Epitome


image

#DailyPost

My father-the epitome of discipline;
Strict and principled to the core;
His life made me understand;
The Bible verse about the Lord
Chastising the ones He loves;
Unpleasant is a huge understatement
Of how it felt growing up;
But looking back;
It was the best way
To experience a father’s love.

My mother-the epitome of selflessness;
Kindhearted and unflinching in faith;
Sacrificing her food, comfort and even healthcare;
So that I would be satisfied, comfortable and healthy;
She sees the best in me
When I can only envision the worst;
She believes I’m stronger than I think;
Even when I’m at my weakest;
My joy, her song of praise;
My pain, her prayer topic;

My brother-the epitome of compassion;
Humble and caring to the core;
A lady’s best friend;
A dude’s true buddy;
And a sibling’s best companion;
Being funny is a natural talent;
Being sweet is inherent;
With a heart of gold;
A blessing he will be
To the woman he will find.

My sister-the epitome of ambition;
Strong-willed and unafraid;
Ready to face life head-on;
She believes she can do all things;
With God by her side;
Residing in a youngster’s body;
But operating with a matured brain;
Generous at heart;
And determined in her mind;
The sky is the only the beginning.

My friends-the epitome of support

Honest and loyal;
Imperfectly perfect;
Awesome gifts
Wrapped in human form;
Accepting and appreciating
Who I am;
And pushing me to be
The best of version
At the same time.

How would someone close
Epitomize you?

© Josephine Amoako 2016

9 Comments Add yours

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you! Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. M'afua Awo Twumwaah says:

    Lovely from me too

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, M’afua. Have a lovely week. ☺

      Like

  2. fortunate23 says:

    U’re surrounded with greatness!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Amen! So are you! 🙌

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

