Would You Rather #50: Own a House or Rent a Residence? 


(c) lennar.com

After a day’s toil and sweat, a safe and comfy place to lay one’s head is a basic human necessity. No matter how simple or luxuriant, I choose to believe that everyone wishes to possess a residence he can call his own. There is something fulfilling about possessing something you can call yours, you know?

 After having to go to work or school where you have to behave according to the rules there, you get to return to the place where you feel totally at home. You can choose to eat your food on your bed, on the sofa, the dining table or even the floor. No judgmental eyes watching you.

Obviously, it’s no kid’s play when you decide to own your residence. It is one of the most valuable properties to possess and thus requires massive investment. For someone seeking to settle down at a particular location with no intention of moving around, owning a residence would be the best choice. If building from scratch, you get to put up the design of your choice and keep an eye on the building process. If buying one, you look out for the key facilities and make your choice. You would want to own a place that suits your personality and lifestyle, right?

Why would one choose to rent instead? Mostly because that’s what his budget would suffice for at the moment whiles figuring out what he would like for his own. If one’s job requires moving around a lot, then a temporary residence might be advisable. Getting to live in a place with all the facilities available with no sweat at your end with the choice to hand over the keys and move on whenever one wants a change in scenery sounds like the convenient lifestyle of a bachelor/spinster.

Owning your residence means no dreaded anticipated knocks from your landlord during times when funds are short. This must be one of the best advantages ever. At least if you’ve no money for food and you live in your own house, you can still sleep in peace without having to worry about an eviction threat in addition to your hunger pangs. 

Per the arrangements of the lease, one may not have to worry about certain facilities breaking down as they would be taken care of by the landlord. But owning your house gives you the freedom to renovate at will, leave home and return at any hour. But if you happen to be living with a disgruntled and bored landlord, he’d restrict your movements with ridiculous rules about times he locks his main gate.

I’d choose owning my house any day. Because I get to call it mine and live in it without any thought of accounting to another. 

What about you? Would you rather rent a residence? I hope you don’t mind sharing why. Would love to read your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

23 Comments Add yours

  1. Sibo says:

    I would rather own a house….The rewards outweigh the challenge of getting there…
    Any day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Sibo. Have a great week!

      Like

  2. simpledimple says:

    You said it all for me in those words – “I’d choose owning my house any day. Because I get to call it mine and live in it without any thought of accounting to another.” Nothing beats having a place you call ‘My own HOME’. It gives a feeling of satisfaction and accomplishment. It’s one of the reasons we hustle everyday… Thank you Dear for sharing a great piece! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, one of the reasons for our hustle. May God bless our hustle! 🙌 Thanks for sharing your thoughts, dear

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Papberry says:

    I certainly would rather own a house I can call mine even if I move around a lot of times it will always feel great to come back my home to have some cool relaxation and a piece of mind without getting early morning knocks from any landlord😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. shaunz says:

    Once i can afford to purchase mine, i’m all for being a home owner.;)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Definitely. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Shaunz 👍

      Like

      1. shaunz says:

        For sure hun..:)

        Liked by 1 person

  5. joymanda says:

    Everyone would want to own his own house. I agree with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Shereen says:

    i would want to own a house. Besides it being a good investment, having a place of my own really appeals to me. being able to decorate it without restrictions makes me ahhhhh!! I love the decor in the photo!! AHHHH!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? Just makes you feel like owning it!

      Like

  7. evanyambu says:

    own a house and design it according to my tastes. that is cheaper in the long run than renting my entire life

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, way cheaper. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Evan ☺

      Like

  8. zaram says:

    Own a house !!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Own a house. That way I’m free to trash the place (only half kidding, lol) 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… It’s yours, right? You’re free to trash it to your heart’s content 😂😂 thanks for sharing your thoughts. Always a pleasure

      Liked by 1 person

  10. literarylydi says:

    I would rather rent at the moment! The place I can buy on my salary would not be in a good area or I would only be able to afford a small flat in the city. I don’t fancy either, so I’m renting! Yes it’s money down the drain but I think it’s worth it to live in a half-decent area in a nice house. Also I like the company of a house-share and it makes bills cheaper.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I understand your point of view. Thanks for sharing your thoughts 😊👍🏽

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

