Would You Rather #53: Listen to Music from the 80’s or Music from Today? 


(c) dailymail.co.uk

I love music. I enjoy listening to almost every genre except reggae, jazz (no matter how hard I’ve tried to appreciate it) and hip pop. The lyrics must make sense and the instrumentals should be on point. I don’t really mind which decade it was released, but the more recent it is, the more preferable it would be for me.

I’m not that old-school but I do know that music as we have it today has evolved very much since the 80’s in terms of tempo and lyrical content. The lyrics which were seen as ‘profane’ back then are considered hardly so now; they don’t even raise a brow as compared to what is being played on the airwaves now. 

Most young people of today who love old-school music were exposed to them via their parents. But I didn’t get that kind of early exposure, I guess that’s why I wouldn’t add tracks from that era to my playlist on a normal day. I began taking a keen interest in music between the late 90’s and early 2000’s. But I must say, I’ve found the songs I’ve heard from the 80’s quite interesting. 

Although there is much talk about how degrading secular songs are getting with each year and how even Christian songs sound adulterated these days, I think I’d still go for music of today. The quality of sound is relatively way superior and the songs I listen to paint scenarios that I can relate to. They speak my language. Many more new artistes are being discovered today and their talents are unique and refreshing to listen to. Though, I’ll still listen to Kirk Franklin’s and Fred Hammond’s old songs with same excitement, I continue to be blessed by listening to fresh artistes like Jonathan McReynolds and Travis Greene

So as much I’d like to listen to oldie but goodie music from the 80’s, I think I’d rather choose music from today. It’s my era so it’s only natural that I appreciate it more.

What about you? Which one would you rather listen to and why? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh you just mentioned my now favorite worshipers, Jonathan McReynolds and Travis Greene. I will stick to my era too though some of the 80’s song still are powerful

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree, some 80’s songs are powerful. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Grisele ☺

      Like

  2. Ganzymalgwi says:

    I don’t have to think twice. Definitely old music,

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the genres you don’t like lol ; reggae and rap are it for me. Love them with all my heart

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Lizzy

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am honestly in love with any and all kinds of music except what with you said on Jazz. I try really hard to love and understand it but I cant really get down with Jazz. Other than that I’m an indecisive person so I don’t really know which I would rather chose. I love both. when one doesn’t really fit me, I go to the other and both eras are good on some level.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for joining in with your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Fairen says:

      I kind of agree on the Jazz. It puts me to sleep so I listen sparingly

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Fairen says:

    It depends. I love old r&b and soul and some old gospel. I can do new Christian rap and every now and then I get a new song added to my love list

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Same here. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Fairen ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Mandy says:

    80s music does it for me. I love them and oh I like jazz too. The modern day music is okay but I’d definitely go with 80s music. And as you rightly said, my parents exposed me to them and they’ve become a part of me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Good for you, Mandy! 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  7. tanssityttö says:

    I’m listening almost every kind of music and almost every decades music but not newest hits. I was a child at 80’s so that century music is important to me and I really like that. So i would definitely choose the 80’s.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  8. vhuvu says:

    Both
    I like attending parties when I know there will be oldies music playing. Eish it’s beautiful music. I feel my era is constantly evolving and music is constantly changing with it. So it’s confusing these days as to what’s hip and hop. So I love both.. eg Pat Benetar (sp) oh my…

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

