Sober 10 Years Later: Confessions of a Former Alcoholic 


(c) Google Images

The last thing I remember was being at a college party;

Taking shots and playing truth or dare;

Flirting and grinding against warm bodies;

Shouting to friends and getting shouted at in return;

Drinking myself into a mental shutdown;

Never fully recovered from that day;

Constantly slipping in and out of consciousness;

Drinking to fall asleep;

And drinking to stay awake;

It was my high and low;

Useless with it, pathetic without it;
Nothing mattered anymore;

As long as I had my booze fix, I was good;

It flowed in my bloodstream and it smelled in my sweat;

I knew I was wasting away and I couldn’t help it;

How could I stay away from the bottle which also made me feel alive?
Every drag from the bottle was like putting a revolver to the head;

Waiting for the final moment to pull the trigger;

I guess there are more ways of committing suicide than it is claimed;

I stopped fighting to stay alive;

I gave in to abyss calling forth to me;
But I found myself awake ten years later;

I looked older than my age;

My liver miserably damaged;

My body withering before my very eyes;

My youth had passed me by and I didn’t even realize it;
Where do I begin to pick up the many pieces I’ve broken myself into?

How do I regain all the wasted years?

With my sick liver, I knew my days were numbered;

After messing mine so recklessly, I doubt I deserved someone else’s;

But I knew that with the limited time I had left, I had to make them count;
So I dedicated my life (or what was left of it) to counseling young people;

To safeguard their lives by living with purpose;

To sacrifice temporary pleasures for the sake of long-term health stability;

I knew I had become an agent of change but I didn’t quite feel fulfilled;

The vacuum within me was gnawing at me; 
Then I encountered the One who is able to make all things new and whole;

I felt Him from my TV screen as a preacher prayed;

And I felt a heavy weight abandon my shoulders;

And an indescribable peace flood my soul;

I knew I was changed for real with the tears that flowed;
Then as I got to know Him better by reading an old Bible I had forgotten I even owned;

I got to know that anyone who born again in Christ is a new creation;

I believed it but I also wondered how I could be new with an ailing liver;

I’ve made you anew’, he could hear in his ears;

He accepted it but he had to verify;
And the medical report confirmed it!

Miracles do happen!

Even to undeserving people like me!

I had to tell everyone about this Good News!

If He saved me from my self-inflicting hurt;

Why wouldn’t He do it for you too?
Who else has a testimony to share?

Why don’t you join me tell the world that there’s indeed a Savior;

He’s real and He isn’t as boring as He’s painted to be;

For in Him is life and life in abundance;

I can’t keep quiet! 

Please join me shout that Jesus is Lord!

© Josephine Amoako 2016

30 Comments Add yours

  1. sudershana says:

    Beautifully expressed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you for reading, Sudershana. Have a lovely day!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I love this!!! Jesus is Lord!!! We are made new everyday in Him. I am glad I am a Christian

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yes we are, Deb. We thank God for His saving grace. 🙌 thanks for reading, dear

      Liked by 1 person

  3. gracelarbi says:

    Reblogged this on gracelarbi and commented:
    we thank God for healing and saving!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Amen to that! 🙌

      Liked by 1 person

  4. . . . Praise be to God most high.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Queen JoJo says:

    Beautifully written

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Jojo☺😊

      Liked by 2 people

  6. stunkid says:

    Through his grace and mercies we are made anew

    Liked by 2 people

  7. pedrol says:

    interesting! PedroL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Pedrol. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  8. biblicaljoey says:

    There is indeed a saviour, full of abundant and fulfilling life! Jesus is Lord!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Interesting read. Is this you in the story?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Judy. No, it is not.

      Like

    2. Ok. I could relate on a personal level is why I asked.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joseyphina says:

        I see… I’m glad you came out of it stronger.

        Like

  10. Ella Writes says:

    Amen, I’m a witness to that change! Thank you Josephina.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      We thank God for your life, Ella! Thanks for reading. Have a blessed Sunday. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Bad story, with a happy ending. Jesus still changes lives. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading, Victor.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Immanuel says:

    Praised God! Jesus is truly Lord!

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

