Writing with Music: a Creative Delicacy 


(c) usatcollege.wordpress.com


I
love words. I love the sound of them as they roll off my tongue and I love the vivid imagery they create in my mind’s eye. The discovery of new words in a book or movie excites me because I get to update my vocabulary. Words no matter how complex don’t scare me; unlike numbers which I find quite intimidating. There is indeed beauty in simplicity: when the simple everyday words you and I use are well-crafted to make such profound sense, I am awed.


I
love music. I love the lyrics and rhythm combination which has the power to excite, relax and make me ponder over issues I may not usually pay much attention to. I choose music for its lyrical content over its musical composition. It should inspire or stir some emotion in me. If the lyrics don’t settle well with my spirit, it’s just noise to my ears.

Writing and listening to music is as enjoyable as watching a good movie with well-done subtitles. Just as I can do without the subtitles, I can write without music when it’s unavailable. But background music sets a good mood for me to type out words which turn out to be paragraphs and then end in a finished piece.

Sometimes, the theme of the write-up at the moment determines the songs I listen to. I don’t have a playlist. I just put my music collection on shuffle and leave it to play. I may skip or repeat certain tracks depending on the mood or time of day. Some songs help the creative juices to flow more freely and thus cause me to type faster; others make me stop typing just so as I can sing along and just enjoy the music. Some songs actually give me ideas for future posts. 

Looking for writing ideas? Check your music collection!

Listening to music whiles typing feels like giving my brain a gentle massage as I employ it to cook up sentences for me. During daytime, I prefer the loud and energetic ones. But for the night sessions, I go for the slow, easy-going songs to calm me down to write but also keep me awake. 

I love the solo act of writing but totally relish the two-course meal of listening and writing done simultaneously. It’s one combination I’ll never tire of and doesn’t give me side-effects. Christian and pop songs do it for me.

What about you? Do you like to listen to music whiles writing or do you like to write in the comfort of silence? What songs do you enjoy listening to as you write? Do you have a playlist or do you just let it play? How does it make you feel? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

37 Comments Add yours

  1. Writing is truly an art. I like your reference to the solo act of writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yes, it is an art. Thanks for reading ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mandy says:

    I see. I’ll try it out and see. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      You’ve never done it before? Let me know how it feels👍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mandy says:

        I sure will.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. lyncrain says:

    I love playing music when I write especially classical in d minor, there is something about the haunting notes that inspire me.
    Music invites the mind to play and writing expresses it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yes it does! Glad to know you can relate 👍

      Like

  4. Elorm Yankah says:

    Oh I LOVE music. I have my earphones in almost all the time and even listen while I’m blogging or doing school work. I especially love to listen to music as I do something creative. It gets all my creative juices flowing 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yes it does! 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Nicky M says:

    Couldn’t agree more! I find inspiration in lyrics that make me ponder 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Great, Nicky! 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I prefer to write in silence. But music always stir my imaginations.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh okay, thanks for sharing your thoughts, Atrayee. ☺

      Like

  7. I agree to this 100%…Music most times makes the creativity in me comes alive!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yes it does! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Papberry says:

    I do listen to music a lot and sometimes it gets me in the writing mood.
    I can write without music but the combination is a killer!
    I have playlists with helps me zoom into writing depending on how I’m feeling I just select the list because I know everything there has been carefully selected.
    And I get a lot of inspiration from music as well.
    I do good music which is mostly characterized by the lyrics and sometimes the beats.
    The type of beat I go for also depends on my mood and the time of the day or night.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice! I guess we operate along similar lines. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, dear☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Papberry says:

        Sure we do, thanks for sharing😊

        Liked by 1 person

  9. mimispassion says:

    I do listen to music a few times. Usually instrumentals as I sometimes get distracted when there are lyrics.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Ohk… I agree with the occasional lyric distraction. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Mimi 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I really enjoyed reading this, my daughter loves to sing and to write songs so I’ll certainly be passing your tips on to her x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice! Thanks for reading ☺

      Like

  11. jamseyboy says:

    Woooow…imma try that.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. If I’m working or writing to music – it has to be something that is NOT pop culture. If I can sing along too easily, I’ll get distracted. But a nice Spotify station with some acoustic tunes or something you’d hear in a coffee shop is normally my go-to… a little calming background noise without being too distracting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s sounds like a great choice: calming and not distracting.. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Erin. ☺

      Like

  13. I love doing all my work with light music on.. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Light music would do 👍. Thanks for passing by and sharing your thoughts, Keerthana.

      Like

  14. Tara Holland says:

    I listen to music all day, especially when I am writing. I definitely find inspiration and motivation. Have to be careful though, sometimes I just want to dance!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I know, right? You dance for a while and then resume writing 😉

      Like

  15. KLIKQQ says:

    Nice Share and Nice Post ..
    ❤ ❤ LOVE it ❤ ❤
    Come and visit my blog ..
    https://kenikmatanpria.wordpress.com/category/english-corner/

    Thanks u

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading. I will pass by.

      Like

  16. mihirtrada says:

    Foolish are those who tell us that writing and poetry is not an art !! And music truly is the greatest inspiration for us !! Music is bae 💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Music is indeed Bae! Thanks for sharing your thoughts 😊💕

      Liked by 1 person

  17. I like to write in silence, but I can write with the noises of the household too. When it comes to music, I usually listen to it before I write. It helps me relax my brain enough to close some files and focus more on the files with content I feel the need to explore at the moment in writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice, thanks for sharing your experience, Amber

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

