Would You Rather #57: Be Famous or Be the Best Friend to Someone Famous? 


(c) Google Images

Come to think of it, what at all is fame? Is it to be celebrated for what you’re worth or just being popular to be newsworthy? Because I believe that to a large extent, everyone wants to be acknowledged for what he/she does but not everyone wants to have their private lives discussed on the airwaves in the name of entertainment.

Being famous has its perks, of course. You become an icon of inspiration to your community and the world at large. People want to know your story and be motivated that their time would come. Opportunities are granted to headline events and engage with people in worthy causes. Endorsement deals from well-known brands become the icing on the cake. Hey, people are inspired enough to name their babies after you. That’s a good feeling.

But the downside of fame can be depressing. Unseen eyes following your every move and reporting to tabloids and entertainment gossip shows what they thought they saw and heard. You have a wardrobe malfunction and the whole world must hear about it. People inquire about your love life like they are entitled to it. People judge for every single thing you do or not do. Too much pressure.

Bestie of fame? Ah well, one could say you’re perching or parasiting on someone’s fortune but every famous person loves to have a loyal friend around, right? It’s like getting the best part and staying away from the worst part. You get to attend the events you otherwise had no means or chance of attending but you get to keep your privacy. It’s like having one foot in each world. You get to be filled in on the scoop about the life of the famous first-hand which gives you the chance to consider if you’re fit for the clique or not. And since the famous are friends with other famous names, that’s a lot of networking opportunities to seize to your benefit.

As a writer, I do want to leave a legacy with my writing; to be recognized and appreciated for what I do. But to be gossip target for worldwide consumption for no relevant reason, no thank you. I’d rather be a friend to one than be the target myself.

What about you? Would you like to be famous? Or would you prefer to only be friends to those who are? Why is that? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

32 Comments Add yours

  1. Either of the way is great,if you got the fame or your friend got the fame because of your support ,but latter have the chances of knowing by lesser people might be the difference

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      You’re right about that. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and have a great week! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome dear and you too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. nancyongom says:

    Waooh I really love this article. Being famous really have a lot of downsides like you have mentioned some.

    But there are also other good parts to being famous like inspiring others and having many people look up to you….
    That being said, I would go with being famous.😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice, Nancy the star! May your wish come true! Have a splendid day ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. nancyongom says:

        Thanks dear have a splendid day too.
        And thanks for sharing.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. fortunate23 says:

    Famous?! No man, I’m good!! I’d rather be best friends with someone famous.😍😊… Being famous is a lot of work, living for the whole World!, that energy!!! 😐 I’m lazy like that. Having every move of yours being followed, nah I need my privacy. Being limited on socializing because of the spotlight, I can’t deal, famous people are the most insecure people! For so many reasons, I wouldn’t choose to be famous. Being a best friend to one is cool though 😁😇

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I love your kind of lazy lol😂 but yeah, you’ve raised very valid points. Being the bestie does sound cool. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Fortunate and have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. fortunate23 says:

        Hahah, you’re welcome and thank you Joseyphina! A great week to you too

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Thanks dear 😘

        Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Okoto ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  4. elynjay1 says:

    I find this topic amusing… I actually love this article…well for me.. I think being famous is some kind of a headache, people judging you at any cost.. You can’t do some things in public, even you sneeze, it just falls on the front page of the daily news.. It’s really a burden. To be the friend of the famous is what I will go in for.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? Posting photos of celebs sneezing and picking their nose on front pages! So not cool. Thanks for sharing your thoughts dear and have a lovely week ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. elynjay1 says:

        😂😂😂……you are welcome hun…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. gracelarbi says:

    Hmmmmm tough one there but let me try. Fame indeed has its pros and cons but I believe I can manage it well by way of maturity both as a Christian and life’s experiences and knowledge that I have.

    But indeed my best bet is to be the loyal friend: loyal to the point of not selling your famous friend’s secret; like Monica Lewinsky’s friend did her…..that loyal !.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree… Loyalty is key. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Grace and have a great week

      Like

  6. niifakye says:

    Either way is okay but friends from me is good. Especially when you knew the person before he became famous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, having friends from way back from way back is solid. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Nii.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. zaram says:

    I sure wanna be famous. Its cool too being a friend to someone famous. But given a choice, I’ll say let me be the famous one!😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice nice! May you be famous, Zaram! Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. zaram says:

        Thanks Josey😃…Amen😇

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Africanista says:

    Eeeerrr! I will choose the former. *cheeky grin*

    http://www.theafricanista.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Africanista the star! Not bad. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  9. jeffreybotah says:

    Personally, I’d prefer to be the best friend of a famous person. I don’t feel like the pros outweigh the cons and I’m not somebody who likes being the topic of conversation if I’m honest. I’d really hate to have the paparazzi writing news articles about me just because I went to go and buy a sandwich or something so minor.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I know, right? Making news out of the simplest of things…. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Jeffrey

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Mandy says:

    Hey, throw the spotlight on me. I’d prefer to be famous because in this life, like it or not, people will talk about you. Even in my state where I’m not famous, people still talk about me. 😂😂😂
    Being the bestie of a famous is not that bad but I’d prefer to the famous one. Our pastors and Bishops still get talked about. It’s all about tuning your mind on the positives and ignoring the banters. Come to think of it, haven’t we all scrutinised and talked about famous people before? 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This was a great read! I love your posts and ideas. Good question, can we be both – famous and a best friend of someone who’s famous? 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, gal! Oh yes, most people are😁

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I share same opinion with Mandy. I’d rather be famous, being in the spotlight would make me conscious of what I do, cos I am expected to be some model of role in the society. Besides I get the opportunity to be a positive influence on a large number of people.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very true, you get the chance to influence people on a larger scale. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Ella

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

