Swapping Places Chapter 8


(c) GettyImages

Read Chapter 7 here

                                 *                                    

Delphine’s phone vibrated. She opened her eyes. It was Daphne calling.

“Yeah?”

“Come outside. Someone wants to say hi.”

“Huh?”

“Come outside before I come and drag you out of your bed, sleepy head.” She ended the call. Delphine groaned. She hated having her nap interrupted. She pulled herself out of bed, splashed water on her face and wiped it. She went outside. 

“There she is!” Daphne said. She and Kobby were leaning against his car.

“Hey…oh gosh, I look terrible,” Delphine said, covering her face. Kobby laughed. He walked to her and hugged her. Delphine gave her sister a curious look. Daphne shrugged.

“How’s work? Is your bank killing you yet?” Daphne laughed.

“I got you the list of some people who would like to meet you, Delphine.” He took it out of his back pocket and stretched it towards her. He pulled his hand back when Delphine attempted to take it.

“On one condition.”

“You too?” Kobby glanced at Daphne.

“I have no idea what she means by that,” Daphne said, feigning ignorance.

“The three of us get to hang out this weekend.”

“Um…if Daph is okay with it….”

“Of course I am. It would be fun. We could play a little game,” Daphne said with a wink.

“So what do you say? Do we have a deal?” Kobby asked. 

“Sure. You’d owe me another client every moment you mistake me for her,” Delphine said.

“Wow…that’s a challenge. I accept.” They shook hands.

“Thanks, Kobby. I really appreciate it.”

“Anything for my sweetheart here,” he said with a glance at Daphne who smiled.

“Never break up with him, Daph. I need him to secure my job,” Delphine said jokingly. They all laughed.

“Yes ma’am.”

“It’s always a pleasure spending time with you sweetheart but I’ve got to run.” He hugged Daphne and kissed her cheek.

“Be safe.”

‘I will. Dream about me.”

“I will.” Kobby turned to look at Delphine.

“Do you two share dreams?”

“Seriously? We are not telepathic,” Delphine said.

“One can never tell with twins.” The twins chuckled.

“Goodnight, Kobby.”

“You too, Del. Looking forward to this weekend.” He sat in his car. Daphne put her arm around Delphine’s neck. They both waved at him.

“Who’s who now?” They laughed.

“Get out of here.” He chuckled and drove away. 

“Wow….that’s quite a number,” Delphine said, staring at the list.

“Uh huh. Hope you don’t forget our deal.”

“How can I?” They went inside the house.

                                  *

Daphne entered Delphine’s room as she was changing out of her work clothes.

“I got you something!”

“Yeah? What is it?”

“Perfume.” She sprayed a little on her wrist and brought it close to Delphine’s nose. She smelled it.

“Smells nice. But it smells more like you. Why would you buy me your fragrance?”

“Kobby likes it.”

“Okay…it still doesn’t answer my question.”

“I figured we should wear the same perfume on our night out. It’d make his trying to figure us out more challenging for him. It’d be fun messing with him.”

“Why do I have to wear your scent? Why not mine?”

“Because Kobby is my boyfriend and not yours.” Delphine sighed.

“I knew this was a bad idea. I don’t think I should go.”

“Of course you’re going. You gave him your word and you must honor it. He gave you a list of potential clients, remember?”

“Of course I do. But doing this…”

“Kobby is very curious. I’m pretty sure he wants to see us together and study us. I can’t allow him to tell us apart, Del. It will threaten any future plans we may have of swapping places.”

“Future plans? Who said there would be any?”

“I know I kind of overreacted the last time but I’m over it. I promise not to do so anymore.”

“Nope. I’m never doing that again.”

“Are you saying no to your twin sister?” Daphne put on her puppy face, pouting her lips.

“I got you this gift from the bottom of my heart. Rejecting it will break my heart.” Delphine took the perfume from her. Daphne hugged her and gave her a loud kiss on the cheek.

“Ei, I was frying plantain. Oh no, I’m sure I’ve burnt them. Mum will kill me!” Daphne rushed out of the room. Delphine chuckled, shaking her head.
“Let me guess…Panyin fried this. Sometimes, I can’t help but fear for your husband. What can you cook for him?”

“Mum…they were perfect ooo…I got a little distracted.”

“Of course you were. When have you ever not been in the kitchen? I wonder what your kids would eat.”

“Don’t worry, mama; their Aunty Delphine would take care of them.” Daphne laughed when her mother shook her head.

“But seriously, mum, I’ll surprise you one of these days. I’ll cook a meal for you that you’ll never forget.”

“That I know. Whether it would be a good memory or not, that is the question.”

“Have some faith in me, mama.” She hugged her from behind and kissed her cheek.

“Leave me alone!” Daphne held her tighter.

“Say I’m the best daughter in the world.”

“You and your sister are all I have. Of course you’re best in the world to me.”

“Oh mama!”

“But seriously, you need to up your game, Panyin. You should be the one teaching Kakra, not Kakra coming to your rescue.”

“Yes, mum.” She pulled her cheek. Doreen smiled. She opened the rice cooker. The rice was ready. Doreen told Daphne to bring out the plates so she would start dishing out the food. Delphine entered the kitchen.

“Good evening, mum,” Delphine greeted and hugged her sideways.

“Good evening, my dear. How was work?”

“Okay…you?”

“Okay…almost lost a patient but God was good.”

“Wow…hope he’s good now.”

“It’s a she and yes, she’s better.” Delphine rubbed her mother’s back in consolation.

                                   *

Late Saturday afternoon, it was Doreen who let Kobby into the house when he knocked on the door. 

“Good afternoon, ma,” he greeted politely when she opened the door.

“Good afternoon, young man. You must be Kobby, Daphne’s friend.”

“Yes please.”

“Oh nice to finally meet you. I was told you were taking both of them out today.”

“Yes.” She gestured for him to sit down.

“Be careful with those two. They will play games with you.” Kobby chuckled. Daphne came out of her room.

“What is mum saying?”

“She’s saying that I should take care of her two beautiful daughters,” Kobby said. He glanced at Doreen who smiled at him. She went into her room.

“Hi dear, I’m done. I’m sure Del is almost ready. I’ll go and check on her. Do you want anything to drink whiles you wait?”

“No, I’m good. Thanks.”

“Okay; I’ll be right back.” She walked away. Kobby looked around the living room. The walls were decorated with hung family portraits and photos of the twins. He watched them closely. He wondered if their father could tell them apart. He had seen twins before and there were mostly some slight differences but with these two, they were the carbon copy of each other. But he was determined to figure them out. Why he was so interested, he wasn’t so sure but he knew he had to. 

He turned his head when the twins walked in. They were both in blue dresses with similar accessories.

“So how do we look? I made up her face just like I did mine,” Daphne said proudly.

“You two aren’t going to make it easy for me, are you?”

“Not a chance. But you can still make us out.”

“How?”

“It’s all in the details,” Delphine said. Kobby stood. Daphne called out her mum. When she didn’t come out, Daphne went into her room to say goodbye.

“Delphine,” Kobby said. She smiled and nodded.

“You see, you’re doing well already.”

“That’s because you haven’t started the game yet.” She laughed.

“I suppose so. Wait for it; you might enjoy it.”

“Oh I intend to.” Daphne walked in.

“We can leave now.”

“Don’t I have to say goodbye to your mother first?” Kobby asked.

“She said you should bring us back by her bedtime.”

“Which is?”

“There’s no particular time.”

“So…” They laughed.

“Just messing with you. She’s occupied, that’s why she couldn’t come out.”

“Okay.” They went outside and Kobby pressed his key button, unlocking the doors. Daphne sat in front whiles Delphine sat at the back. Kobby drove off.

They all chatted about the issues heard over the radio and even sang along some of the tunes played. But after a while, Delphine took to her phone and left the conversation. Kobby looked at her through the mirror. Delphine was biting down on her lower lip as she scrolled down her phone screen.

“You good back there?” he asked. She looked up and their eyes met in the mirror. She smiled.

“Yeah.” Daphne laughed and turned.

“Del, look at this,” she said, showing her a friend’s upload on Snapchat.

“Seriously? Some people need to get a life,” Delphine said.

“Like you have one.”

“Hey…” She sat back and sighed.

“When is the show supposed to start again?”

“5pm. Hopefully, traffic will have mercy on us.”

                               *

They arrived at the National Theatre. After they have had their tickets checked out, Kobby stood aside and gestured with his hand, “Ladies…” Daphne smiled and entered. Delphine followed. She startled when she felt his hand on her waist. Did he think she was Daphne? Thankfully, he removed his hand a few seconds later.

They sat down; Daphne sitting in the middle. A few minutes after they had settled in amidst little chatter and laughter, Daphne’s phone rang. She got up.

“Whoa…it’s one of my clients. Excuse me, I’ll have to take it outside,” she said and got up. Delphine’s eyes followed her out of the door. She wondered who it was. She hoped it wasn’t Mr. Siaw. She didn’t want her sister trapped in a deceitful web on her account.

“So…any boyfriend?” Kobby asked.

“Huh?” She asked, breaking her out of her thoughts.

“Seeing someone?”

“No…why do you ask?”

“Oh wanted to meet him and you know, compare notes,” he said with a chuckle. Delphine laughed.

Daphne laughed with more abandon than her, he observed. But he also liked the sound of her laughter. 

“Hopefully soon, you will.” When Daphne returned, Kobby got up from his seat and sat on Daphne’s.

When they both looked at him curiously, he said, “How else would people know I came with both of you? It’s an honor I must enjoy to the fullest so I’d rather sit here.” Daphne shook her head and sat at his place. 

Kobby turned to smile at Delphine but she avoided his gaze and stared at her phone instead. He felt a pang of hurt at that gesture but he brushed it away. He hoped he didn’t make her feel uncomfortable.

“Del, bring your head for a selfie,” Daphne said, holding her phone at arm’s length. A breeze of fragrance rushed past Kobby’s nostrils. They were wearing the same perfume. Was that intentional or was it the norm between them?”

“Show your teeth!” When Kobby and Delphine chuckled, she tapped the Capture button.

When the play started, Daphne wound her arm around his. After the audience’s first roar of laughter, Daphne leaned forward and spoke across Kobby to Delphine. Apparently, it was an incident peculiar to them. Kobby held Daphne’s hand, intertwining their fingers. He turned to Daphne and she was smiling like a little girl. Gosh, he loved that smile. He leaned forward and planted a kiss on her nose. 

After the play ended, Kobby asked them if they enjoyed it. They both said they did.

“Thanks for bringing us here. I really needed to laugh,” Delphine said. 

“It was nice to hear you laugh.” The smile on Delphine’s face froze. Why was he looking at her like that?

“I guess it’s time to head back home, isn’t that right, Daph?”

“Go home? The night is still young! Babe, isn’t there any other place we can hang out?” Daphne asked Kobby.

“I know of a club…”

“Oh no…no clubs,” Delphine cut in, shaking her head.

“Why not, Del? This is officially the first time we’re hanging out together since we came back. You do remember our club nights back in the UK, don’t you?”

“You two used to club together?” Kobby asked, interested.

“Oh yeah…”

“Delphine doesn’t look like club girl,” he said, staring at her.

“She’s not. I’m just a bad influence on her sometimes. But when she does and she loosens up, boy…you should see her. So much fun to be around. Isn’t that right, twinnie?”

“I’m not going to the club.”

“Come on, you’re not going to make me beg, are you?” Daphne said with a pout.

“Just an hour…I have to take you home for mum to tuck you in, remember?” Kobby said. Delphine chuckled.

“Fine, one hour.”

“Yay! We’re going to dance!” They got out of their seats and left the building.

                                 *

“Whoa…I love the music already!” Daphne said as they entered the B&B nightclub. 

“I hope you have your dance groove on,” she said to Kobby, giving him a wink. He chuckled and drew her closer to him.

“I wouldn’t bring you here if I didn’t have it.”

“Okay…game on! You owe me a dance too, sis.”

“I don’t think I do.”

“Let’s get a drink.” She raised her hand. Delphine checked the time on her phone and sighed. She missed her bed.

“In a hurry to leave already? Are we such poor company?” Kobby asked.

“Oh of course not. Forgive me.” She put her phone in her bag. 

“Kobby, what would you have? I’ve ordered for myself and Del. I know what will put her in the mood.”

Delphine shook her head. The barman placed two glasses in front of Daphne and she gave one to her sister. Delphine stared at it suspiciously.

“It’s not poison.”

“Hope so.”

“Cheers.” They both sipped.

“Not bad,” Delphine said.

“You see? You should trust me more,” Daphne said with a satisfied smile. Kobby took his drink.

“So what should we toast to?” He asked.

“To life and love.” Their glasses clinked. 

“Ready to dance, my love?”

“Sure.”

“Watch over our drinks, will you? And psyche yourself for a dance,” Daphne said with a wink as she pulled Kobby from his stool. There were quite a number of people on the dance floor. Delphine sipped her drink slowly as she watched them dance. She smiled, seeing how happy her sister was. It is a good feeling to be in love, she thought. Kobby lifted his head and their eyes met. Delphine smiled and raised her glass. He smiled back and kissed Daphne on her temple, keeping his eye on her. Delphine took her phone and unlocked the screen. When were they going home?

She almost startled when Daphne out of the blue snatched her phone from her.

“Oh…I was in the middle of a…”

“I don’t care…can I have this dance?” she said, holding her hand.

“Go dance with your boy.”

“He’s had his dance…I’m left with yours. I’m not leaving here since I get here. So if you want to go home early, you better not waste time.” Delphine sighed and got up. She gestured to be given back her phone.

“Nope. Guard it with your life,” she said to Kobby, handing it over to him. He nodded as he took his glass.

The dance floor was less crowded now. It gave Kobby a very good view. He watched them warm up to the music and then start dancing. He was taken in by the view. They fascinated him, those two. They were like two sides of a coin. They were incredible in their individual rights but together, they were absolutely amazing. 

He could hear their laughter as they tried to go down to the Chainsmokers’ ‘Don’t Let Me Down’ song. Now he couldn’t tell who was who. They were one…split in two. He loved Daphne but couldn’t help that he was feeling drawn to Delphine too. Was it because she looked like her? He could watch them like this for eternity. 

It was a fantasy to want to have them both but a part of him wished it. Maybe if they were to be living in the days of old, it would have been possible. Delphine’s phone vibrated in his hand. It was Mum calling.

Oops…his time was up.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

***Kindly subscribe to my newsletter here.  ***

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Mhmm I love reading Swapping Places…. my wish is for kobby to be with both of them… lol I really love it

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      With both? Lol… One would definitely get hurt…. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Tebogo. Merry Christmas!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yeah one would get hurt lol but the idea of it is actually fun
        and
        Merry Christmas
        Enjoy take care and keep writing
        🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      2. joseyphina says:

        Thanks dear☺😘

        Liked by 1 person

  2. zaram says:

    Hmmm….I sense something big cooking up….Kobby wants to be an oliver twist Abi?
    Let’s see how this plays out….
    I can’t wait to see what happens next

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oliver Twist… Haha…. Thanks for reading, dear😁

      Liked by 2 people

      1. zaram says:

        😁…You are always welcome

        Liked by 2 people

  3. iKomusana says:

    Best Christmas gift ever.
    I hope we can get to chapter 9 before 2017..
    I love it
    Thank you for writing

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, dear. I hope so too. Merry Christmas! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  4. prinxy says:

    …. Just waiting for next chapter

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Korkor Tee says:

    I just knew Kobby would be able to identify the subtle differences between them! I hope he doesn’t feign ignorance to do them both! Oh lawdddd Daphne will NOT forgive should that happen!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… I know, right?

      Like

  6. Miss.Kizza says:

    If wishes were horses,lobby would have both sisters.intrigued

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… I know, right? 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miss.Kizza says:

        So near yet so far……

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

