passes

And I know I’ll find myself smiling again.

 

© Josephine Amoako 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter here. ***

8 Comments Add yours

  1. yaweandrew says:

    Joseyphina with God, you shall overcome any storm.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Amen. Thanks for reading, Andrew.

      Like

  2. yaweandrew says:

    Isaiah 4:6
    And there shall be a tabernacle for a shadow in the daytime from the heat, and for a place of refuge, and for a covert from storm and from rain.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Papberry says:

    The storm shall surely calm down.
    The wilder we imagine positively, the more He exceeds those imaginations because He is God.
    Let’s hold on tight🙏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Amen! God bless you, dear

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jo Smith says:

    I loved this! I had an unsettling situation recently, and I read this and it made me feel better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      So glad you feel better, Jo! Stay safe! 😘

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

