Frustrations of a Writer


writers-block-1
(c) Google Images
 

Emptyheaded;

So quiet in there;

Wondering where all the loud thoughts disappeared to;

Can’t seem to find a single stray thought to hold on to;

As if they are hiding away from me;

Afraid of what I’d do to them;

The silence is deafening;

Even with music in my ears;

It feels like it’s playing into a vacuum;

Hitting the walls of the brain;

And bouncing right back to me;

 

But there are a lot to think about!

Why, did my mind go on break without telling me?

How is that even possible?

Hello, are you there?

Don’t bail on me right now;

I have time now to write;

But you are not giving me anything;

The harder I search;

The farther the ideas flee away;

I know you’re there;

I just can’t touch you right now; 

Maybe I should just leave you alone;

And wait till you are ready to come out;

But did you hear me say,

I have time right now? Smh;

 Don’t come plaguing me;

When I’m busy with chores;

Or on an errand;

Away from the keyboard;

But we both know;

That’s exactly what you’d do.

 

I’ve tried all the tricks but to no avail;

I guess you know me very well, huh? Read a little, laid down for sometime;

Closed my eyes for a while;

Listened to all tunes I know you like;

But still no access;

 

Fine;

I’ll leave you alone…for now;

You’re tired; 

I know; I am too;

But I hope by the time you resume;

You’ll have juicy ideas for me;

Or else…

I’ll starve you with no reads;

Like you’re starving me with no ideas;

You don’t like the sound of that, huh?

Tell me about it.

 

I guess I’ve to do with;

The news, K-drama;

And an episode or two;

Of the TV series in queue tonight;

And call it a wrap.

 

Can’t wait to hear from you tomorrow;

If God wills it;

Bye!

 

© Josephine Amoako 2016

 

37 Comments Add yours

  1. ferddhie says:

    I love this. So apt. We’re just vessels aren’t we? These words. They do what they want, don’t they?

    Liked by 4 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yes, they do, Ferddhie 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. elynjay1 says:

    Very true…. You feel like you are lost in the universe…. So empty ……

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? What we have to deal with 😩

      Liked by 1 person

  3. joymanda says:

    Relatable

    Liked by 2 people

  4. eddaz says:

    Very lovely. I can just completely relate with this.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Eddaz. I’m sure we all do.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Allie Taylor says:

    Beautiful (poem?)! What’s it titled?

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Frustrations of a Writer

      Like

      1. Allie Taylor says:

        Oh, okay! That’s a beautiful btw.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. joseyphina says:

        Thanks, Allie😊

        Like

      3. Allie Taylor says:

        😀

        Liked by 2 people

      4. joseyphina says:

        Did you post my answers to your interview questions? Never saw it

        Like

  6. Nana Yaa Ntiwaa Asare says:

    Byeeeee 🙌🙌🙋🙋🙌🙋

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Beckhar says:

    Ha! That has been me since…… (feels like forever)

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… It is well, Beckhar ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Très bien écrit bravo !

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Merci de lire, Gys ! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Shereen says:

    Ahhh I can relate

    Liked by 3 people

  10. ORAY says:

    I can completely relate. Sometimes it feels like the words are running away

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? So frustrating!

      Like

  11. dwdavis1210 says:

    It is disconcerting when the voices in your head stop talking to you and you sit before the keyboard with nothing to write and a physical need to do so.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very…. I guess every writer can relate.

      Like

  12. Papberry says:

    I can totally relate!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. You hit it bulls eye Josephine

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I did, huh? Thanks for reading 😊

      Like

  14. Debbrah says:

    Practically almost all this applies to me sometimes. it’s so frustrating that sometimes I begin to ask myself if I even know what am doing.
    Nice post.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      It happens to all of us sometimes but deep down, we know who we are, right? ☺

      Like

  15. I like the lines:
    “Don’t come plaguing me;
    When I’m busy with chores;
    Or on an errand;
    Away from the keyboard;”

    They remind me of a poem by Larry Jaffe, in this moment, eludes me, but it is one that we all instantly memorized:

    “I lost another #$%^%^&^& poem in the shower!!!!”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… What we writers have to deal with! 😂

      Like

  16. I’ve tried several times to feed the brain with music when am on the keyboard but what did I get, a huge disappointment then when am busy attending to a client it just pops ideas up. We writers go tru more frustration than politicians do….nice one

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Daniel 😁

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

