Open Letter #10: To My Parents 


(c) Google Images.

Hello dear mum and dad,I want to let you know first of all, how blessed I feel to be born to you both. Though you are far from perfect, I can’t imagine myself been raised by any other couple. I turned out the way I did because of your influence and for that, I’m forever grateful.

For all the sleepless nights I caused you with my sickness scare during my childhood, I’m sorry. I hope I wasn’t much trouble back then. I remember when you used to drive me and my brother to school every morning and we used to arrive so late that we were always in fear of being caned at the school gate. I know the traffic was terrible at the time but I used to wonder why you wouldn’t let us leave the house earlier. But looking back, I know you did your best and I’m glad you drove us to school each morning. 

This is because I’ve witnessed to my amazement how some parents just hand over their kids to trotro mates (bus conductors) to drop them off at their school junctions and how they are sometimes manhandled by these conductors. They only help these vulnerable kids cross the roads with reluctance when the women in the bus scold them to do so. I always wonder what danger they risk facing each day as they are handed off like that. I might have arrived home late but at least I was safe and that mattered most. Thanks for always keeping my safety in mind.

I remember when you’d buy me novels after during school holidays to keep me company. I wouldn’t have found my love for reading and writing if you hadn’t done that. You never let me join the others for school excursions or even birthday parties. You said it wasn’t safe for me to be out by myself. Now that I’ve gotten used to staying home, you complain asking me why I don’t like to step out for fresh air. I guess you’re stuck with me for now.

I remember all the sacrifices you had to make to ensure that my siblings were always well-fed, clothed, healthy and never thrown out of school because of school fee debts. I may have owned my personal computer and cellphone at an age later than many others but I appreciate the timing of it all. I was grown and matured enough to know how to take care of and efficiently use such devices. 

Your never-ending prayers and support are what have sustained me this far and I know as long as God keeps us alive, you’ll always have my best interests at heart.

It is my aim to make you both proud with who I am and become and that influences the decisions I make. I always thank God for keeping you both together to raise me and my siblings. May God reward you for everything. May your latter days be more glorious, prosperous, peaceful, joyous, and fulfilling than your former days in Jesus name. Know that I love you very much.
From your daughter

Jo.
*****

Is there something you want to say to your parents or guardian? I think it is more reasonable to appreciate them now that they are with us than when they are gone. Even if they are gone, I’m sure there are some fond memories you would want to pen down. Looking forward to reading yours.

Thanks for reading.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Makaitah says:

    Awww this is so sweets…bless you! Its good to appreciate those who took care of us! Or parents sacrificed a lot for us to be here! Well done!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Makaitah! ☺

      Like

  2. moniquefille says:

    Two things in common
    # books and staying at home. Books always wants anybody who loves it to stay at home and enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I know, right? ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

