How I see Days as People 


Which day would you have such a reaction to? (c) Google Images



#​Prompt: Describe the days of the week as if they were people (Writers Write on Pinterest) 

Everyone has a perception about the days of the week; some of them elicit anticipation, some, excitement and some, indifference. And yet sometimes, we receive pleasant surprises on the unusual days; the ones we see to be boring. In the same way, our favorite days can turn out to be the darkest and toughest days in our lives. So I guess it’s only fair to consider all days the same. It’s not Monday’s fault that it’s the first working day of the week, right?

So I’ll start with Monday. I know most workers and students hate the idea of Monday because of the thought of returning to work or school which usually accompanies it. But I love Mondays because well, I was born on a Monday so I can’t claim to love myself and hate the blessed day on which I was born, right? I see Monday as a bright, serious and purpose-driven person with a ‘get-your-act-together’ aura around her. She reminds you of what you need to do in order to have a good week. Have you noticed that if you mess up your Monday, your entire week is virtually screwed up?

I see Tuesday as a calm person. Less demanding than Monday but still serious in her right. She’s there to help you sort out any leftover work from Monday’s business. She helps to drain out the tension Monday builds up in you. 

Wednesday is a happy girl. She’s the mid-week for a reason. She officially closes the door to the busyness of that Monday and Tuesday present whiles and unofficially announcing the upcoming weekend. She could be a busybody sometimes but usually a little more easy-going. I like her.

I find Thursday quite uneventful. Though she precedes Friday which everyone loves, Thursday is a bit too quiet. If a week feels too long, it’s felt most on a Thursday. You ask yourself, what day is it and when you find out, you wonder how come the week hadn’t ended already. She’s my least favorite choice for a hangout.

Meet Friday! She’s smiling, gleeful and exciting. She makes working and schooling fun because she reminds you that she’s ending the stress. She keeps music playing in your head and daydreaming about what to do with Saturday. Friday never disappoints.

Oh Saturday! She lets you sleep a little more than usual and wakes you up with her soft sun’s rays. She makes sure you have time for yourself and those you care about. You get to eat what you’ve been craving for, binge watch your favorite shows, hang out where you’ve been fantasizing all week and laugh without thinking about work or school. What would we all do without Saturday?

Hello, Sunday. I love Sunday because she makes herself available for me to fellowship with God and other believers. No matter how bad a week went, I know I can count on Sunday to feel all right after going to church. I get to submit busy Monday, calm Tuesday, happy Wednesday, slow Thursday and exciting Friday to Him and pray that each one of them treats me well the next time I meet them. I thank Him for Saturday for the chance to rest and Sunday for the chance to spend more time with Him.

I must say, I find each day unique and I appreciate it as such. How would you describe the days of the week as if they were people?

© Josephine Amoako 2016

25 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunday is a guy, trust me. He’s that strict dad with the mean face. It never ceases to remind you of the next day–the monday you wish you never meet; “Hellooo, tomorrow is Mondaaay. Don’t forget to iron your dress for work” Then the next minute; “You see, tomorrow you are going to meet that boss you don’t like soo much, get ready.” Then the next hour; “you see that woman you owe some money at work,, yeaah she would be coming for her moneeeeey, get ready.” On and on and on he keeps reminding you of the day you don’t wanna meet

    Liked by 4 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I didn’t mean to refer Sunday as a girl but I wanted to use one pronoun for all of them. And you’re right. Sundays do well as reminders. Thanks for adding your thoughts, Nesta 👍

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I love your work. I come by most often. Today I had something to say. Keep up the good work. We’ll keep coming 😃😃

        Liked by 2 people

      2. joseyphina says:

        Thanks, Nesta. Appreciate that. And happy new month! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. prinxy says:

    Nicely written… Thanks for sharing this Josey… 😇😇

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading and happy new month!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. prinxy says:

        Same Josey… Remain Blessed

        Liked by 1 person

  3. gracelarbi says:

    Monday…..still trying to fall in love, but I keep it on the down low

    Tuesday…ha!…wide awake…alive with all the action

    Wednesday…midweek blues…still in action…anticipation

    Thursday….action winding down ….inhaling for…

    Frrriiiiiiddddaaaayyyyyyyy!!!!!…..Freaky Friday!!! TGIF! Friday excites me cos I’m a Friday born! and the chilling and winding down is on! weekend starts!

    Saturday….functions, yes; lazy day, yes; home affairs, yes; preps and preps for …..

    Sunday…..time with my Papa and other believers; ministry work, rest, functions, hang outs, etc…can be more busy than the working week.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Great week then! I love your week, Grace. Thanks for sharing with us😊

      Like

  4. Michelle C. says:

    Love your personality and how it shown through in your writing; I could see you as each day in a different way. Great analogies used throughout. Made my week. Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh thank you, Michelle! I appreciate you passing by. Have a great week!

      Like

  5. Willow says:

    You got me thinking! I used to hate Sundays because I dreaded going to work. Now that I am no longer in that career, I love Sundays again – so it’s all about perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I see… Yes you’re right. It’s all about perspective. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  6. Love your perspective! and so well written!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading, Devina! 😊

      Like

  7. Mandy says:

    This is interesting and I really like the way you described Tuesday. Also I’m a Tuesday born so yaaaay 💃💃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice… I like Abenas 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mandy says:

        Yaaaay. We’re one of a kind 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Jo Smith says:

    This is an interesting way of thinking! Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Jo! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I was born on Sunday 🙂 Everytime on my birthday (23. March), it used to be freezing cold, with snow and frost, but now with the global warming, it’s never like that anymore. So, when I was a kid, especially on my birthday, I imagined Sunday as a very old grandma 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… Nice! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Lori Carlson says:

    Wonderful post Joseyphina. I am a mixture of a Monday and Thursday kinda gal. I am excited to dive in and get things done, but by the end of the day, I just want to be a bit boring. *laughs*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh I see… Good to know, Lori ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

