When You See Yellow, What Comes To Mind? 


When you see yellow, what comes to mind?
(c) Pixabay

#DailyPost

When you read the word ‘yellow’

What comes to mind?

I think of the bright sun;

Which makes all things look beautiful with its light;

Calls out to plants and trees to stretch out their branches;

And flowers to open up their petals;

Though we can’t stare at it with our naked eyes;

Because of its blinding brightness;

With it, we can see everything in full color;

 

When I think of yellow;

I see ripe bananas in my mind’s eye;

I imagine its sweet taste in my mouth;

And consider its nutritional value in my body;

I thank God for the gift of fruits to enjoy;


When I think of yellow;

I can’t help but think of smileys;

How cute they look and yet how well

They depict our varying moods and emotions;

Even when you run out things to type in a chat;

They come to your rescue;

So good to be alive in this day and age!

 

The color yellow reminds me of optimism and gaiety;

Pleasure and celebration;

It’s also associated with knowledge and wisdom;

As well as cowardice and fright;

On the road, yellow is for caution;

Don’t get me started on the many national flags;

It is a beautiful color, no doubt;

It’s worth appreciating;

 

So do well to be yellow with optimism this day and month;

And not with jealousy or cowardice;

And you’ll be on your way to have a blissful day!

 

© Josephine Amoako 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter.***

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Simon says:

    I like that thought… ☺

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Simon says:

        Always welcome ☺

        Liked by 1 person

  2. simpledimple says:

    Wow! You did such a good job with the prompt. So beautifully penned. Loved it very much. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh thank you! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. simpledimple says:

        You’re welcome. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jo Smith says:

    Great poem! Once I wrote something like this for the color pink: https://josmith1845.wordpress.com/2016/01/29/popping-pink/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks! You did? Great!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. When I think of yellow I think of those yellow traffic lights I hurry up and blow through before they turn red. Great post miss😎👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… I know, right? It tells you, hurry up already! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ya it does… I never understood what yield means… Lol😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Very uplifting and inspiring. It’s a yellow day haha 💛💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      It is indeed! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Her vs. World says:

    Beautiful post!

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

