Technology Tag -How Much Of Social Media Do You Use?  


(c) shawacademy.com

#TheBlogTag

I found the questions below addressing one’s use of social media and I found them interesting. Hopefully by the end of the last question, I can judge for myself if I’m making good use of social media or not. I encourage you to make this inventory too. Let’s go!

1. How many times a day do you check social media?

Quite a lot. Since I follow a number of group threads on Facebook, I receive a lot of notifications which I must attend to. And whenever I feel bored, it is one of my go-to places to find some interesting reads.

 

2. Which is your favorite social media platform?

To name just one is difficult for me. I like the ones I patronize because they complement each other and I get to discover different creatives and reads across platforms. Facebook for interacting with friends (old, distant and making new ones); Twitter for discovering and engaging with mostly other African bloggers; Instagram for reading poems and quotes from writers from all over the world and Pinterest for blogging tips, writing prompts and mouth-watering recipes.

 

3. How much data/Wi-Fi do you spend a month?

About 9 Gb. What?😨

 

4. Have you made any long lasting friendships online?

Not yet. There’s a limit to how far things go with online friends.

 

5. How many times a day do you post on Instagram, Twitter or Facebook?

I hardly post on  Facebook  or  Twitter  unless I’m sharing my posts. For  Instagram, maybe twice a week.

 

6. Do you snap?

Nope. I’m not a video person. I haven’t found use for Snapchat yet.

 

7. Do you always have your phone with you?

Most of the time, yes. It’s an extension of my hand and head, I think. Lol

 

8. Who would you trust with your passwords?

My siblings.

 

9. Do you use social media as a business tool?

Not yet.

 

10. How careful are you on social media?

Very. If it’s one thing I’ve come to realize, it’s that social media/internet doesn’t forget. Whatever you post in anger or haste could come back to haunt you. So whenever I feel like venting online, I pause and think of how relevant that post is and if I would feel proud of myself an hour, day or year later. If it’s a no, I keep my sentiments to myself. The same is with commenting on someone else’s post. The best I can do is react to a post and scroll down.

 

11. Do you google everything?

For what I don’t know or not sure of, yes. It’s safer to be sure of some rumor or information.

 

12. Is your mom/dad on Facebook?

Nope.

 

13. Do you get your news on social media or from an online news platform?

Both but I make sure to verify it from an online news platform.

 

14. Do you have Pinterest? What do you use it for?

Yes I do (find me here). I use it to discover writing/blogging resources, writing prompts and recipes.

 

15. Do you have a Myspace account?

I remember creating one years ago but I guess I never activated it. Because I tried signing in a couple of years after its creation, it didn’t work and I didn’t bother creating a new one.

 

16. Do you follow trends you see online?

Fashion, no. Writing, I read them and pick the ones I find relevant.

 

17. Have you ever made something by following a blog post or YouTube video?

I have tried my hands on some tips provided by some blogging pros. Not yet for YouTube.

 

18. Who are your favorite Instagram users?

Every creative person is my favorite user on Instagram. Very inspiring world out there.

 

19. Do you remember your first email address?

Yep. It’s what I’m using now.

 

20. Do you use Skype and how often do you video call?

I have an account but I hardly use it. I’m yet to do a successful video call without network hitches.

 

Quick Fire

1. Text vs Call– Text.

2. Facebook vs Twitter-Twitter. I find it more engaging.

3. Cellphone vs tablet– Cellphone. Not too conspicuous.

4. Instagram vs Snapchat– Instagram.

5. WordPress or Blogger– WordPress all the way! How else would I have found all of you?

 

Hope you enjoyed the post. So far, I think I’m using social media fairly well but there’s always room for improvement. What about you? Care to try your hands on it? I’d love to read!

Thanks for reading.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter here. Thanks. ***

 

36 Comments Add yours

  1. Jo Smith says:

    I can relate to most of these! I also use Pinterest, don’t have Snapchat, use technology a lot, and neither of my parents have Facebook!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      We share more than a name then☺

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Man I can relate so much to this! It’s crazy how much we use compared to even 5 years ago!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? It has almost become a necessity to live.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. seriously. And like I’d love to call it quits, but I have family all over the states and social media is like how we all stay in touch cause traveling isn’t so easy

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        It’s convenient and resourceful. It all depends on how we use it.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jess Wen says:

    I love your answer to WordPress or Blogger haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ufuomaee says:

    I might give this a go 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      You certainly should! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Laidig says:

    I love this. Made me compare Present Me to Past Me – ten years ago, I wouldn’t say I was glued to social media but in comparison to now, I was all over the ones at the time (less Instagram, more Bebo, ha). Simply not that interested these days. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading, Laidig. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Peta says:

    Def going to give this some thought

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s great 👍

      Like

  7. Debs says:

    I love the way others use their Pinterest account. I have one and I’m not sure I remember my username/password. I’d try my hands on it again.

    I used to be a twitter addict too but suddenly lost interest.

    Instagram and Snapchat is still my thing!

    I enjoyed the post, thanks for sharing

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading, Debs ☺

      Liked by 2 people

  8. I might give this a go too, LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. michelle says:

    This was definitely a good read. I need a break from social media soon. I’m just trying to reach 10k followers on Instagram, so I can begin my influencer promotions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh OK…. All the best with that👍

      Like

  10. Mandy says:

    Interesting. I’ll see if I can do a post on this

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yay! Will be glad to read yours😊

      Liked by 1 person

  11. From November to December I just 28 gb of data (Wi-Fi & mobile data) on my cell phone alone.
    lol it’s only a problem if you admit it right? 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Wow… Haha… I guess.😂 Thanks for sharing! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your article was a good read. Thank you for taking the time to put it together. Happy New Year

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Thanks a lot for passing by. Happy new year to you too! ☺

        Liked by 1 person

  12. We have a lot in common when it comes to social media as well. I do like Facebook the most though because I find it the easiest to use and have been using it for a long time. Instagram would come in close second now that I’ve got a hang of it and enjoy it more. Myspace, does anyone even use Myspace nowadays? Is it even a website anymore? lol I had one when I was a teenager but traded it out for Facebook I think when I was 19-20.

    Like

  13. These are some really interesting answers! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  14. SheldaRay says:

    This is an interesting tag! When answering the questions I realized that I use social media mostly when I’m bored or as a business tool. In my opinion, going on a social media fast is a great way to get refocused on the things that matter most. I’ve gone on a few social media hiatus this year and I always felt refocused afterwards!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I see… Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Shelda ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I can relate on almost every answer – except Instagram. I don’t have one 🙂 I like your Pinterest boards 😀 Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice, thanks for checking it out! Happy New Year in advance!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Happy New Year to you too! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  16. Pingback: MandieTalks Avenue

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

