Would You Rather #55: Be stuck for 2 weeks in a Psychiatric Hospital or Prison? 


(c) Google Images.

This is like having to choose between a rock and a hard place. The only scenario I would imagine myself in either place is participating in some kind of outreach. But to be stuck there? That would surely be the longest fourteen days of my life!

First of all, unlike the western movies which portray some level of ‘sanity’ and sanitation in their psych hospitals and prisons, these two places are the worst places one can find himself in Ghana. I wonder if people get rehabilitated and reformed after staying there for a while. In a country where nurses have to go on strike because drugs are not available for the patients who live there in deplorable conditions just like those in the prisons where inmates are packed like sardines, it would be a total horror to be stuck in either place for even a day.

So let me imagine myself in an ‘ideal’ setting of a psych hospital and prison. Which would be less traumatizing?

Seeing myself in the ‘Prison Break’ kind of prison, being told when to sleep and wake up, eating what is given you (must initially be tasteless butt would get used to it after a while) when to wash down and hang around the court, wearing the orange jumpsuit…kind of feels like typical boarding school to me. And since I’m already the indoor-kind of person, I think I can psyche myself to adapt for the 2-week period. Easier said than done, I know. 

(c) Google Images.

But a psych hospital? Even in a western movie, a scene there doesn’t look pretty. Patients walking around, each one talking to and screaming and laughing at himself or herself is potent enough to drive a sane person nuts. And besides, it’s said that we are all abnormal in some sorts, right? What if the staff force me to take some of their psychotic drugs and I find myself hallucinating and acting crazy too?

I’m sure by the time my people discover I’ve been stuck at the psych hospital for two weeks and decide to come for me, I would be diagnosed as having gone mental and thus recommended to be left there. Nope…just thinking of it gives me the chills.

Prison is horrible but at least the people there have the mental faculties screwed on right. So I stand the chance of not getting hurt ‘accidentally’ by a mental person (unless I happen to make enemies at the yard). But come to think of it, hanging around people with criminal tendencies doesn’t sound safe at all!

It’s a tough one, I’d admit. But a psych hospital is a Not Not for me.

What do you think? Which place is the lesser of two evils for you and why? I would love to read your thoughts!

© Josephine Amoako 2016

31 Comments Add yours

  1. Very tough one, I must say. So if I am to visualize a western setting, I can bear a prison with sane people. From what I have seen in movies about mental people, I don’t think I want to be close to any of them lest I get some worse injury or disease…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? The threat of getting injured or infected with a disease is so terrifying! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Deb. Have a lovely day ☺

      Like

  2. wgr56 says:

    I live in a country where millions of people are going to vote for Donald Trump for president, so I already consider myself to be living in a psychiatric hospital. For that reason, I’ll take prison, especially since I’ll probably end up there anyway if Trump wins.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… Fingers crossed. Hope the elections go well. Thanks for joining in with your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Prison…..would rather eat and sleep in jail than be psychoanalyzed

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I like that👏. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Damiola ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Tareau Barron says:

    Psychiatric Hospital, just because it’s way too many of us black men in prison. The black lost and found.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… So you prefer to be in the minority group even at the psych hospital?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Tareau Barron says:

        Yes, I would rather be there than to contribute to one of the largest conglomerates of modern day slavery there is.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. joseyphina says:

        Ah well… Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Tareau. Always a pleasure ☺

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Papberry says:

    This is definitely a tough one!
    But have terrible possible outcomes especially as you said in our nation Ghana, one cannot afford to stay even 30 minutes in these places.
    I see everyone wants a foreign prison! Lol. Let me choose that one too cos I might meet some of you there if we were actually going there…😅😅😅. Who knows, we might continue blogging there and it will take our minds off time a while😅.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… Blogging inmates! 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Papberry says:

        Hehehe, yeah crazy but would be cool. Lol

        Liked by 2 people

      2. joseyphina says:

        Yeah it would be😁

        Liked by 1 person

  6. soulanceblog says:

    Psych hospital. As long as they dont force me to take medications.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… That’s kinda going to happen 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. soulanceblog says:

        well…. send me to jail lol

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Mandy says:

    Lol no. Lemme stay out of this. I don’t even want to imagine it. I’d die of suffocation, the moment I enter into any of these two places.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I know, right? 😧

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Patricia says:

    Wow that’s a tough one! I would have to go with the mental hospital. I would come out of there with some really good stories! Plus in prison everyone has to wear the orange jumpsuit here and I don’t wear orange.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s true! A lot of stories to tell from the mental hospital since most of them would be talking. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Patricia 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  9. With the 50/50 chance of a brief postnatal mental episode, I’ve already prepared myself for the possibility of a psychiatric hospital. Don’t want it, but I can see myself being in that situation far more easily than in prison.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Ouch… Hope not. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hoping not as well. Even if I have an episode, odds are it will be a day or two and easy to manage from home. But have to keep it in mind!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Sure. Have a lovely day 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Immanuel says:

    I shall pass the plate on this one. Please thanks LOL. None of the above – the options available are just scary.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I agree. 😂

      Like

  11. Ufuomaee says:

    I’m with you mainly because a stay at a psyche ward could end of being prolonged or indefinite, due to the likelihood of misdiagnosis, institutional abuse and more. As terrifying as a prison is, at least two weeks will be two weeks. Maybe you can even leave early for good behaviour! I also wouldn’t mind playing mental in a prison, so the other inmates will be scared of me, and I could spend those days in solitude…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… Playing mental, huh? Sounds like a good plan😂. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Ufuomaee

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

