#LetsPretend


(c) grouponcdn.com

#DailyPost

Claire:

Let’s pretend that I don’t see your flaws;

Because we’re supposedly blinded with love;

Let’s pretend that your constant checking in on me;

Is an expression of how much you care;

And not a simmering obsession;

To know my whereabouts

And whose company I’m in;

Ken:

Let’s pretend that you’re indeed perfect;

Because I said so during one of our amorous moments;

Let’s pretend that your obsession to play Temple Run on my phone;

Is merely because you are fixated on the game;

And not an excuse to go through my call log and chats;

To check if I’m hooking up with another;

And put your suspicions to rest;

Claire:

Let’s pretend that you’re indeed serious about us;

Because you keep painting happily ever-after pictures of us together;

When you always change the subject;

When I bring up the issue of us taking things to the next level;

Let’s pretend that you do have a plan of settling down any time soon;

I wonder if the feet-dragging attitude;

Isn’t because you’re having second thoughts about me;

And just stringing me along until you’ve found someone better.

Ken:

Let’s pretend that you’re indeed ready to settle down;

When you keep talking about how our future house will look like;

When your own room looks like a toddler’s;

Let’s pretend that your demand for fast food;

Is due to your constant craving for chef-prepared meals;

And not because you don’t want to mess up your nails in the kitchen;

Or have your weave smelling of food;

And you keep drumming it into my ears;

For the need to hire a help immediately we move in together;

Because we both apparently have tight schedules;

Claire:

Okay, let’s not pretend anymore;

I’m far from perfect and so are you;

I may be unsure about a lot of things;

But one thing I am very sure of;

Is that I want to spend my forever with you;

I really want us to work; don’t you?

Ken:

Finally, a break from all the pretending!

I must confess that I keep holding off our marital plans;

Because I was waiting for you to woman up;

But I see that I have some growing up to do as well;

I can’t tell what the future holds for me;

But I do need you by my side to find out;

Claire:

I must say the let’s pretend game was fun while it lasted;

But it is time to get serious;

I promise to be straight with you;

And I hope you wouldn’t hesitate to be honest with me as well.

Ken:

Let’s never pretend that all is perfect when it isn’t;

I hope my insecurities don’t get in the way;

And neither do yours;

Your imperfections are a part of why I love you;

Because you found a way to love me in spite of my own;

Claire:

Love is no game of pretense.

I love you and I mean it;

Ken:

Let’s not pretend that I love you more.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

23 Comments Add yours

  1. Eleazar Maduka says:

    Nice post!
    Indeed, love is not a game of pretense

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Eleazar. Indeed it is not. Thanks for reading ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This got me smiling and weighing in on my relationship. Love is indeed not a game of pretense.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad you agree, Deb. Have a great day ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jorcil says:

    I like this. Good job

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Jorcil ☺

      Like

  4. Queen JoJo says:

    This was really beautiful ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. fortunate23 says:

    Lol, it was fun reading it 😀😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Esther says:

    Oh I liked this so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yayy! I’m glad😊🙌

      Liked by 1 person

  7. jessicaanderson says:

    I’m laying here in bed reading this and I can’t say enough how much I enjoyed this ❤

    http://forblueskies.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the read, Jessica. Thanks for passing by. 😊

      Like

  8. Oriel Sackey says:

    Oh Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It ain’t a game of pretense.
    Beautiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. joyegeorge says:

    love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Preshylala says:

    this is so beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Papberry says:

    A great one.
    I love it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks! I’m glad you do☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

