10 Things I’m Thankful For (Part 2)


(c) Pinterest.com

Find the first part of my thankful list here.

11.  Tradition

My dad used to pray for me and my brother when we were young before we went to bed. No matter how sleepy I felt, I’d wait for him to come and lay his hand on me and pray for me before I would doze off. I believe that practice built in me the consciousness to pray from an early age. God bless you daddy for raising me in the fear of the Lord.

12. Gadget

I think I’d go for my laptop. Though I owned my first pc after senior high school and I was terrible at typing back then, I’m glad to be able to type the way I do now. I’m thankful to God for my laptop and other gadgets which make my blogging work more efficient. Come to think of it, where would I be without my laptop?

13. Something Old

My Bible (the Revised Standard Version) which I’ve used since 2009. I love reading it because the pages have gotten used to my fingers that I don’t struggle finding books and chapters. A few flips and I’m there! I feel like it’s been by my side through many circumstances and its living words have encouraged, corrected and guided me as I grew so we have some kind of bond. I’ve had it patched up with cello tape and it’s going strong. I wish to keep it for as long as I can.

 14. Something New

My Life Application Study Bible which I got not too long ago. I love the commentaries that go with the chapters. I know that along with my oldie but goodie RSV Bible, we have a long way to go. I’m also thankful for my iPad (one I never thought of owning). I’m expecting more pleasant surprises to come my way next year God willing.

15.  Experience

I’m really thankful for my one-year abroad experience in Benin during my undergrad. Living in another country surrounded by friends and course mates and forging new relationships was an experience worth having. We had each other’s backs and became one big family. But every family comes with its drama, right? Well, I learned a lot from those as well.

16. Recipe

I guess I’d for jollof rice. Pretty simple: Prepare your stew/gravy, add rice to it to cook. I love to add macaroni or spaghetti as well. Jollof rice with freshly prepared salad with a juicy looking chicken puts a smile on my face. Thank God for jollof.🙌 #JollofForever

17. Store

I’d use this opportunity to acknowledge the storekeeper in my hood called Ma Alima. She has run her provisional store since I can remember. She offers better customer service than most people who claim to have received formal education and work in office spaces. She used to dash me and my sister some goodies when we were shopping for senior high boarding school. And she would give my sister biscuits and Kalyppo fruit drink during Christmas. She is that goodhearted. Her store is my one-stop place for anything domestic.

18. Quote

I used to have a couple of them in the back of my mind but I’ve forgotten them. Now I go with the Bible verse which says, ‘I can do all things with God who strengthens me.’ It is what keeps me giving up when things get tough.

19. Clothing

I’m grateful for every single attire I have in my closet. It is only by His grace that I have enough to go through and decide which one to wear for what occasion. Not everyone has that. I may not have the trendiest of clothes but I’m okay with that. As long as they are decent and not worn out, I’m good.

20. Keepsake

I don’t own anything that holds a strong sentimental value yet. Can’t wait to possess one though.

                                   *

Thanks for reading. I hope you enjoyed the read. Does it remind of certain things you have but forgotten to be grateful for? It’s not too late to mutter a prayer of thanks to the Giver of all good and perfect gifts. Let’s keep been thankful, shall we?

© Josephine Amoako 2016

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Jess Wen says:

    I really like your list of things that make you thankful – they remind me of everything I have to be grateful for as well! Very inspiring 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Jess. I’m glad to be reminded of these things as well 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. silwaxxy2013 says:

    When will you make me that jollof rice…..it felt tasty in the post

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sibo says:

    You are welcome to Kampala to make that tasty jollof ….

    Great post. In my family, the tradition was a prayer at dinner time. We all had to be home….
    It brought us together after a long day… I miss that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh wow… That’s one good tradition! I’ll keep that in mind. Thanks for sharing and thanks for the invite to Kampala! ☺😊

      Like

      1. Sibo says:

        I will be waiting for you……
        We could swap recipes and books…. etc….

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        That would be great!

        Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

