My Favorite 5 Ghanaian Delicacies – My definition of Local


#DailyPost

As an African and a Ghanaian in particular, good and tasty food is something I was raised to appreciate. Some ceremonies call for certain meals and how well you enjoy the meal goes a long way in assessing how the ceremony fared at the end. And sometimes the craving for a particular delicacy becomes so great that one can’t seem to be fully himself/herself until the desire has been satiated.

In response to Daily Post’s prompt themed Local,  I thought of sharing some of my local delicacies with you-3 meals, a snack and a drink. I hope I’m able to whet your appetite so you share yours as well.

So here it goes:

1.  Jollof Rice

(c) grandcereals.com

Of course, it is a national delicacy. I’m yet to meet someone who doesn’t like the meal. Unlike fufu where some people are known not to be able to enjoy it, the love for jollof rice seems to be cut across tribal lines. It is one of the meals which unite us as a people. And it is sort of ceremonial too. You can’t have a wedding reception or some other big occasion and not have jollof rice on the menu. I mean, it can’t happen!

2.  Waakye

(c) wasuptek.com

For a tasty and tummy-filling meal to take you through the day, waakye would definitely be on the list of recommended dishes. No matter how long you’d have waited in the queue to get yours, the first taste would make you forget all the pain in your leg muscles. The bean component of the waakye garnished with all the vegetables and graced with the protein of choice (chicken, fish, egg, meat-nothing stops you from having one of each) makes the food a perfect example of a balanced diet. Top it up with a glass of water and you’re good to go!

3.  Fried plantain and Beans

(c) ghanagrio.com

Also affectionately called Red Red, this meal is one of the best friends of every university student in Ghana. Because no matter how tight your finances are, you can get yourself a serving which would satisfy you just right. With slices of pear, egg or fried sausages to go with it, you know you’re likely to feel a little sleepy during lectures. But regardless of that, the love for it is deep!

4.  Roasted plantain with groundnuts

(c) pattismenu.com

Alias Kofi Brokeman, it is one of my favorite snacks of all time. I love it so much that I have been a loyal customer to a seller for more than ten years now. I still don’t get why it is called Kofi Brokeman as if to suggest that only broke people buy it. But everyone knows it is not for broke people. Thanks to inflation, it has also earned a decent price for itself.

5.  Sobolo/Bisap drink

(c) 233cuisines.wordpress.com

It is one of the refreshing drinks that I can consume with no guilty feelings. Unlike the Coca cola family where someone can ruin the moment for you by passing the remark about the sugar content, sobolo doesn’t face such criticism. With a little ginger and pineapple flavor to taste, a glass of chilled sobolo would be one of my must-have drinks to fight off the scorching sun.

Someone hungry yet? What are your favorite local dishes? Why not share with us? I’d love to find out about other delicacies around the world. Kindly tag me so I don’t miss it. I hope you’ve enjoyed my post. Looking forward to reading yours.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

35 Comments Add yours

  1. Zortura says:

    Lol those delicacies are also eaten in and by Nigerians but just with different names so it’s not indigenous to your people. However, we are happy to share it with you except the second dish though. You can have that one all to yourselves. 😂😂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah I know we share some of the dishes with you. 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  2. wgr56 says:

    Those look delicious!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks and they are! 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Truly Urquhart says:

    How absolutely mouth-watering everything looks…and, your description and warm/charming delivery just made everything even more desirable…at this early hour (I think I have the flu, and awoke extra early because I slept most of yesterday away) I can’t think of any dishes that are unique to Canada…but, we definitely have some…when my appetite returns, I’m sure they will spring to mind…anyway…thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you. Most of the dishes are common to other African countries as well. I wish a speedy recovery with the flu. And I can’t wait to read about your fav Canadian dishes. Have a great day!☺

      Like

  4. gracelarbi says:

    Reblogged this on gracelarbi and commented:
    nice one there…got me truly salivating

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Clueless says:

    I am definitely coming to Ghana for that jollof.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Please do😊👍

      Like

  6. Benjamin says:

    If it hadn’t been for the lunch I just had, I’m sure my mouth would be watering by now… Oh wait! I think I spoke too soon! Lovely piece, Jo. Actually brings to mind the jollof rice and humongous tilapia I had at this restaurant about a week ago. One word: delicious! Keep ’em coming, Jo.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Jollof rice with tilapia? Haven’t heard of that combination before. I see! Thanks for reading, Benjamin ☺😊

      Like

      1. Zortura says:

        Yes o. Grilled tilapia😊😊 with fried plantain, it’s the best.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. joseyphina says:

        I see… Sounds delicious 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  7. soulanceblog says:

    This food looks so good! I wish I could eat it all!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks. I know, me too! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. joymanda says:

    Waakye and Kofi Brokeman all the way 🙌🙌

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? 👍🙌

      Liked by 1 person

  9. love jollof rice, but still prefer Nigerian jollof. 😉 #endlesswaroverjollofrice

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… The war will never end. #alljollofbejollof 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Paige Flamm says:

    I’ve always wanted to travel Africa to experience the diverse cuisine there!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      If you can, you really should! Thanks for reading, Paige. ☺

      Like

  11. thatssojacob says:

    Great post Joseyphina! Today, in honor of my 29th birthday, I’m picking 29 random blog friends to send some extra special thoughts of love. Come visit my blog and say happy birthday if you wish, and keep spreading the love!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you and happy birthday to you! Enjoy your weekend ☺

      Like

  12. biblicaljoey says:

    This is a very delicious post. Here’s my checklist:
    1. Eat Red Red with fried chicken and vegetables
    2. Take sobolo, cocktail style

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Mmm… Delicious menu😅

      Like

  13. Shereen says:

    I like ampesie with nyadua (made with red oil and koobi. Topped with boiled egg.

    I’m obsessed with kebab too and akonfem. Not a meal but eh.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh kebab dey be!🙌 I like ampesie too. 👍

      Like

  14. Colleen says:

    Oh man this made me hungry. LOL

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Cobbywit says:

    😋😋I’m hungry now
    Lol pls I have a blog too, it’s new u could also follow mine
    Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I’ll be waiting for one of my favorites tuo zaafi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      It’s your favorite? Haven’t tasted it before

      Like

      1. Aw you should
        It’s very tasty

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

