Would You Rather #52: Watch the Big Game at home or live at the Stadium? 


(c) thelittleguys.com

Sports was never an interest to me until a few years ago. And even with that, I’m only drawn to particular teams in the major international leagues. Call me unpatriotic but I don’t care much for local teams. Even during the World Cup, I find myself struggling to support my home country. Maybe it’s because of the drama that comes with it every time and the surety that they can only reach a certain stage. 

So unless it’s Real Madrid, maybe Barcelona, Manchester United or Bayern Munich, I wouldn’t spare another minute to find out how they are faring. Though I’m always fascinated by the quality of play, coupled with the beauty of the pitch and the energy of the fans at the stadium, I’ve never really pictured myself watching a football (soccer) game live at the stadium. 

Probably it’s because of the thousands of people at one place who would roar in excitement when there’s a goal which makes me a bit uncomfortable. And history has a few sad stories of a commotion occurring at such venues where people are left injured and even dead. 

So I’d rather watch a football match in my living room where I can scream my lungs out, stomp my feet and do my own little celebratory dance when my favorite team scores a goal. 

But apart from football, I love watching basketball as well. But I don’t exactly have favorite teams to cheer. I just love the game and I don’t care who is winning as long as I’m enjoying the dunking. I love the sound their boots make as the players dribble on the smooth floor and when the players display their creative styles in dunking. In both games, I love the spirit of teamwork which makes winning such a group celebration and not just a personal feat.  

As the basketball court is way smaller compared to the football pitch and likewise the crowd, I’d like to watch a basketball game live as the action takes place. With a football game, it is possible to watch 90+ minutes of it and still have no goal to celebrate. But with basketball, one can be assured of seeing counting numbers on the scoreboard.

So for me, I’d say it depends. If it is football, I’d rather watch at home. If it’s basketball, I’d love to watch live.

What about you? What games do you enjoy watching and where would you rather watch it? I love reading your thoughts as always.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

31 Comments Add yours

  1. eddaz says:

    I don’t really enjoy watching football matches, it’s not really my thing; call me old school😀😀. I love to watch gymnastics and acrobats in my own house alone. It’s thrilling for me😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice, acrobatics is enjoyable too! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Eddaz 👍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. eddaz says:

        You are welcome💝

        Liked by 1 person

  2. McApple says:

    Hahaha. Nice post!
    But you should try the stadium sometime…I bet you will love it.
    I’ve got a testimony on that. Lol
    My wife (then fiancee) used to feel same as you about football until someway somehow I managed to get her to the Stadium to watch an AFCON qualifiers and she loved the entire atmosphere and her branded hat in the national colours.
    Funny enough it rained during the game and there was no where to hide. I thought she would curse me but she rather enjoyed it…it was one good side of her I was pleased to see.
    I bet she won’t say no to another invite. Haha!
    There you have it…go try it Joseyphina. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh really? Maybe one day, I will. Thanks for raising my interest. 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  3. paminat0r says:

    Sports don’t interest me. If I have to watch a game, I will always opt for watching at home so I can do other things at the same time to avoid getting bored. https://gracelead.co

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh okay, I do same too. I can’t sit through an entire game. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  4. shaunz says:

    Both haha..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s nice👍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. shaunz says:

        Both can be fun, i have stayed home and watched baseball or any other game and i’ve also seen them live and to be honest, different atmospheres but they were enjoyable just the same

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Yeah, I figure it would be different but enjoyable too. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Shaunz

        Liked by 1 person

      3. shaunz says:

        sure thing luv xx

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Unless it’s going to be a really big, crowded game, I’d rather watch in person. I’m not super interested in sports, but being there helps me stay engaged. Not to mention the people watching is fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Great! Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  6. abi's take says:

    At home! Free snacks! And freedom to fall asleep if the game is a bit slow LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I know, right? Or watch a movie alongside ad you flip the channel after a while 👍😀

      Like

  7. Julien Sorel says:

    I am a calm person, I like watching games at home, unless I’m with friends, people where I live are savages, and it’s not comfortable to watch in stadiums.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol….thanks for joining in the conversation, Julien.😃

      Like

  8. I enjoy watching the most gifted left legged footballer the world has ever seen play. And I like roaring when the lion scores lol… Plus of course the dance moves and jump around… Though I enjoy the watching with friends and family – always debate whole game is ongoing, I wish to see Barcelona play at the Camp Nou. I yearn for that feeling of 95,000 fans chanting Messii Messii Messii…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      You do make watching the game live at the stadium sound so exciting, Yaw😃! Thanks for sharing your thoughts 👍

      Like

  9. ferddhie says:

    Never watched football in a Stadium but would sure like to. Visiting Old Trafford to watch Manchester United play is my dream. Having said that, I do love to watch a football match in the comfort of my home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice. I hope your dream to visit Old Trafford comes true, Ferddhie ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  10. vhuvu says:

    Home…. After the number of people who have died at stadiums by stampedes yoooo. I’m better off at home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I kinda agree 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. vhuvu says:

        hahaha death is a deciding factor

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Great piece! I like your perspective on this – as I had never considered it from your angle.

    I wrote a recent piece about sports and the difference between being at the stadium and at home, as well. Would love to hear your thoughts on it! : https://zoneofnonbeing.wordpress.com/2016/10/02/we-need-to-abolish-sports-commentary/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Darryl. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Dylan Cutler says:

    I think I would definitely rather watch live at the stadium! But with the cost of most professional games it just isn’t feasible so I often watch at the gym and get two things off my list at the same time 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      That sounds like fun and economical as well! You get to watch with other guys and have the mini-stadium feeling and save some bucks. Good one there, Dylan 👍

      Like

  13. meyasroar says:

    I have been a staunch footie fan for about 20 years and hated it before then. Long story centred around the then love of my life. Short story, got rid of him, kept football. Now, it is such a passion of mine, to the extent that I make a point of visiting Old Trafford at least once a season. There is nothing like it. It is exhilarating, passionate, mind blowing. I watch as many games as I can on TV, but would highly recommend visiting a stadium for the experience and camaraderie of watching your team with 50,000 other people.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice, it must have a different feeling to it, for sure. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us Meyasroar☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

