Would You Rather #71: Relive the same day for 365 days or lose a year of your life? 🌇


Would you rather relive a day for 365 days or lose a year of your life?

How frustrating it must be to relive the same day for a week and talk less of a whole year! But come to think of it, we all in one way or the other repeat our activities throughout the week in the capacity of a student or employee/employer, etc. A few details may change over the days but in general terms, we may be reliving our days to an extent.

That being said, the fact that we sort of relive our activities each day doesn’t mean we shouldn’t progress in our daily dealings. We should strive to get better at what we do and improve our relationships with others. We should build upon what we achieved yesterday; not just redoing the same things.

Man has an average of about 70 years to live on earth- a lot happens within this lifespan, some experiences more significant than others; and some years more eventful and memorable than others. But to randomly choose a year to lose could be personally damaging and disastrous.

I don’t remember in detail how significant every year I’ve lived has been but I’m pretty sure that skipping one would alter how I’d end up in the present. Some experiences over time change you gradually so it might not be advisable to evaluate years in isolation. Every day no matter how quiet and uneventful is significant when looked at in retrospect.

If we could choose a particular day to relive over and over again, I’m sure we’d all choose the happiest moment in our lives for a do-over. But if the choice is to be out of our hands, that could be dangerous. What if we get stuck with one of our worst days over and over again? By the time the 365 days are over, we would be entangled in a web of chronic depression with little or no chance of coming out of it.

As much as I don’t look forward to being stuck in a time loop where I’ll wake up and live today again and again especially if it holds no special memories, I’ll prefer that to losing an entire year. Some days are better and worse than others, but they all matter in the bigger picture.

What about you? Which one would you rather choose and why? Kindly share your thoughts.

 

© Josephine Amoako 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter. Thanks!***

 

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Id rather relive my happy days than lose a year of my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice! Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Leslie says:

    Ya know, i have never really thought about it like this. Reliving the same days mostly by doing repetitive things, like jobs and what not. I’d like to relive happy days too. This is thought provoking, i like it. Hah.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Glad you do. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Leslie. ☺

      Like

  3. I choose to relive the happy days too. You mention that some days are better than the others. And I totally agree that these days do have in the end and much better than losing a year in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice! Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Michelle.

      Like

  4. Shereen says:

    lol. I will happily give up 2016! It was such a tough year! heck let’s add 2015 too

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol…. That bad?

      Like

  5. McApple says:

    I want new experiences everyday! Who wouldn’t want that? Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… I know, right?

      Like

  6. Would have loved to mention one particular year (was really though😶) but I reserve it because it actually made me strong and courageous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Know that feeling. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Ama.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Jo Smith says:

    It kind of depends, I would chose to live the happiest day of my life over and over again, but maybe it’s not my choice! If it was the worst day of my life, than I’d rather lose a year of my life, that’s just me. I once read this book a super long time ago, it’s called 11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass, and it was about a boy and a girl reliving the same day for endless days until they could figure out a solution, and I think I would go crazy if something like that happened to me. Awesome post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, it would drive anyone crazy. Thanks for joining in with your thoughts, Jo!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I would rather make the most of each day and relieve each days’ unique memories

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Sounds like a good idea. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

