Would You Rather #66: Spend 5 years in prison and receive $5 Million upon release Or not go to prison and never become rich? 


People feel self-actualized in various ways: by being influential in their social circles, being experts in their fields, being famous/infamous or having a hefty account they can be proud enough to hold. The kind of aspirations that one has determines what considers a worthwhile sacrifice or a waste of time. 

Innocent people find themselves behind bars all the time, unfortunately as that may be and upon release, they are compensated with money to make up for the time lost/wasted. No amount of money can make up for productive days wasted. Some would argue that it’s possible to work all your life and never earn 5 million dollars to your credit. So what’s the big deal of sacrificing 5 years whiling away the time reading, washing dishes or whatever else they do there and coming out 5 million bucks richer? I’d say it would only feel okay for someone whose main aim is just to get rich.

It is true that some people who have been law-abiding enough never to see the insides of a holding cell in a police station never become rich to live the kind of life they would want. But for me, that’s no reason to give away five good years. There is no guarantee that I’d live to see the end of the five years; and someone else gets to enjoy the money without working for it? Not fair.

Also, the fact that you’re handed the money doesn’t necessarily mean it would automatically change one’s life for the better. People have made bad spending and investment choices with their money and have ended up poorer and indebted than before. 

Besides, how can one know that you would never become rich? Others might have a head start with a substantial inheritance or trust fund but no one’s fate is cast in stone. All it takes is one idea, one seized opportunity, one open door, one supernatural breakthrough to turn one’s life around. I’d rather take my chances staying far away from a prison cell. Freedom is priceless.

Money is important but money isn’t everything. If the money acquired is used to help others and make the world a better place, great! But if the aim is just to earn it for self-centered reasons, then I’ll pass.

Tell me what you think. Share other views? Would love to know. Don’t forget to share so many others can join in the conversation. 

© Josephine Amoako 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter. Thanks! ***

***I’d appreciate it if you could fill this survey if you haven’t already. Thank you. ***

25 Comments Add yours

  1. jpimbo says:

    i agree. i don’t want to get rich. it would really hurt. getting rich seems good but there is a lot of trouble in it. keep my needs to a minimum.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, so there is with being poor too. Thanks for sharing your thoughts

      Like

    2. bdalamba says:

      Well I think, each path to accumulate wealth is different, and prison these days give you a chance to learn, create and build you as a person, so I think I’d go to prison and use the time to build and make an effective difference in the lives of others from what IV learnt with the money to fund my cause.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. joseyphina says:

        Hmmm…that’s an interesting angle to this. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! ☺

        Like

      2. bdalamba says:

        My pleasure… Interesting topics…keep them coming 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. McApple says:

    Hahaha.
    Even if I would want to go, definitely not Ghana’s prisons. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… I know, right? I didn’t even picture there when I was writing it! It’s terrible! Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺😂

      Like

  3. I’d rather never become rich. 5 years is a loooong time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      It is! Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  4. Quinn says:

    Definitely not go to prison. Your time and your life are worth more than money. Being rich doesn’t bring you happiness. These are things most people know but sometimes forget.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree, Quinn. Riches doesn’t necessarily bring happiness. Thanks for sharing your insight ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jo Smith says:

    Just because you aren’t rich doesn’t mean you are poor. So I would just not go to jail and never become rich. I would also live in a tiny house anyways! I really love them 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I love that, Jo! Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. sarahii says:

    I would rather not go to prison. There is a certain finality to going to prison, that even upon release doesn’t guarantee anything good would come having 5 million dollars. However, becoming “rich” or in the case of your question, not becoming rich but maintaining your freedom – rich is relative. Freedom is a fairly absolute concept, the ideals and concepts involved are the subjects of wars and constitutions, social jsutice, humanitarian movements; whereas riches, wealth and happiness are abstract ideas and the definition changes from person to person. No prison for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very well out, Sarah! And I agree with you. Thanks for joining in with your thoughts ☺

      Like

  7. Alka Rao says:

    Mine! I wouldn’t go to prison for money.

    Hell, I would start something of my own that might not give me $5 million but would show me a way to reach double that figure and which does not leave my principles and reputation blemished.

    By the way, sitting idle for 5 years and earning that too sounds quite interesting on second thoughts😜😜😜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… I know, right? Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Alka

      Like

      1. Alka Rao says:

        Lol my pleasure😁😁

        Liked by 1 person

  8. MizzMusings says:

    If i get to choose the prison… ie a white collar prison in Sweden, where you can even leave for the day sometimes, they can lock me up immediately. lol.

    Ive been to boarding school, i can handle it. Ill read a lot, exercise, sleep and come out a millionaire. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hehe… Swedish prisons are that homely, huh? Thanks for joining in with your thoughts! 😀😂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. joyegeorge says:

    I don’t need five million dollars to feel rich. I already feel so incredibly blessed by all God has given me. Though I might argue that spending five years to work yourself out of debt is like being in prison with the end result being that you will have more money. 😀 But we’ve almost got those student loans paid off!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Great! And they will soon be a thing of the past. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  10. Go to prison for $5 million… No way! Society will label that individual as an ex-inmate. This can spoil chances of benefiting from great opportunities. It is one thing to land big money and another to manage that money. And not been able to invest it wisely will mean losing everything in the long run.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hmmm… That’s true… One’s record counts in the long run. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

