Open Letter #8: To My Body


(c) afrojuju.net

Hi my earthen vessel,

You’re feeling great today, right? I agree. Apart from the usual cold threatening to come a-visiting, all’s well. From my conception in my mother’s womb till now, you’ve contained me and I want say thank you for that. For the many times that I’ve hurt or scarred you out of haste to get somewhere, I apologize. 

I thank God for designing you just for me; the right complexion, height and weight to carry me around. Although I admit that growing up, I sometimes wished I had longer fingers like my siblings and a less dry skin, I’ve come to accept how I was formed up and I feel more comfortable in you now. I wouldn’t trade my long neck and chin for anything.

For all the things one is susceptible to feeling insecure about, I’m glad you’re not one of them. During my lifetime, I’ve been both thin and chubby but never the extreme of either to feel bad about. You’ve been flexible enough to contain me within the range without falling apart. Except the inevitable occasional scalding in the kitchen and iron burns, I think I’ve done well in taking good care of you. Do you agree? I hope you do.

As you carry my soul and spirit in you wherever I go, you’re what people see when they look at me. You are my physical rep and that is why it’s necessary for me to ensure that you’re representing me in the best way possible. You’re God’s temple and it is my duty to keep you clean and pure. You’re merely a canvas; it’s what I inscribe on you that becomes me. That’s why I dress and carry myself about the way I do. I respect you too much to cheapen your value by exposing you to the leering looks of others and tempt them to sin.

You become what I treat you to be so I promise to take better care of you, my dear vessel as you have done me. I know sometimes stress causes you to be weak and you force me to slow down and rest so you can be restored to your optimal capacity. Thank you for the needed promptings but I admit that sometimes, the timing could be terrible.

I love you and I thank God for you every day for your resilient nature. Till the day you’re laid to rest, I pray you will be in good shape to travel the world with me.

Your host,

Jo.
*****

Imagine if your body could talk and hear, what would you like to tell it? Why not pen it down in a letter? I’d love to read it. 

Have an amazing day and take care of your body, ayt? You need it to function well so you can do all you’ve got planned. Stay blessed. ✌
© Josephine Amoako 2016

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow!! That’s really awesome😊👍

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you, Vivek ☺

      Like

  2. McApple says:

    Great!
    Everybody should adore their body…God’s master design.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yes, we all should. Thanks for reading and enjoy the rest of the day ☺

      Like

  3. somawrites says:

    The last paragraph… beautiful! and a big Amen! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading, Amaka 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. somawrites says:

        My pleasure, Josey 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. ferddhie says:

    This is one I would surely consider writing. Nice post, Joseyphina.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yayy! Looking forward to reading it, Ferddhie 👍

      Like

  5. vhuvu says:

    👏👏👏👏 I love this.

    I would tell my body to behave and shape up. Lol

    Liked by 2 people

  6. i would tell my body to be affirmative in the action of love in every aspect;this is a lovely piece…what…..

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Affirmative in the action of love… That’s deep. Thanks for reading, dear

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I love your open letters, and this i think every one should write one especially us ladies in this era

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Awww….thank you and yeah, I think so too😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. D'Dream says:

    This is really awesome! I hope I can create time to write about this

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks. I hope you do☺

      Like

  9. joymanda says:

    👍👍👍 I’ve lost track of the letters. I’ll do well to catch up before the month ends.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

