Would You Rather #70: Have Your Parents See Your Entire Photo Gallery or Your Browser History? 


Would you rather have your parents see your entire photo gallery or your browser history?
(c) bbc.co.uk

No matter how open some would call themselves to be, we all love to have our privacy respected to an extent in terms of personal effects like phones and computers. Thus, one must tread cautiously when scanning through one’s electronic device because you might find something strange or perhaps shocking. You might be tempted to form a perception about the person based on what you discover which might not exactly be true-there could be a reasonable explanation for that. (No) thanks to auto-download media feature on some social media group chats, one could discover a file and wonder how it came about. 

Those with smartphones, you know how goofy you can sometimes be with your selfie sessions. Some are funnily silly, others are pretty embarrassing. And I hear there’s an X-rated version of that called ‘nude-fie.’ Imagine my shock upon hearing that from young teens. Makes me wonder how helpful it is giving such advanced gadgets to immature teens to explore the world unsupervised.

Personally, I’m not much of a photo fan so I hardly take photos of myself except on rare days when I’m suddenly in the ‘mood’. And with what I’ve left undeleted, there’s nothing naughty or dirty that would warrant me panicking if my parents were to chance upon them.

However, since I’m an avid reader and curious to find out more about what I don’t know about almost everything, my search could sometimes lead me to interesting sites and webpages and sometimes I’ve to stop myself and backtrack to the beginning of my search as I get sidetracked into delving deep into something I wasn’t even looking for. It could be a phrase I heard in a movie or read in a book, or a scenario I found puzzling or one I plan to include in a story I’m working on that would send me on a search cruise online. More than once, I have had to shut it down because the info was more than I had bargained for. 

So between the two, I’d rather my parents see my photo gallery than for them to see my browser history as that would require a lot of explanation, which I doubt they would understand. Let me add that, just as curiosity could be healthy to gain knowledge, when unguarded, it could be very dangerous.

What about you? Which one would you be comfortable letting your parents, spouse or friends see and why? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter. Thanks!***

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Queen Nique says:

    I would say my photo gallery cause its mostly pics of outings around town, myself, family or kids. None of the nude stuff I take or keep anyways…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Queen. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Queen Nique says:

        No problem 🤗

        Liked by 1 person

  2. leahgray says:

    I’d have no issues with anyone seeing my photo gallery, it’s essentially all photos of my cat and I love showing him off. Any photos of me is just silly things which might be a little embarassing but definitely not inappropriate. My browser history isn’t too bad either but I think I’m similar to you in that sometimes a search ends up leading to something unexpected. Nudefie doesn’t sound good, I think that since younger kids are more likely to have smart phones these days it’s so much easier to share things, even if it’s better off not shared. I liked your point at the end about curiosity, it’s good but it can be dangerous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Good to know, Leah. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and have a great week!

      Like

  3. deshboss says:

    Wonderful post food for thought. But anyways i don’t think I’ll rather they see any? Why there is obviously even if we deny a generational drift… What i am seeing may not be explicitly wrong but to them it will be. Just a thought anyways.
    About teenagers it’s sad this is the generation we live in social media and smartphones came to help but abuse is inevitable so i recon parenting before teenage is very crucial

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree with you, Desh. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. deshboss says:

        Happy independence day BTW

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Thank you dear😊

        Like

  4. Patricia says:

    I think they would rather see my photos and not my browser history!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha…. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Patricia ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  5. reflectionofdes says:

    I would rather for them to see my photo gallery. I have nothing to hide in there. I doubt if they try looking through my browser history. There’s nothing for me to hide on there neither lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Desi☺

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Shereen says:

    I too would rather they see my photo gallery, its mostly of potential blog post pictures, so mostly nature stuff and funny memes shared via whatsapp. my browser history, I actually wouldn’t mind as well…it may cause them to worry though. I’m always looking up diseases and diagnosing myself or people. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… Doctor in the making? 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Shereen says:

        Lol. Not even. I just think I have everything when I feel the least bit ill

        Liked by 1 person

  7. eek! neither! lol..but if I had to choose…picture gallery….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hehe… Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. nancyongom says:

    I would rather have them go through my photo gallery.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hehe… Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Nancy

      Liked by 1 person

      1. nancyongom says:

        You are welcome dear

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Definitely being a mom I have to be mindful of both. My phone is game for intruders lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha I agree. Thanks for sharing your thoughts 😊

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

