Swapping Places Chapter 5


(c) Getty Images.

Read Chapter 4 here

                                     *

Delphine checked her phone every ten seconds. How was Daphne doing? Had she been caught? Was she fumbling at the meetup? Was she being hauled to a jail cell? Why wasn’t she texting her back?! She knew this was a bad idea. She knew this wouldn’t end well. They were both going to end up behind bars and not after getting a good whooping from their mother. Whoa, just the thought of her mother’s reaction made her shudder. 

She sat up, startled when her door pushed open.

“You’re home early, Kakra,” her mother said.

“Yes; left the office early.”

“Where’s Panyin?”

“Um…she texted me that she’d be in soon.”

“Okay. What are we having for supper?”

“What would you like to eat?”

“I don’t know ooo…Let’s check out what’s in the fridge.”

“Yes, mum.” She closed the door. Delphine checked her phone again and sighed.

The door opened as she got up from the bed.

“Daphne! You got me sick with worry! Why weren’t you texting me back?”

“Because you were just being annoying. I said I would handle it, didn’t I?”

“So how did it go?”

“How do you think it went?” Daphne handed a file to her. She opened it hastily and gaped.

“He signed it?”

“Of course he did. When has a guy ever refused my request?”

“Oh Daph, thank you!” She hugged her.

“I can’t believe this! I owe you 50% of my allowance.”

“No, thank you. I’m sure the ‘end-of-business tip’ he gave me would be more than your commission or whatever.”

“He gave you money?”

“Oh yes; apparently, I impressed him very much and he looks forward to doing more business with me.”

“Way to go, girl!” She gave her a hi-five.

“Wow…how did you do it?”

“A girl needs not share her secrets. If she does, she loses her relevance,” she said with a wink.

“Huh. I can’t believe you did it, Daph. I hear he’s a hard man to please.”

“And I’m too hot to refuse.” She took her sister’s hand and shook it.

“It was nice doing business with you, Ms. Coleman.”

“The pleasure is all mine, Ms. Coleman.”
                                   *

Delphine’s boss was excited about Delphine signing on Mr. Abbey as a client. She had mixed feelings as her boss went on and on about Delphine’s impressive work to her colleagues. Thank God for look-alikes, she thought. 

                                  *

Kobby noticed Daphne was happier than usual; in a very good mood that intrigued him.

“I can see my baby girl is very excited. Care to share the news?” Daphne wound her arms around his neck and he did the same around her waist.

“It’s not about me actually.”

“It’s not? Then who is it?”

“My sister.”

“Delphine? Why, what’s up?”

“She landed an important client and she’s excited about it. I don’t know why but I feel same.”

“Is it some emotional bond you share?”

“Yeah, you could say that. When she’s happy, so am I. When I’m sad, so is she.”

“So if I do this, will she feel it too?” He asked and kissed her forehead. Daphne giggled.

“I’m not sure about that.”

“Maybe we should test that theory, what do you say?”

“No way.” He kissed her on both cheeks which got her giggling the more.
                                   *
Daphne was watching a telenovela on TV with half-interest as she picked pop-corn from a bowl on her lap and popped them into her mouth. She turned her head when the front door open.

“And the banker arrives,” she said. Delphine sat down with a sigh and put her head on her shoulder.

“Hectic, huh?”

“This traffic will be the end of me. In fact, I need a car.”

“Don’t you have access to car loans?”

“I’m allergic to loans.”

“Then hang in there.” Delphine took a popcorn and chewed on it.

“You can’t imagine how excited my boss was when I informed him about Mr. Abbey. I was his case study for his pep talk today. I didn’t know whether to feel proud or guilty.”

“Guilty for what?”

“For not being the one who actually took on Mr. Abbey.”

“Come on Del; do you know how many people wish they had a look-alike? Be thankful for the gift you have and use it to your advantage. Don’t feel guilty for what you have. So, you have someone else to target?”

“Yep; actually, the meetup is tomorrow.” Daphne sat up, interested.

“Okay, can I…?”

“Nope,” Del quickly replied, cutting her off. “I think I can handle this by myself. Besides, between the both of us, I’m the better choice.”

“What makes you think so?”

“Because she’s a woman.”

“Oh, then you can have her. I don’t like sucking up to women with titles. They are a pain in the butt.”

“Yep; but luckily, I’m good with such women.”

“Of course you are; you have the good girl look. The women like that. It reminds them of the daughters-in-law they don’t have or are hoping for.” Delphine laughed.

“But seriously, I appreciate what you did for me with Mr. Abbey. I owe you.”

“If I were to be recording everything I’ve done for you, you’ll not feel like my sister anymore but a debtor and I don’t want that. You’re my sister and you owe me nothing. But that doesn’t mean you should refuse any favors I might ask of you.”

“Aha! So I do owe you to some extent.”

“Nope; just favors we exchange as sisters. Nothing about owing anyone.”

“I hear you.”

“But come to think of it, you do great at this work. Why not apply for a position and let daddy help out?”

“Nope; I don’t like to be confined to the 8 to 5 routine. But playing the part of a bank marketer as a part-time gig does add spice to my already flavored life,” Daphne said.

“And who said this is going to be a part-time gig?” Delphine asked. Daphne glanced at her.

“We’ll see then.”
                                  *

A week later, Daphne was in a bad mood. She sulked the whole weekend and nothing Delphine tried to cheer her up seemed to be working. She said it wasn’t about Kobby; they weren’t fighting. And it wasn’t the time of the month either.

“I can’t believe you’re still in bed, eyes and fingers glued to your phone,” Del said when she entered her room on Monday evening.

“I’m just bored, that’s all.”

“Why, not getting enough work?”

“Work is all right; just not feeling like myself.”

“And Kobby therapy isn’t working either?”

“He’s been quite busy. I don’t want to distract him with my hormonal issues.”

“Anything I can do to cheer you up?”

“Sing me a lullaby.”

“Haha. I think I have exactly what you need to get you in a good mood.” Delphine pulled out a card.

Daphne gave it a sideway glance and took it from her.

“What is this about?”

“The next big man on my list. Care to be me one more time?”

A smile crept up Daphne’s face. “I’d love that.”
                                    *

This time, Delphine didn’t freak out about Daphne. She knew Daphne was born for this line of work. She wondered if they had swapped careers. Maybe Daphne should have working at the bank, not her. Maybe they were fated to live each other’s lives; enter and leave at will just like changing clothes. 

Daphne on the other hand, was super excited about her new assignment. She was glad to be back in the game. She hummed to herself as she made up her face. She was going to make Delphine one of the best in her bank. And she was going to enjoy her life as a double agent. She could easily work as a banker as well but it was more fun this way. She loved her life.
Mr. Siaw watched Daphne keenly as she went on about the bank’s unique products and services. She paused when he touched her hand. He smiled at her.

“I think you’ve convinced me enough, Ms. Coleman. How about we get some dessert?”

Daphne smiled. “That would be nice.” Her phone vibrated. Not again, Del, she thought with a groan as she took the phone. Her heart jumped when she saw that it was Kobby calling. Oh no, she had totally forgotten.

“Could you excuse me for a minute, please? I need to pick up this call.”

“Sure; go ahead.”

“Thank you.” She got up and walked to the restroom. She answered the call.

“Hey babe.”

“Hi sweetheart; I’m about leaving the office. Are you on your way?”

“Um…yeah; might arrive a little late though. Was held up for a while.”

“Okay, sure; can’t wait to see you, love.”

“Can’t wait to see you too. Take care.” She ended the call. She stomped her foot. How could she have forgotten about her date with Kobby? She called Delphine. She knew she would be cross with her but she had no choice.

“Daph, everything okay?” Delphine asked when she picked up.

“Yeah, it’s going well. Something has come up and I need a favor.”

“Okay, what is it?”

“Are you at the office?”

“Nah; left not too long ago. Why, what’s up?”

“The thing is, I was supposed to meet Kobby today. It totally escaped me.”

“Oh okay; don’t worry. I’ll meet you in the restroom and we’ll swap places. Just let him know you’d be a little late,” Delphine said.

“Oh no, that won’t work. I’m supposed to meet him in an hour. Waiting for you to get here and then meeting him amidst the heavy traffic would be impossible. You’d have to meet him.”

“What?”

“I know; it sounds crazy but that’s the only way. Mr. Siaw seems impressed but I don’t want to rush him. It would take some time.”

“So let me come and take over then and go meet your boyfriend.”

“You’d jeopardize everything if we switch, Del. You said you don’t want to ‘compromise’ to get things done, right? Luckily for me, I’m not compromising on anything. Let me handle this. Go and meet Kobby. It’s no big deal.”

“No big deal? This is your boyfriend we’re talking about here! What if he finds out? He would be hurt.”

“What if Mr. Siaw finds out? We both go to jail.”

“Which we rightly deserve. But I will not condone to breaking someone’s heart.”

“I know I’m asking for too much but please, do me this favor. I’d have called it off if I had remembered it earlier but it’s too late now. I’m too far from where we’re supposed to meet. Please do this for me, Del.”

Delphine sighed. She couldn’t believe Daphne had put her in this position. What choice did she have? They were in this situation because of her. If she hadn’t handed her Mr. Siaw’s card, all this wouldn’t be happening.

“Hello Del, are you there?”

“Yeah, I’m here. Was thinking.”

“We are meeting at Caesar’s. You know the place, right?”

“Yeah, I do. So, anything I need to know?”

“What do you mean?”

“What do you guys do? Hug, kiss on the cheek, what?” Daphne chuckled.

“Just be yourself, Del. Just go with the flow. Trust me, you’ll be fine.”

“I’m so not comfortable with this, Daph.”

“I know and I’m sorry for that. Hopefully by the end of today, you’ll have another client signed on and I’ll have a happy boyfriend. That’s a win-win.”

“Hope so. Talk to you soon.”

“Sure, Del. Take care.” The call ended. Daphne sighed. Thank God Delphine didn’t play difficult. She had kept long in the restroom, she thought, checking her watch. She walked out of the restroom.

(c) Josephine Amoako 2016 

25 Comments Add yours

  1. Korkor Tee says:

    I can smell trouble from afaaaaar! Kobby is likely to tell the difference. i can’t wait

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hmmm… I’m particularly excited about the next part. Can’t wait too!

      Like

  2. Great blog👍, do visit my blog and if you like it then press the follow button.
    Thank you😊

    Like

  3. Mandy says:

    Ei now I’m worried about these two. Herh 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lochan says:

    What’s next?? I am very excited..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Coming soon… 😉

      Like

  5. Lori Carlson says:

    I don’t always comment, Joseyphina, but I AM reading and enjoying your story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Awww

      Thanks, Lori. I know you to be one of my silent but faithful readers. Nice to read your comment 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lori Carlson says:

        My pleasure, Joseyphina 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. aseye says:

    Delphine is going to fall for Kobby, don’t make these twins hate each other

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I’ll try. Thanks for reading ☺

      Like

  7. mimispassion says:

    This is getting real crazy. What if Kobby ends up falling for Del.
    What if he finds out it’s Del, considering Daphne is all bubbly

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      There would be trouble

      Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading

      Like

      1. Kaycee says:

        Give me tips on writing. Am a poor blogger am afraid. Am just the one liking all my post . Give me tips on how you write so well and captivating

        Like

      2. Kaycee says:

        Please don’t fail to reply

        Like

      3. joseyphina says:

        Just keep writing and read other people’s works. It takes time and effort but if you are consistent, you will see improvement.

        Like

      4. Kaycee says:

        OK thanks dearie and I can’t wait for your best seller swapping places

        Liked by 1 person

      5. joseyphina says:

        Thank you ☺

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Kaycee says:

    Check out my blog and press the follow button.
    Thank you

    Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

