Swapping Places Chapter 11


 Read Chapter 10 here.

                                 *

Delphine couldn’t shake off the overwhelming feel of Kobbiness from her system. What was he thinking, that he could have them both? The only end to this road is separation from her sister; an outcome she wouldn’t let happen. She should stay away from him. It was the only way to keep her sister’s relationship safe and her sisterhood intact. Her phone vibrated.

Sorry about what happened. Guess I drank a little more than I should. It will never happen again. Clean slate?

She read it without opening the app. She put the phone down and shook her head. Blaming it on the alcohol, huh? She exhaled deeply. She missed Daphne. She had done nothing wrong but she felt a pang of guilt. She didn’t want to come between Daphne and Kobby for sure; but as long as they were an item, she’d have to deal with his presence. What she felt when he was near her didn’t matter.

Seth was a great guy, Daphne was right about that. Maybe she could give him a chance. If Kobby could see she was unavailable, perhaps he’d look away. But what if he didn’t? Was she prepared to go all the way with Seth to prove to him she wasn’t into him?

                                  *

Kobby glanced at his phone again. Why hadn’t she replied? Was she that disgusted by him? For a split second, he thought he felt her warming up to him. This was so messed up. What if she told Daphne? She’d break up with him for sure. He loved Daphne, he knew he did. But with Delphine, she sparked something else in him; something deeper, something beyond words. He had to make up his mind. He didn’t want to be the one to turn the sisters against each other. He had to bury whatever he thought he felt for Del before he ruined everything. His heart skipped a beat when he saw that Delphine had appeared online. But she went offline after two seconds. He sighed and put the phone down. He closed his eyes and tried to sleep but couldn’t.

He called Daphne and after chatting for a while, he felt better and fell asleep.

He moaned into the kiss which made her smile. He looked into her eyes and touched her hair. 

“I love you,” she whispered.


“I love you too, Del.”

His eyes snapped open and rubbed his face. No, she shouldn’t invade his dreams too, he thought. He shouldn’t have kissed her. Now he couldn’t un-feel the touch of her lips. He stopped himself when he started to lick his lips. He sighed as he covered his head with another pillow and groaned.

                                      *

“So how was the party?” Daphne asked curiously. Delphine shrugged as she carefully removed a fish bone from her rice.

“It was all right; nothing extra-o.”

“Yeah, you didn’t enjoy Seth’s company?”

“Oh that I did. He’s cool.”

“Is that a blush I’m seeing? Maybe I should become a professional matchmaker, what do you think?”

“I don’t know if that will thrive here in Ghana.”

“Someone has to set the pace, right? I’ll think about it.” The table became quiet. Delphine was scrolling down her phone screen. Daphne watched her, contemplating whether to ask her the question she had meant to ask.

“What, Daph?”

“Huh?”

“You’re looking at me, I can feel it. Something you want to say?”

“Um…how was Kobby at the party?” Delphine looked at her.

“Just wanted to know if he was flirting with some other girl.”

“And if he was?”

“Well…I don’t know. Was he?”

“Not that I was aware of. My hookup got the best part of my attention.”

“So you two didn’t get to talk much?”

“Just before we sent you the video and a little after your video call. That’s about it.” Delphine stared at her phone as she said this.

“I see.” Delphine put her phone down and faced her sister.

“What are you worried about, Daph? That Kobby hangs out with someone else when you’re not around?”

“Well, he got himself an invite to a banking dinner…what else am I to think?”

“You know he has a lot of friends…you went out of town and hang out with Tash of all people, why can’t he do same?”

“I guess you’re right. I’ve no reason to be insecure.”

“He’s a great guy…your guy, okay?” Delphine said, holding her chin. Daphne smiled.

“How’s your day like tomorrow?”

“I’ll be out of the office for the most part, why?”

“Good…I’m meeting our next client.”

“How many more?” Del asked.

“About six, I think? Why, you want it to end? Don’t worry, even if it does, I’ll get Kobby to supply us a fresh list. You’re not getting rid of me that easily, sis.” Del chuckled.

“You really enjoy doing this, don’t you?”

“I do. I have to follow up with Mr. Siaw too.”

“Okay. Hopefully we won’t clash.”

“Uh huh hopefully.”

                                    *

Kobby came out of a restaurant, holding a smoothie. He glanced at his watch. Almost five. Delphine would soon be leaving work. He had to talk to her and clear things up. He took out his phone and called her number. He was nervous; he felt like he was about to talk with his high school crush. He heard a familiar laughter as he waited for her to pick up. He blinked.

“I must say, you’re my best client ever,” Daphne said.

Kobby called the number again and started walking towards them. He could see her phone on the table in front of her, why wasn’t she picking up?

“Can I give you a ride?” Mr. Siaw offered.

“Hi,” Kobby greeted with a smile. Daphne’s heart skipped. What the hell?

“Hi, Kobby. Just concluded a business meeting. I think I’d have to pass on your offer, Mr. Siaw. We’ll be in touch,” Daphne said, talking in the most natural Delphine voice she could muster.

“Sure. Take care.” He walked away. Daphne sighed.

“Why aren’t you picking my calls?” Kobby sat opposite her, in the seat where Mr. Siaw had just vacated.

“Huh?”

“I was calling you right now.”

“You were?” Daphne took her phone and stared at it. How was she going to explain herself out of this one?”

“Um…”

“Are you avoiding me because of what happened at the party?”

Daphne looked up at him. What was he talking about?

“I don’t know what you mean.”

“I know I went too far. I shouldn’t have…kissed you. It was disrespectful and out of line.” Daphne held her breath and grasped her phone tightly.

“I was missing Daphne and you were there looking just like her and I drank a little more than I should. I’m not trying to excuse what I did. I just want to apologize.”

“Huh…I…I see. Anyway, I hope we can put this behind us. After all, it’s Daphne you really like, right?” Daphne asked, looking him squarely in the eyes.

Kobby hesitated which broke Daphne’s heart. She could feel tears gathering in her eyes.

“Of course. I love her actually.”

“Good. Then I’ll be on my way and I will let Daph know that we bumped into each other,” Daphne said, getting up. Kobby reached out for her wrist before she could walk away.

“I need you to forgive me.” Daphne’s heart was pounding too hard that she was afraid he could hear it.

“I do. It was the alcohol, right? It happens to all of us. See you around, Kobby.” She freed herself out of his grip and walked away.

Kobby watched her walking away. She smelled like Daphne. But why was she meeting with a client? Or did she decide to share her sister’s perfume? She looked more hurt with his apology than relieved. He just didn’t talk to the wrong twin, did he? Oh no…

He took his phone and dialed Daphne’s number. She picked up after the third ring.

“Hey…”

“Hey…what’s up? Haven’t heard from you today.”

“I’m good. Been quite busy today, that’s all.”

“Okay. Good to know. Talk to you later, yeah?”

“Sure. Bye.” The line went dead. Kobby felt more uneasy after the call. There was something wrong. He dialed Delphine’s number.

Daphne sniffed. Oh no, what if he called Del? She thought. She quickly sent her a text.

Delphine’s phone rang.

“Hey…sorry I missed your call earlier…” Delphine said after she had picked it. She glanced at her iPad when it beeped. A text from Daph.

Don’t pick up when Kobby calls.

She froze. What was going on?

“It’s okay…where are you now?” Del’s heart started pounding.

“Sorry…got to go. My boss needs me. Later,” she hang up and sighed.

She called Daphne.

“Daphne, what’s going on?”

“We need to talk, Del.”
© Josephine Amoako 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter. Thanks! ***

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Miss.Kizza says:

    “He loved Daphne, he knew he did. But with Delphine, she sparked something else in him; something deeper, something beyond words. He had to make up his mind. He didn’t want to be the one to turn the sisters against each other.”

    but kooobbbyyyyyy, abeg;define that something that DEL sparks off that Daph doesn`t yet you love daph%#$$%

    part 12 where art thou?hihi

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Will come soon, dearie ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miss.Kizza says:

        waitiiiinnnng patiently

        Like

  2. Why are you tantalizing us so much. I feel like I am on pins and needles.
    Ch. 12 please ASAP! Lovely read.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hehe… Thanks, dear. 😀😘

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Korkor Tee says:

    Yehowaaaaaaa!! This cannot be happening!!! my heart is in my mouth!!Kobby paaaaaa!! ah how can he do this? or even think about it? how can you claim to be attracted to both sisters in supposedly unique ways when you cannot even tell them apart??? Joseyphina kindly drop the next part as a birthday gift to me! *coveringMyEyes

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh it’s your birthday today? I haven’t written it yet ooo! I guess the difference in attraction is with their names lol

      Like

      1. Korkor Tee says:

        My birthday was on 14th. Please write one for me! Kobby has a big problem

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Oh OK… I will….belated happy birthday, Tee🎂🎉🎊

        Like

  4. missjake says:

    Ohmygoodness!!! My heart can’t take this ride!!!!

    Like

  5. iKomusana says:

    Josephina I was about to tweet you today asking where my twins are.
    This is juicy.
    Chapter 12 please!
    .NOW 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh I see… Will get to it, ma’am ☺

      Like

  6. niifakye says:

    too much suspense… bring the next episode already… the girls are about to break a guys heart…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hehe, I hear you, Nii 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. M'afua Awo Twumwaah says:

    Real drama

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… I know, right?

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Shereen says:

    I can’t take Kobby seriously!! ugh! and Daph brought this on herself

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha…. But Kobby still doesn’t know it was the Del he met with the other time… So how is it Daphne’s fault?

      Like

  9. zaram says:

    Ehnnn…the suspense is killing o. Who will Lobby get to be with at the end ??? I can’t wait for chapter 12

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hehe… I don’t know myself 😂

      Like

  10. prinxy says:

    We are waiting Josey…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. prinxy says:

      Chapter 12….

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joseyphina says:

        I hear you, Prinxy

        Liked by 1 person

  11. prinxy says:

    This is an interesting piece (#all piece are interesting).
    You always find a way to keep on suspense…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Awww… Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

