Would You Rather #63: Be Homeless or Be a Slave? 


(c) asriran.com

What is liberty if you’re homeless and what is shelter if you’re a slave?

Shelter or refuge is a basic human need. We all need it to survive. Without it, chances of achieving any higher goals are little to none. Till you have a place to return to, with a roof above your head, there’s no point in trying to acquire anything since you’d have nowhere to keep it. 

To be a free man is priceless.  To have one’s will to do whatever he wants no matter how impoverished he may be would feel more satisfying than being the slave of the richest in the land. Slaves are treated less humanely than servants. A slave doesn’t know what fate lies ahead of him as he lies down to sleep.

A homeless thinks of what to do to make life better for himself. A slave thinks about what to do to remain in his master’s good graces; his mental faculty, energy and everything else is at the service and pleasure of the master. A slave may get to eat the crumbs off the master’s table; the homeless might be offered food by a charitable person or work hard enough to afford any meal of his choice.

No one can tell who is homeless by day since we’re all going about our business. It is only by night that one can identify them. But no one need to introduce a slave to you before you recognize him/her.  They are identifiable both day and night. The homeless gets to enjoy his dignity as a free man just like everyone else. The slave is deprived of his dignity to be his own man.

The homeless is miserable at night; the slave is miserable around the clock. Regardless of how generous the master may be, the fact that his mood at a point directly influences your fate is a sorry state to be in. 

I pray never to be homeless; but to think of being someone’s slave is abhorrent. I’d rather choose to be homeless-at least I decide where to lay down my head. A slave has no choice but to sleep in a pit if that’s what the master orders. No one was born to be a slave to another.

What do you think? Which one would you rather be and why? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2017

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter. ***

32 Comments Add yours

  1. Jeni G.J says:

    Same as yours.I can have peaceful sleep some nights.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Jeni. And have a lovely week ☺

      Liked by 3 people

  2. gracelarbi says:

    Hhehehehhehehehheeee gal! this is really a tough one, like being between the deep blue sea and the hard rock…each way no lie.
    Hmmmm well with the way you wrote I think you in a way you tuned our mind in one direction: but I tell you being out there, homeless can be real tough. You may be free willed in the true sense as a homeless person, but what is free will with lack of basics in life?
    Meanwhile on the other hand, a slave who has a good Master could equally change his status when he has served well. So for me its neither here nor there, but if you ask me who knows that hard work no dey kill …I will be a slave and pray to have a good master who would give me good leverage and give myself time to move on and be on my on. Meanwhile don’t forget that also being a slave is in your mind!!

    Cheers.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      You’re right. A good master may change a slave’s status. But why would a good person keep a slave in the first place? There’s a difference between a slave and a servant..

      Liked by 2 people

  3. McApple says:

    I would rather be none! Hahaha.
    Tough one.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha.. I know 😂

      Liked by 2 people

  4. I’d rather be homeless too. The options are limited, but they’d still be my own options instead of someone else’s.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      My thoughts exactly. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

      Like

  5. Mandy says:

    I agree with you.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading, dear ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mandy says:

        You’re welcome 😊

        Liked by 2 people

  6. perroneregmailcom says:

    Homeless can CHOOSE to change, a slave’s choices have been stripped from them. I would rather choose to be better then to be told to be no better. Great Article!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I like that! Thanks for sharing your insight.

      Like

  7. Irene says:

    I would much prefer to be homeless. I would have freedom. I could never trust anyone who enslaves me. It would be hard to be homeless, but it would be much worse to have someone force you to do their bidding and help enrich their life with no real thought about yours.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree with you, Irene. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  8. This one is a hard one…I think I would rather be homeless because you can utilize other resources, whereas if you are a slave, then you will more than likely would not be able to change your situation.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Sure…. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  9. mohamadkarbi says:

    I liked the idea. Unfortunately, a lot of us are slaves in their lives whether we admit it or not. However, it’s still your heart the indicator. If one’s heart is enslaved then there is no escape and no hope!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hmmm…. That is true and it is the most pitiable state to be in. Thanks for sharing your insight, Mohammed and have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I would so much rather be homeless. The thought of being owned by another human being sounds worse than death. It is so sad that slavery is still around. Breaks my heart!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      It is indeed heartbreaking. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks… God bless you too.

      Like

  11. But where is the part 3 of love without eyes kindly post it to me I just saw ur blog and I love your stories .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      There isn’t any part 3. I thought of continuing after editing but never got to it. Sorry about that. But thanks for reading. Glad you enjoyed it

      Liked by 1 person

  12. fantasyduke says:

    This is such a powerful question & post. .it’s just very much saddening that a Lot of individuals are caught in between this phenomenon. .Modern day Slavery & Unequal globalization must be tackled. .Amazing Write Up!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you for reading ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  13. There is no freedom in homelessness, death breathes down your neck mercilessly. Unless you can find a good place to hide, you are beholden to whatever the public at large wishes upon you. They are equally despicable conditions for a human soul and body, but as a slave, there would be only one master to answer to as opposed to the countless throngs in the public space who will tell the homeless person they have no right to life, no value, no place. Tough question. I would choose the one that allowed me the most opportunity to live and fight another day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Interesting perspective…. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Melissa☺

      Like

  14. Elorm Yankah says:

    This is a really tough one… I think I would go with being homeless. But I’m not 100% sure because there are some good arguments for being a slave too. Ok I change my mind. I choose none! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… I know the feeling 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

