Would You Rather #47: Go Back In Time To Meet Your Ancestors or Flash Forward To Meet Your Great-great Grandchildren? 


(c) Google Images.

Time travel! Ever fantasized it? Thanks to TV series Supernatural and Flash Forward, I’ve got the chance to picture myself in both directions. Sounds excitingly adventurous and tempting enough to think that if given the opportunity, maybe you could change history or influence the future. But it only lasts as long as you keep yourself in fantasy world and disappears the instant you snap back into reality.

Do indulge me for a moment, will you? If you were to find out that a condition persists in your family because of something done in the past and you had the chance to correct that, would you take it? History can’t be changed but what if it can? Would you take the risk and worry about the consequences later? Or would you rather resign yourself to your fate in reality?

On the flip side, would you like to find out how a critical decision you made in your lifetime affects your posterity? Would that help in deciding what choices to make now? Or would you rather bother yourself with the now and leave the future to deal with itself?

The idea of going back in time to meet my ancestors doesn’t intrigue me that much because history books give us a general idea of how life was back then. Unless I need the first-hand experience to write a paper or a story, I have no other motivating factor to pursue such a trip. And besides, I’ve no lingering questions about why a particular thing is the way it is with me or my family so what exactly would I be talking about with my ancestors?

But flashing forward to meet my future generation sounds interesting to me. I would like to know how life is treating them, if they carry any of my traits, if I left a legacy that they feel proud to associate with. Would I recognize them as part of my family line by their way of life? Would I be proud of the life I led judging from what they have become? Lots of questions which need answers.

So I’d choose flashing forward to meet my great-great grandchildren over going back in time to meet my ancestors. What would you choose and why? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

39 Comments Add yours

  1. ferddhie says:

    Neither. I’m too stressed trying to survive the here and now. I know it’s an either/or situation here but I just can’t……….

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I understand. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Ferddhie and have a great week! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ferddhie says:

        You too Joseyphina………

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow!! That’s so unusual a post!! Creativity sustained😊👍

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Vivek 😊

      Like

  3. I would go back to fill in the gaps of what I don’t know now, for instance who my ancestors are and how their journey led to me. Like the show ‘Who Do You Think You Are’. I wouldn’t go forward because I feel it would spoil the present for me. To already know would feel pointless to continue in the present. I would probably rebel and make different choices just for the sake of keeping the future unknown. I appreciate the mystery of how my current navigation turns out.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice perspective to consider! And besides, the mystery of now is what makes life interesting, right? Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pauletry says:

    Perhaps the past..

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for joining in with your thoughts, Paul. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Pauletry says:

        Always glad to share my thoughts

        Liked by 1 person

  5. AtimMercy says:

    The past is done and gone. Even if I have to go back, it is still past. Let’s move ahead and go meet my great great great grand children.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, leave the past behind and focus on what lies ahead! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Mercy. Have a lovely day

      Liked by 1 person

  6. zaram says:

    I’ll rather go to the future. Those kids -I’ll love to see😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Divine K. Kpe says:

    Beautiful question to think about.

    I’ll go forward but take a moment to reflect how the past was. It will influence how I take steps into the future.

    Great work Josephine.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for passing by and sharing your thoughts, Divine. Have a great week ☺

      Like

  8. alayinah says:

    I am interested in the aspect of time travel like everyday of my life. I really wish, at some point, it was actually real.
    However, for your question I have got an answer that I always carry in the bag. Thank you for asking.
    If I had to time travel, and had a choice of either-or, I would definitely go to the past. It may be because I just love to be surprised in life. I love the mystery. It was always designed as so. You only know what had happened and you can’t know what will happen. But getting to see who my ancestors were, how they lived, trying to figure out how their ways turned out to be where and who we are today will be quite interesting.
    Going to the future will somehow, I get the feeling, temper with the fabric of time.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I like that point of view. Thanks for sharing that, Alayinah and have a splendid day ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  9. leahgray says:

    When I read the title of this I was already decided that I would go back to meet my ancestors but after reading this you made really good points about going forward; I would love to know if I had left any impression on my great-great grandchildren. I think though I would still choose to go back in time; I have Maori ancestors which I know nothing about and I would love to learn more about it so that’s what I would ultimately have to pick. I really enjoyed reading this, it made me think about the past and how I want to be seen in the future.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading, Leah but going back to find out about your ancestors that you know nothing about sounds great too! Have a splendid day

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I would prefer to go back in time, because of the fact that I have a better idea of what I will find there. What’s in the past is in the past. However, what if I go to the future, what will I find, maybe terrible things. I don’t want to know what’s coming for my future generation, it would worry me too much.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hmmm… Good point. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Go forwards. The past is already over, so whatever. But I kinda think letting my future great- grandchildren know their great grandmother back when she was young would be kinda cool. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, I know, right? The legendary great grandmother 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  12. joymanda says:

    The past is in the past, I’d like to visit the future

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Loved the picture you chose for this. I had drawn an eye with train tracks leading to a cross and this picture reminded me of it.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. free2bme27 says:

    Not as easy to decide as I thought it would be, but I think I’ll go with my first thought…I’d go back in time. I’d like to know about my Native American ancestors since I don’t know much about that part of our family. Of course I’d like to go into the future and meet my great-great grandkids…if they would anything like me they’d want to know about their family history and I could give them a first hand account! Good post. It made me think!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad it did! Thanks for passing by and sharing your thoughts. Very much appreciated ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  15. fauxcroft says:

    tough one. I wonder if you could straddle both lol have the best of both worlds. Going back would be so awesome to once again meet those lost. But forward too would be amazing seeing your children’s children. To hard to call I am afraid 🙂 Great blog though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, having the best of both worlds would be perfect. Thanks for reading ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  16. M'afua Awo Twumwaah says:

    Not hard for me, I’d flash forward. I’d love to meet my great-great grandchildren, grin at them, find out what they love about the stories they hear about me, what they wish I’d do differently, you know. Flash forwarding will let me make better choices now and that’s important. Nice piece too.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for joining in the conversation with your thoughts, M’afua ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Ufuomaee says:

    I’d love to see the future generation and the future world… However, going back to the day of Jesus would be my favourite! I’d love to meet Him in the flesh. But when I imagined it, I thought that he’d take one look at me and see that I am a cheater, who cheated time, and probably confine me to live in that time!!! You know you can’t deceive God… lol!

    Nice post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… No, you can’t. He’ll order you back to today😂. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and have a blessed day, Ufuomaee ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Backward for sure. I would love to see my relatives right down the line, as far back as I could possibly go. I have often thought about this. What would they think of me, and I of them. I think if that were possible it would only be as an observer, and no actual contact.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s nice…. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Appreciate the question.

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

