Swapping Places Chapter 17


Read chapter 16 here

Delphine felt her phone vibrate as she stepped out of the office. She stopped to take it out. She sighed when she saw the caller ID. She canceled the call and put the phone back in her bag. She turned when she heard her name being called.

“Why are you ignoring my calls?” A distraught-looking Seth asked breathlessly as he walked towards her.

“Seth! Sorry, I’ve been busy.”

“Busy, for two days? Are you pissed at me for not sleeping with you…?”
“Will you keep your voice down?!” Del snapped.

“Or are you mad at me for not driving you home because I’m lost here.”
“So what, you came all the way here because I look like your GPS?” Seth raised a brow, stunned by her jab.

“Look, I’m sorry for all that went down at your place but I’m afraid we’ve come to the end of the road. So let’s just move on, okay?”
“Wait, are you breaking up with me?”
Del gave him a thin smile just so she wouldn’t throw another smart jab his way. She was angry but not at him and he didn’t deserve it but hey, every war had its casualties.

“I can’t believe I’m being punished for being a gentleman, Del. I could have gone ahead, you know but I knew that would change the direction of this relationship and I didn’t want that.”
“And I appreciate that, Seth; I really do. I wish I could explain it to you so you wouldn’t feel this bad but all I can say is, it is about me here and not about you and what you did or didn’t do.”
“Oh don’t give me the ‘it’s not you, it’s me’ crap, Del. I really like you and I was hoping we could take us to the next level and you want to dump me?” Oh, he was considering her for next level position?

“You’re a great guy, Seth but I’m…pretty messed up. You don’t have to put up with the likes of me.”
“Don’t try the self-sabotage trick on me. I know you to be a phenomenal lady and whatever baggage you carry, I’m prepared to deal with that. But please don’t just break up with me on the streets like that.” Del sighed. Setting him aside was going to be more difficult than she thought.

“Will you let me give you a ride whiles you decide on my fate?” She glanced at him, looking at her with puppy eyes. She needed the ride so why not? Oh gosh, this is so not her. Before she could say what was on her mind, Seth had taken her hand and led her to his car. He opened the door for her to sit down. He closed it and then went around to sit on the driver’s seat. He started the engine and took off.

“I’m sorry if I embarrassed you, Del…”
“Please say no more about that. I don’t even want to think about it.”
“For the past two days, I’ve been thinking hard about what I could have done differently to change the outcome. Maybe I shouldn’t have let you drink that much. I should have just driven you home instead of taking you to my place. I’m really sorry, Del.”
Delphine didn’t reply, her eyes watching things disappear from her very eyes as the car raced past. Seth was a good man, no doubt but she sometimes wondered if he was the one for her considering she was set up with him by her horrible twin. Maybe she should find love on her own. She startled a little when she felt his hand on hers. He slowly brought it to his lips and kissed it.

“What can I do to make it up to you?” He asked, his eyes pleading loudly. She smiled.

“Nothing. Just be you.”
“Does that mean we are okay?”
“It means what happened never happened. Forget that it ever did.”
“Does that mean I’ve lost all chances of that ever happening again? Because I was really looking forward for a do-over,” he said teasingly. Delphine shook her head and looked away.

*

Seth walked to the counter and ordered for a smoothie. He tapped his nails on the surface and glanced around. He noticed Kobby seated nearby, his eyes fixed on his phone. He walked over to his table.

“Kobby!”

“Hey, Seth!” They shook hands. He sat down.

“Are you here on a date?”
“Something like that. She’s using the ladies.”
“Okay…how are things going between you two?”
“Great; how about you and Delphine? Are you two still seeing each other?”
“Hmm…can you believe she almost broke up with me today? And you wouldn’t believe the reason why.”
“Tell me,” Kobby said, his curiosity piqued. He put his phone down.

“She wanted us to you know…get intimate and I refused because she was a bit intoxicated and…”
“Wait, what? Delphine wanted to do what?” Kobby couldn’t believe his ears.

“Yeah I know but I wanted to be a gentleman about it and she got offended. She later drunk-texted me and it was like she was a totally different person. Strange huh?”

“That can’t be; Delphine isn’t that type of lady.”
“Tell me about it. Since when are you punished with a breakup for acting like a gentleman? This world is becoming something else.”

Daphne froze when she saw Seth speaking with Kobby. What was he doing here? Was Accra so small a place that they had to keep bumping into each other like this? He shouldn’t see her; he doesn’t know Delphine to be a twin. If he found out, he might figure out that she was the one with him two nights ago. Of all the places in the city, they had to meet here? Seriously, what were the odds?

Kobby couldn’t wrap his head over what Seth was telling him. Why would Delphine offer herself to Seth that readily? Maybe it was because she was a little under the influence. But Delphine wasn’t much of a drinker either. Something was amiss.

Seth tapped the table to get Kobby’s attention.

“Where is your mind wandering to?”
“Sorry. Just got me thinking.”
“Where is your special lady? I wanted to meet her.”
“Oh yeah, she’s actually Del…” The attendant called out to Seth. He turned.

“My order is ready. I wish I could get to say hi to your lady but I have to run off. I’m sure we’ll meet again soon.”
“Sure. See you soon, buddy.” They shook hands again. He got up and walked over the counter. He waved to his friend before leaving the place.

Kobby lifted his head when Daphne sat down.

“Hey, are you all right? You kept quite long in there,” he asked.

“Yeah, sorry about that. I’m fine.”

“You just missed Seth.”
“Who?”

“Delphine’s guy. She hasn’t told you about him?”
“Oh Seth. Yeah, I think she has mentioned him.” She took her glass and sipped. He look quite disturbed.
“What is it? Did he say something about my sister?”

“Apparently, Del almost broke up with him over a rather interesting incident. I just find it a bit weird.”
“What do you find weird?”

“Nothing…it’s just that although I don’t know Delphine very well as much as I know you, but I’m surprised about what I heard.”
“What did he say, Kobby?”
“Never mind. We didn’t come here to discuss your sister. I’m sure she’ll tell you about it.” He held her hand and forced a smile. He was upset about this; he didn’t understand why.

*

Daphne arrived home and entered the kitchen to find Delphine pouring herself some juice.

“Hey,” she greeted casually and opened the fridge. She took out a bottle of water and closed it.

“So what, you’re still not talking to me?”
Delphine ignored her and attempted to open the door of the refrigerator but Daphne blocked her. Delphine only glared at her. Daphne smiled broadly, blinking dramatically.

“I’m not moving till you say something.”
“Excuse me, Daph.” Daphne shifted so Del could put the juice box back into the refrigerator.

“Can we please put this behind us and move on? You know how much I hate it when we’re not talking. I’m really sorry for what I did. It was stupid; I see that now. Please forgive me,” Daphne apologized.

“Apology accepted,” she said and drank. Daphne smiled.

“So, how are things between you and Seth? I hope I didn’t mess up anything.”
“Why, do you want another chance to finish what you started?”
“Come on Del, you know that’s not what I meant. Kobby bumped into him and he mentioned that you almost broke up with him. Is it because of me?”

“We didn’t break up. I thought it wouldn’t be fair to do that to a guy who acted like a gentleman. God knows there are only a handful left. I shouldn’t be the reason why the world loses another one. Hopefully, he’ll do something that would earn him a breakup soon and then we can all move on,” Del said and emptied the glass. She placed it in the sink.

“Hopefully? So what, you don’t want to see him for real? He is an amazing guy, Del. Don’t throw him away because of my actions.”
“But I’m afraid we won’t go very far. The stunt you pulled will always hang over our relationship. He will have a certain perception of me, one that isn’t true. And how do I convince him that is not who I am? I can’t. This isn’t going anywhere,” Del said.

“Maybe I should come clean to him,” Daphne suggested.

“No, you don’t have to do that. Kobby will hear about it and that will be the end of you two. There’s no need for us both to lose our relationships.”
“I’m sorry, Del. I really am.”
“Uh huh, Daphne gives and Daphne takes away,” she replied wryly and walked out of the kitchen. Daphne chewed on her nail. How could she make things right?

*

The next day was a public holiday so Delphine stayed home.

“Going somewhere?” she asked Daphne as she packed up her bag.

“Uh huh. I’m going to work.”
“Today’s a holiday.”

“Yep for you but not me. Makeup knows no holidays,” she said.

“I so don’t envy you. I’ll be lying in bed today.”
“Good for you. I’ll be home early today so we catch up, what do you say?”
“Cool. Get me something sweet.”
“If I don’t forget.”
“Don’t worry, I’ll text you every half hour.” Daphne chuckled.

“Sure. Got to go.” They hugged. Daphne left the house with their mother.

 

In the afternoon after lunch, when her father had gone in his room for a nap, Delphine decided to watch Baby Daddy to while away the time. Her phone rang.

“Hello?”
“Yeah, Del are you home?”
“Yeah, why?”
“Good. I’ll be right over.” The call ended. Delphine glanced at the phone. Why was Kobby coming over?

He called her after he pulled over in front of the house. A few minutes later, Delphine came outside.

“Hi Kobby, what’s up?”

“Come sit inside.” She sat next to him and closed the door.

“What’s going on?” He only stared at her.
“What is it?”

“Is everything okay?”
“Oh gosh, did Daph tell you about our squabble? We’re good now. There’s nothing to worry about.”
“I didn’t know you two had a squabble. Seth told me what happened between you two and I was concerned.”
“Seth and I are good too, Kobby. Thanks for showing concern.”
“I know you don’t drink and you don’t look like the kind of lady who would offer herself to a guy just like that. That got me thinking. I haven’t really considered how my relationship with Daph could be affecting you after the brief moments we spent together. It must be conflicting for you especially after the feelings have already begun to surface.”
“Hold it…what are you talking about?”
“I’m talking about you and me and your sister as well.” Delphine chuckled.

“Wait, you think there’s a love triangle? You think that’s what is going on here?” she asked.

“Listen, I just want to say sorry for my part in it. But if you need someone to talk to, I’m here. You don’t have to resort to alcohol and sex to feel better.”
“Enough, Kobby. You have no idea what really happened.”
“Maybe I don’t but I can tell you are hurting. It’s good that Seth didn’t touch you. I just want you to know that I’m here for you. I care about you and your sister and I hate to see you in a bad place.” Delphine watched him quietly.

“You really think I did what he said I did?”

“I didn’t want to believe it but I see no reason why he would lie about it.”
“Interesting. You seem to forget I’m a twin,” she said and opened the car door.

“What is that supposed to mean?” Delphine got out of the car and closed it.

“Nothing. Thanks for passing by and offering your friendship or whatever that was. Your girlfriend will be in soon and I don’t want another fight over a guy. Talk to you later,” she said and started walking away.

“What did you mean by…? She had entered the house and shut the gate. He sighed. He started the engine and drove off.

(c) Josephine Amoako 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter. Thanks!***

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Korkor Tee says:

    Looks like swapping places is making Del more like her sis!!! Daphne better watch her back, Kobby’s coming for her!! Wait oooh, for how long is Daphne going to keep the fact that she’s a twin from Seth? He’ll find out soon it was her and he’ll be both glad and mad.

    Keep it coming Jo. I can’t get enough of you.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      As for Kobby, he’s very unpredictable. As for Seth finding out, hmmm … I don’t know what will happen. Thanks for reading, Tee! 😘

      Like

  2. prinxy says:

    Lalalala… This is getting more interesting at every read… I wonder how the twins will end this war? 😕😕😕… Will they be able to preserve both relationship?…. 😕😕😕… This chapter gets me thinking….. Josey, Prinxy is on Suspense… Please do free me early… 💓💝💞

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hehe… Pray for me so the ideas will flow early

      Liked by 1 person

      1. prinxy says:

        Sure will 🙏🙏🙏💖💝👍

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Miss.Kizza says:

    This story just got better.😎😎
    Kobby is one interesting fella and I hope Daph and Del don’t lose out on love.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hmmm… Hope so too. Thanks for reading, Ms. Kizza

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miss.Kizza says:

        Pleasure .great job on swapping places

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Shereen says:

    Kobby is so slow. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… I know, right? 😂

      Like

  5. deshboss says:

    Del is still hurt 😩😩😥😥 new resolution FUTURE WIFE HEAR ME LOUD AND CLEAR NO TWINS

    Liked by 1 person

  6. when u swap and the swap swaps u and swaps your world u swap into a bitch just for the swap to feel real

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Mandy says:

    Interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Way to get your own Del… Throwing little words around, Kobby is smart he will put two & two together! Great work Josey!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, sweet! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

