TV Series Tag #8: One Tree Hill


Hey there! This week, I present one of my favorite oldie but goodie high school TV series! Ever since my roommate and I got introduced to it back in the university, we just couldn’t get enough! It run for nine seasons from 2003 to 2012 and although I never got to watch last season, it’s one series I really enjoyed watching. It began as a story of two half-brothers Lucas and Nathan Scott who competed for positions on their school’s basketball team and the drama and the love triangle with Peyton. I particularly loved the theme song ‘I don’t want to be’, I even downloaded it!

  1. Where does the show rank on your favorites’ list?

Top 25.

  1. From 1-10, how obsessed are you?

I was pretty hooked on to the show back then, that’s for sure.

  1. How did you discover the show?

A fellow course mate at the university recommended it to me.

  1. What was your initial thought of the show and did it change after watching it?

Found it fun and interesting. No, it didn’t change much. I was more intrigued when Nathan married Haley in high school and how she managed to attend school with her big bump as well as watching how Nathan cope when he emancipated from his parents and had to survive on his own.

  1. Why do you like the show?

I loved the show because of the youthful exuberance exhibited in the show. There were a lot of sub plots with interesting angles. How to deal with a half sibling trying to steal your shine, being in a relationship with an indecisive person, priorities in terms of marriage and career, father-son relationship, the pressure of dealing with a parent with high expectations, a whole lot.

  1. Who’s your favorite character in the show?

Loved the central characters: Nathan, Haley, Peyton, Brooke and Lucas. Their different characters really spiced up the show.

  1. Least favorite character in the show

Dan Scott. He was a difficult father and the least likeable. What kind of father competes with his own son just to prove that he’s the better basketball player?

  1. How would you kill off your favorite character?

Old age after coaching basketball teams for so long.

  1. Who’s your crush on the show?

The Scott brothers.

  1. If you were to be a character, who would you choose?

Haley! She was such a sweet girl although she became annoying at a point, her character was inspiring. Having to stand by her husband after some lady alleged that he slept with her was really brave. Love and trust in a marriage are indeed essential.

  1. Favorite season.

Don’t have a particular one in mind. Enjoyed them all.

  1. Do you follow the cast on Twitter?

I don’t think so.

  1. Which of the characters would you like to meet?

Haley.

  1. If you could meet any of the actors, who would it be?

Hmm…not too sure.

  1. What lesson(s) have you learnt from the show?

Lots…parents should manage their expectations of their children; love is a risk, take it; everyone deserves a chance, give it especially when you have a negative perception about someone etc. I could go on and on.

 

I can’t believe I remember the show so well although it’s been years since I last watched it. It must have really left an impression. Thanks for reading. Hope you enjoyed it.

Did you ever watch One Tree Hill? Did you love it or not? Kindly share your thoughts with me!

 

© Josephine Amoako 2017

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Shereen says:

    i recently watched it and i loved. back when it came on tv, i didnt like it because I thought i was too cool to watch what everyone was watching. lmao .now i wish i had watched with everyone else

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Glad you’ve watched it now😊

      Like

  2. iKomusana says:

    I loved loved loved one tree hill.
    The song was always my highlight.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. elynjay1 says:

    OMG 😱 …. This series… I miss so much…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. imperfecttruth36 says:

    I’m watching one tree hill as we speak Season 5! I was introduced to One Tree Hill about 5yrs ago by a ex co worker. She gave me seasons 1-3..And I watched every last episode back to back!!I’m a Leyton Fan(Peyton & Lucas) fan, but I did love Peyton & Jake also. I adore that show. My 5yr old neice and my 26 yr old brother walk around singing “the theme song”. The different music..I LOVE! I have seasons 1-7, but I was so crushed when Peyton, Lucas, and Sawyer left at the end of Season 6.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I love the theme song too! Yeah, I couldn’t believe they left the show after six too😢

      Like

      1. imperfecttruth36 says:

        I was expecting them to come back when Brooke got married..But Lucas did come back briefly with that terrible hair

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Hehe… Yeah, that was weird 😂

        Like

  5. imperfecttruth36 says:

    Where does the show rank on your favorites’ list? Top 5

    From 1-10, how obsessed are you? 9

    How did you discover the show? ex co worker

    What was your initial thought of the show and did it change after watching it. The first season I was trying to see who I would like and not like, but everyone grew in season 2.Lucas smiled more, Peyton opened up alil more and was less dark, Nathan was going to be my dislike person, but thanks to Haley, he became one of my favorites. Brooke, became a selfless person throughout. Everyone had their moments, but all in all really good show
    Why do you like the show?The music in the background was one of the reasons I fell in love with the show. But each individual character had their moments of words, facial expressions and mess ups. Sometimes I thought, “could I have been one of these characters in real life?”

    Least favorite character in the show? Brooke’s mom in season 6 until Brooke had Sam living with her and her mom got attached and when Julian told her mom how he felt about Brooke. Season 1 was Nathan b/c he was a jerk. I didn’t really like Chris Keller at first, but I think deep down he has a really good heart. At first I didn’t like Dan Scott, but after really watching him with his grandson Jamie, I saw a less sociopathic side. I didn’t like psycho Derek, even though he wasn’t a set character. Racheal got on my nerves at first, but she grew on me.

    How would you kill off your favorite character?My favorite character Is a cross between Peyton and Lucas, and i’m not sure how I would kill them off.

    Who’s your crush on the show? Lucas especially in Seasons 4-6 when he and Peyton finally got together in high school//I did like Owen(Brooke’s bar friend). Nathan was a crush because of how he loved Haley.

    Favorite Season? I haven’t seen seasons 8 & 9, but 7 is my least favorite b/c of the character changes, but its pretty interesting.

    Do you follow the cast on Twitter? No

    Which of the characters would you like to meet? Peyton

    If you could meet any of the actors, who would it be? Sophia Bush, she’s beautiful and Bethany Joy Lenz ( I love her music “Halo” is one of my favorites)

    What lesson(s) have you learnt from the show? Everyone’s life is a novel or story line. Whether its about love, betrayal, faith, family, friends, music, tragedies, or sports, it’s worth telling or writing down.

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh I love your answers! Thanks for sharing, dear! ☺

      Like

      1. imperfecttruth36 says:

        Thank you!I LOVE ONE TREE HILL.. TRUST me I can go on and on about that show!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Good to know!

        Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

