Would You Rather #64: Not be able to Whisper Or not be able to Yell?


So true! (c) bobbiblogger.wordpress.com
So true! 😂 (c) bobbiblogger.wordpress.com

The need to have a functional vocal cord cannot be overrated. The pleasure of humming, whistling, singing, talking, screaming and whispering is priceless. One can tell the helplessness and despair a person feels when he is gagged on our TV screens. To have one’s voice muffled when you’d rather be heard must feel like torture.

There is a time to whisper and a time to yell like any other activity. Not be able to whisper seems to suggest that one has a loud voice and finds it difficult to lower the ‘volume’ when the situation or time calls for it. Not be able to yell on the other hand paints the mental picture of having a hoarse voice where any attempt of speaking loud sounds like one being strangled. Not a pretty picture.

You whisper when you need to pass on some information without catching the attention of a third party. You yell when you need to get someone’s attention urgently. The former seems more of a convenience than a pressing need. The latter is a reaction to panic, frustration or excitement-it is relieving to yell sometimes.

What happens if I can’t whisper? I can write a note and pass it on. What if I can’t yell? I can call or text; most people now pay apt attention to the buzzing of their phones than the mention of their names. But what if there’s no phone around but I need someone to hear me out?

I’m not a yelling person but I’d feel more at peace knowing that I have the ability to do so in a time of emergency. I hardly find myself in a position where I have to whisper so I doubt I’d miss that function that much.

I believe yelling ‘help!’ is more important than getting to whisper, ‘have you seen her dress?’ right? Lol. So I’d rather not be able to whisper.

What do you think? What would you rather not be able to do and why? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter. Thanks!***

***I’d appreciate it if you could fill out this survey. Thank  you.***

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Ganzymalgwi says:

    I rather not be able to yell.

    Like

  2. Mandy says:

    Before reading the post, I had already decided on which one to lose and that’s not being able to whisper. All the points I was going to raise are already in your post. 👏👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh great! Thanks for reading, dear☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Carrie Willard says:

    Goodness, now I don’t know! I would want to be able to yell if a car was about to hit my child… and if I couldn’t whisper, I suppose I could still write a note or use signs or something… but yelling might save a life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yes, I think so too. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Carrie

      Like

  4. crystalfoose says:

    I tend to get severe laryngitis when I get a cold and I hate it! Most of the time I whisper could probably go without being said at all or just with a look. I NEED to be able to yell.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Sorry about that. Yelling is a necessity lol. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Crystal ☺

      Like

  5. cigarman501 says:

    I was a coach and teacher for over forty years, I tried whispering and it just didn’t work.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Can imagine…. ☺

      Like

  6. I would rather not be able to whisper.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  7. Years ago when my family was together, my older cousin used to whisper a lot to her children, her hand cupped over their ears so no one else heard. She was actually giving them corrections and reprimands, a chance to shape up without being shamed in front of others. It was beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      To prevent them being yelled at in public. Great!

      Like

  8. Joye says:

    I agree, I think I would be so frustrated if I couldn’t yell when I really wanted to. lol

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Never even thought about this, but it’s an interesting question.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

